We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #18 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Went the week of Christmas, Hotel was excellent, the location was ideal and the beach and Pool were very good. Nothing but praise for the Concierge who helped with a number of local issues.
The Chamas & Fishmarket restaurants were absolutely out of this world and I would recommend them without hesitation.
Next time I'm in Abu Dhabi, I'll be back at the Intercon.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank essexbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,867 - 1,873 of 2,498 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2008

We are used to staying in the smaller, more personal style accommodation but as this is unavailable in Abu Dhabi we chose the Intercontinental. Unfortunately, one of the reasons we booked was for the swimming pool (after reading all the reviews). We visited during the month of Ramadam and this didn't bother us but they had emptied the pool for maintenance during this time. Then we thought we'd try the beach but we were told it was closing at the time we arrived. And despite asking for a non-smoking room, there was a strong smell of cigarettes in the room, which after staying in another hotel on the way home, we discovered is the norm in Abu Dhabil Aside from these disappointments, the service at the Intercontinental was amazing, the beds wonderful, and limousine style taxis were at our beck and call (get a price before you ride). Highly recommend the Club Intercontinental (worth the extra money). We did not have to fork out any extra money for food as the apperatifs that come as part of this package are wonderful and ample to serve as a meal. It also included our drinks, which to our surprise, were available during Ramadam.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank AfricanAdventurer247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

After a great stay at the Intercontinental in Kuala Lumpur last year, we booked the Intercontinental in Abu Dhabi. Expecting the same level of service as in KL, we were seriously disappointed. Every day we had to call for our minibar to be restocked. Every day we had to call for a bucket of ice. No turn-down service. The so-called beach resembles a flooded building plot, more than a proper beach. The worst was the buffet restaurant though. Advertising with "great sushi, lobster and prime beef", after being seated it turned out there was no sushi or lobster and the beef was far from prime. Asking the manager, we got a big smile and "today no sushi and lobster". Service was equally bad. The wine we ordered was out of stock and we were recommended a bottle 10 (!) times as expensive. After having picked the wine again, the waitress did not know how to open the bottle, struggled for a while until a collegue took over and only just avoided breaking off the cork. The cooks were in on the scam as well it seemed. Ask for 2 prawns, get 1. Ask for 3 prawns, get 2 and a big disapproving frown.

There are better hotels and there are definitely better restaurants around in Abu Dhabi. Don't go here if you can avoid it.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
1  Thank TravellingMan020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

The hotel ticks all the boxes for a five star property, but unfortunately misses the mark on the most important … customer service.
The beds were very comfortable, the room was spacious and well equipped, the beach, pool and gym looked very popular too – unfortunately we had no time to use them/
We were staying on an overnight from Dubai to attend a concert, so we were in a hurry, but for the few hours we used the hotel we noticed the following inadequacies.

 On booking, and check in we were told that the last service for breakfast was 11am. We arrived back from the concert at 2am so arrived at breakfast at 10.30am to be told that service was over.

Our limo taxi driver to the concert claimed he did not know the location of the main stadium in town, and we had to direct him despite the fact this was our first time in Abu Dhabi. He moaned loudly when we asked him to turn on his meter. We don’t mind paying a premium for a ‘limo’ as long as we receive a premium service.

Our room was looking tired despite the recent refurb. There were a lot of brown water marks over the white marble which for a 5* is not a good look.

We are familiar with the chain from the Dubai property which is excellent, with the best customer service I have ever experienced, but the AD offering was well below par.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdPies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Me and my husband stayed at Intercontinental for 1 night only in October 2008 and loved every minute of it. The beach was nice and staff at the beach bar was very nice and attentive. They have this very cool buzzes on the beach and you can call a waiter without getting up and going to the bar yourself. There's a construction going on to the left of the beach, but it's a usual sight for UAE and it wasn't noisy or bothering. And when I was making a reservation hotel staff informed me about that and mentioned that it won't cause any inconveniencies and it actually didn't! It's not very often that hotel staff will inform you of certain things and won't really be untrue about it! The food we had at the beach was tasty and fresh.There's a lot to do at the territory of the hotel, they have a big SPA centre and nice tennis courts, swimming pool looked great. We were too lazy to go to the restaurant and ordered Room Service which was served quickly and the food was really good! The bed was lovely and very comfy, our room had everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel room! Personnel very polite, well trained and professional! Well done, guys! Definitely recommend this place for couples and groups of friends!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeniefromDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAUHPR, Director of PR & Communicaitons at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2008

Thanks so much for your kind comments about the InterContinental Abu Dhabi. Your comments will be shared with all my colleagues and the management team.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to the InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Regards
Reema Baroudi
Director of PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Stayed at the Intercontinental for 5 days on business and must say that the Hotel is beautiful and exudes real 5 star quality.
On check in I was upgraded to the club floor as I have Platinum status on the Priority Rewards programme. Rooms have everything you would expect from this quality hotel. Bathroom has separate toilet with door to close and shower off of the main bathroom door entrance. Ideal if you are both trying to get ready at the same time. Toiletries were very nice and the towels were fluffy and more importantly plentiful. I could 4 bath sheets along with 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels. The bath robe was huge so you could wrap yourself up in it. Bed was exceptionally comfortable and pillows were great. The hotel offers a turndown service every night. TV has 50+ channels on it with many of them in English, plus movie channels free. My room also had a DVD Player, I assume because I was on the Club floor, but I didn't use it, so cannot comment. Air conditioning worked fine. Had the opportunity to use the Hotels Private beach on our last day. Sun beds were positioned along the beach where the warm Arabian sea lapped at your feet. Hotel has a Beautiful location only 5 minutes cab ride away from the city centre.
Ate in the Boccaccio Italian restaurant within the Hotel, food was tasty and well presented. Also ate at the Chamas Brazilian Churrascaria Restaurant within the Hotel and that was a fantastic meal and an all in all great experience. If you like eating meat, and have never tried a Brazilian restaurant before, go for it, you will not be disappointed.
Breakfast was extensive and well prepared by courteous staff and is located on the 3rd floor. Next door is the outdoor pool, where you can enjoy the views and the beautiful weather I experienced in November.
Used the club floor facilities a few times which was peaceful and very elegant. There is a Patio area outside with amazing views from its location on the 18th floor, where you can view the constant construction of the emirate and also get a great few of the Emirates Palace Hotel which is located a short stroll away.
All in all an excellent Hotel which you would be hard pushed to beat.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank petrol1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Little problems were soon fixed. We were given a suite with a broken window which I noticed only the next day as we were rushing out to a dinner. We were moved.
The aircon was erratic but it was checked each time.
We went to the Fishmarket (restaurant) to find our outside table cancelled. When we tried to leave we were given one. There were plenty. We reserved another visit. We called ahead to confirm and were told we hadn't booked although my husband went there in person from the beach. We got a table an hour later. After 40 mins we had only our drinks so left and had room service. The hotel put us through to the manager's home (!). He said he'd get back....There was a real breakdown in management structures rather than anyone being at fault, but this was our last night and a big disappointment.
However:
The buffet restaurant is wonderful for all meals, including breakfast.
The staff are all friendly and unintrusive.
The views are fantastic.
The hotel is spotless.
Nice lobby...with Bateel dates in the afternoon.
The beds are lovely.
The bathroom products are great.
Laundry is perfect.
Rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baribegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAUHPR, Public Relations & Communications Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2008

Thank you very much for your comments. The points mentioned in you trip advisor feed back are being reviews by our management team to prevent them form happening again. I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again soon to the InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#48 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,252 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#20 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £73 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Travelbag, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing