We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway for the family”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I used my IHG point to book 2 rooms for one night and the next day my kids refused to leave so booked another room and was upgraded to the Emirates suite.
The hotel is not new but the rooms are clean and well furnished. Service is outstanding and feel the hospitality everywhere.
Nice beach and swimming pool, although its a bit of a walk to the beach. The swimming pool and beach get very crowded on the weekends, you might struggle to get a spot to sit.
Breakfast was very nice with a wide variety of food for every taste.
I was also surprised by the prices for the rooms, I thought it was very good value for an Intercon.

Room Tip: If you subscribe to their Ambassador club they offer you an upgrade to the Emirates suite on your fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazem E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I would also like to thank you for your loyalty and for being an IHG Rewards member.

I am thrilled to learn that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to provide all our guests with a memorable and comfortable experience. As you have mentioned our new beach facilities are very much suitable for all members of the family. The pools and beach provide ample space for guest to enjoy a good swim or just to relax by the water.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Khaled Zaki
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,356
    569
    169
    42
    29
See reviews for
408
790
132
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed during Ramadam in July 2014 when some of the restaurants were closed. The staff however were extremely helpful and apologetic about any closures. The concierge desk in particular was always helpful and knowledgeable. The room was a good size as was the bathroom with a separate bath and shower. Breakfast was excellent. My husband always had eggs cooked on the spot wheras I opted for fruit, local delicacies and the croissants (delicious!) In fact the choice at breakfast was superb. We made use of the swimming pool most days and enjoyed that. The hotel was very well positioned for sightseeing. It was far too hot to walk and we always used the (cheap) local taxis. We ate in the Belgian Bar one evening and in the "all you can eat" Mexican restaurant, which my husband especially enjoyed. All in all a great hotel and I would stay here again if in Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room , although we were upgraded as the hotel was quiet during Ramadam
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz49Elgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor sharing you recent experience with us. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your kind words with the team and they all send their thanks and appreciation.

I thank you once again, and hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you again to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Khaled Zaki
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I had a very pleasant stay. Special thanks goes to Hannes Schneider the housekeeping supervisor for everything (really appreciated) and to Rokaya for the smoothness and time efficiency during checkin and checkout.

Too bad the weather was too hot use the beach.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahmoud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. I have shared your comments with Hannes and he sends his thanks and appreciation for your kind words.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can experience your new beach facilities.

Best regards
Khaled Zaki
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

It's a nice hotel, location is good, and best of all dining experience.

But in comparison with other new hotels in Abu Dhabi, the rooms are very average, just need renovation and new furniture.

Restaurants in the hotel are among the best in the city, swimming pool is great also.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mas71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to know that you have rated our restaurants to be among the best in the city and you have also liked our pool.

Our aim at the InterContinental Abu Dhabi is to provide our guests with a comfortable and memorable stay.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Khaled Zaki
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you want to go for a hotel with style good service and sofistication please visit this one.

It got several restaurants all more remarkable then the other.
Professional staff and a perfect concierge service.

Just sit back relax and let the staff do the work!
There is a small Souk nearby for some shopping or just a starbucks,,,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fvlehv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our aim to offer all our guests a memorable and relaxing experience.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Khaled Zaki
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel was wonderful, we liked the great hospitality and cooperation from staff, service was excellent, room was wonderful (big and very comfortable), we liked the cleaning system in the toilets which providing the water hoses for the toilets for personal hygiene which is compatible with our traditions and relations as Muslims, food in the restaurants (Chamas & Selections) was fantastic, housekeeping for the rooms are very good and housekeeping staff very helpful, we had late check out for 2 hours without any additional cost, room rate is very good and suitable, actually everything is wonderful and amazing. We would like to have this nice experience again with the hotel and we will stay again in InterContinental Abu Dhabi and other branches in different countries.

Room Tip: Room was wonderful (big and very comfortable), we liked the cleaning system in the toilets which pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohamedKamal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is delightful to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your kind words with the team and they all extend their thanks and appreciation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Abu Dhabi in the very near future, until then thanks again for your review.

Best regards
Khaled Zaki
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday. Excellent value for money. The staff were really helpful and not pushy. Stopped half board and there was a good selection of food. The new beach front amenities are excellent and free Wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Sea view room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident Manage... R, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The team and I thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon in the very near future.

Best regards
Khaled Zaki
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.8 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing