We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 February 2009

This is an impressive hotel, in every way. Great lobby (amber marble I think?) classy as you would expect a 5* hotel in the UAE to be, but not over the top (as many are)… Great location for both Leisure and Corporate guests – on the edge of the city – quiet and peaceful with great views. The staff are polite, well trained and attentive to detail. Some small problems with Reception staff (unable to break a $500 bill?!) and also some waiting when they were not busy at all – but at the end of the day it didn’t matter at all – Concierge and Doorman are great and with great local knowledge – Doorman learnt that I speak Portuguese and learned a few words to welcome me back after a long day sightseeing. The hotel has some 6+ luxurious cars available for guests to use – top service. The rooms are very spacious and the furnishings seem to be brand new. No in-house movies system but many TV channels. A great bathroom with great shower and all expected amenities. Guest rooms and public areas are very clean and well maintained – a true Intercon. Welcome fruit basket and Arabic sweets box made a big difference. The outdoor pool is spacious and a lot of room to lay by the pool. Many restaurants but didn’t use any. The business center staff were always helpful, delivering genuine service. Business center facilities are second to none.

  • Liked — nearly everything
  • Disliked — Front Desk attention to detail
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Inspector_to_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,347
    567
    168
    42
    29
See reviews for
405
783
132
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times (club rooms). The hotel has everything required to make your trip special, the decor shows a lot of time was put into the design of the lobby area

The club rooms are very clean with all minor accessories supplied (cotton buds, needle/threads.shoe polish,etc) At 7o'clock pm, housekeeping called to ask if there is anything we need, our beds were turned back each evening.

Regarding the Club Room, there attention to customer service is second to none, it is good to see the same faces each year we visit the lounge. This year there we 2 new employees to the lounge and they conducted themselves admirably. I must take time out to thank Kate Olesen (Club Manager) for all her continued professionalism over the years in making all of our trips memorable, she is always available should you require assistance or help to improve your stay at the Inter.

The Lounge food is excellent and freshly cooked to perfection by their chef. and there is a wide range of cocktails and aperitifs in the Lounge at night.

We did eat in the Italian Restaurant and found the service well below what we are used to at the Inter, the Chamas Restaurant, Selections, and the Fish Market were all up to expectations.We had no problems at all in getting the staff to make outside dinner reservations at other Hotels.

In light of the above I am pleased to inform you that we have already booked for our annual 8 nights Christmas Holiday and are looking forward meeting our friends at the Inter again.

  • Liked — customer service
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrarilondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

First, some perspective : the Interconti is a proper, established, no-excuses 5-Star property. As such I expect it to meet expectations as a bare minimum. I'm not going to rave about it unless expectations are exceeded.

To be fair, we had a pretty rocky start as a result of one individual's cock-eyed view of Customer Service. I'm talking about Asim on reception. No big deal, just a bad attitude that one can do without after a night flight. No sea-view room or higher floor available blah blah blah. If we wanted to check in early we would have to pay another night's full rate (quickly dropped to 50%) blah blah. and a surly manner to cap it all. 5 minutes later when his back was turned we approached his colleague Kate - problem solved, high floor, sea view, checked in 11am, all with a greeting smile, at no extra charge.

Room : generous size, comfortable, big plasma screen. Aircon however was a bit touch and go, almost as if they powered the whole system down when it might be inconspicuous to do so - like the middle of the day and night. Bathroom OK, beginning to show signs of wear in my opinion.

Pool and pool area: perfectly maintained, excellent bar/snacks service. The hotel photos do not do the pool justice - it is much nicer and bigger than it looks.

Buffet Restaurant : Have to say, a major let down. I would rate the breakfast and dinner buffet's as a 3.5 star. And expensive. One of the worst breakfasts i've come across actually. Our one dinner there was ok, but again expensive. And school dinner'ish.

Chamas : What's all the fuss about ? Maybe we went on a bad night but there was zero atmosphere, we were invisible to some of the passadores (waiters), didnt see any seafood contrary to description, likewise no entertainment contrary to description. And the food was ok, satisfactory, not mouth watering nor expertly cooked. I had been anticipating Chamas as the culinary highlight of my trip, having enjoyed exactly the experience Chamas aspires to offer but in Aruba (Caribbean, Dutch Antilles) at a churrascaria there called Texas de Brazil. Seriously disappointed with this effort. Again expensive.

Fishmarket restaurant : went twice in 8 days - loved it. Great service, food excellent. Nice ambience. No cheaper than Chamas but I won't say expensive because it was a good experience, which justifiies a price.

On the subject of food / eating out, look at it this way : to eat dinner in the hotel was about £50 a head, plus wine. The best meals we had were at the Iranian restaurant "Hamat" in Marina Mall - £15 a head (went twice). Best value was Lebanese Flower (about £10 a head and we left about 30% of what we were served - much too much !). FuddRuckers (Burger Chain) in Marina Mall - about £15 a head - amongst the best burgers i've had anywhere - a real revelation this place. The point is, the food in the hotel was inferior, but 300% of the price - I kind of have an issue with that. Oh, and we ended up picking up some noodles, chicken biryani, samosas etc. from the hot counter at Carrefour (supermarket) at the mall for our lunch most days, about £2 each. And ate well.

Abu Dhabi generally ? clean, well maintained, evidently thriving. Can't compare it with Dubai as havent been. Would consider it again for short(ish) haul winter sun. However be warned, although the sun might run at 27/28 degrees in January, the sea is pretty chilly. If you're looking for crystal clear, calm warm water to match the sun, you still need to spend the extra 3 hours each way on the plane to get to the Caribbean.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lLin-n-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Ok where do I begin? It all started with the lack of a contact email for the hotel, no direct email address given. So I sent a fax asking about New Year’s and the transfer from the airport. Two weeks later had heard nothing. Rang the hotel and they could not have been more helpful, booking the New Years Eve night and passing on the details re the transfer from the airport to the concierge. Things were beginning to look up. We arrived late to the hotel around midnight after being collected by hotel car. At check-in, our room was not ready, so we were upgraded to a suite, and told to come back at two the following day to be moved to the room we had booked. Went back at 2 to be told, no change was to be made. Happy out went up and unpacked the clothes. With 2 days to go (5 days later into holiday) customer relations rang in the evening to say we were being moved now. Packed up and moved down the corridor 4 doors. No apology after being told we would not be moved.
The hotel has everything, super rooms (saw a few!!), good restaurants, tried 4 of them and with the exception of the Italian (poor service) were very good. Lobby is lovely and Piano Bar relaxing, where you can watch the world go by.
The beach complex is excellent, plentiful towels and nice bar/food area. The exception is for Coconut Island across the way from it, where major construction is underway, diggers and lorries reversing, make for interesting views but overall not an issue.
Wanted to check out the Emirates Palace and asked the concierge about dinner there. Told us all about the restaurants in our own hotel, but no advice passed on about the 7* hotel. Asked later on Jan 1st about afternoon tea in the Palace, to be told they were not serving it till the 4th of Jan, we asked why and could he find out, he rang and they were serving it all the time!!
Lastly at check out, we were flying out at 23.55 and asked for a later check out. Asked for check out around 7, told it would be one full night’s accommodation price extra, up to 6pm 50% of the full price. We checked out at 2pm at no extra cost!!
The hotel is good but the customer service leaves a lot to be desired, it’s as if the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing. In Boccaccio the Italian, we were waiting 20 mins, wine was served and the manageress comes over and says food will be on the way, we said we did not get the menus yet….. It’s the personal touch overall, many aspects great but it’s the few that disappoint, that is what is lacking here for a 5* star hotel.
When I booked the hotel it was number 1 on TripAdvisor, I can see why it has slipped, which is a pity.

  • Liked — All the comforts are there...
  • Disliked — Customer service, not what it should be for an Intercontinental Hotel.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Went the week of Christmas, Hotel was excellent, the location was ideal and the beach and Pool were very good. Nothing but praise for the Concierge who helped with a number of local issues.
The Chamas & Fishmarket restaurants were absolutely out of this world and I would recommend them without hesitation.
Next time I'm in Abu Dhabi, I'll be back at the Intercon.

  • Liked — The location, staff and restaurants
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank essexbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We are used to staying in the smaller, more personal style accommodation but as this is unavailable in Abu Dhabi we chose the Intercontinental. Unfortunately, one of the reasons we booked was for the swimming pool (after reading all the reviews). We visited during the month of Ramadam and this didn't bother us but they had emptied the pool for maintenance during this time. Then we thought we'd try the beach but we were told it was closing at the time we arrived. And despite asking for a non-smoking room, there was a strong smell of cigarettes in the room, which after staying in another hotel on the way home, we discovered is the norm in Abu Dhabil Aside from these disappointments, the service at the Intercontinental was amazing, the beds wonderful, and limousine style taxis were at our beck and call (get a price before you ride). Highly recommend the Club Intercontinental (worth the extra money). We did not have to fork out any extra money for food as the apperatifs that come as part of this package are wonderful and ample to serve as a meal. It also included our drinks, which to our surprise, were available during Ramadam.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank AfricanAdventurer247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2008

After a great stay at the Intercontinental in Kuala Lumpur last year, we booked the Intercontinental in Abu Dhabi. Expecting the same level of service as in KL, we were seriously disappointed. Every day we had to call for our minibar to be restocked. Every day we had to call for a bucket of ice. No turn-down service. The so-called beach resembles a flooded building plot, more than a proper beach. The worst was the buffet restaurant though. Advertising with "great sushi, lobster and prime beef", after being seated it turned out there was no sushi or lobster and the beef was far from prime. Asking the manager, we got a big smile and "today no sushi and lobster". Service was equally bad. The wine we ordered was out of stock and we were recommended a bottle 10 (!) times as expensive. After having picked the wine again, the waitress did not know how to open the bottle, struggled for a while until a collegue took over and only just avoided breaking off the cork. The cooks were in on the scam as well it seemed. Ask for 2 prawns, get 1. Ask for 3 prawns, get 2 and a big disapproving frown.

There are better hotels and there are definitely better restaurants around in Abu Dhabi. Don't go here if you can avoid it.

Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMan020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing