We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #21 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Newton-le-Willows, Merseyside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Service!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights over New Year on the way home from Australia and had high expectations having stayed at Intercontinentals' flagship hotels in Sydney and Hong Kong. Although the hotel doesn't look too impressive from the outside it more than makes up with the service provided inside. Every member of the staff I spoke to were very helpful, professional and, more importantly, friendly.

We paid a bit extra for the 'Club' Room and it is the best 'club/executive' experiance we have had during years of travelling. The Manager of the Club Lounge, Rebecca, is excellent as is her team, especially Jasmine for whom nothing was too much trouble.

We usually never eat in a Hotel's own restaurants but made an exception on this occasion and ate at nearly all of the hotels restaurants as we didn't fancy travelling into the main area of Abu Dhabi. The Chamas Brazilian Restaurant is unbelievable and a meat lovers heaven!!. Endless amounts of meat carved and served at your table which only stops when you tell them that you have had enough. The recently opened Belgium themed Restaurant is also top quality and serves a great range of beers!

Although we only stopped here to break up the journey on the way home from Oz, we have decided to return there again in the very near future for an extended stay as it was so good.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason2995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    563
    165
    42
    29
See reviews for
395
764
131
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 8 days over Christmas, have stayed numerous hotels in Dubai and world wide but only one other in Abu Dhabi and that was Emirates Palace, but must say what the intercontinental dont have in size, marble and glizt, it sure does make up for in attention to detail and tremendous service, from your first greeting at hotel check in to check out, you will not find better anywhere in the world. all the staff are exceptional and are also very sincere, they actually care about the hotel they work in, its just not a job to them, right from the top level of management down to the last employee I have never found a better level of service anywhere>
Stayed in suite which was very good, pool area is great, again with great service and good food available, hotels got own beach which is great, hotel also various food outlets ranging from Belgian cafe, (Which is quite good) an italian restaurant (quite average) Chamas restaurant ( which is excellent) and yachtclub (which again is excellent) and the Fishmarket (didn't Try)
Overall it would be very difficult to be disappointed with a stay at this hotel and I beleive would be very difficult to find any better, I have also stayed at many intercontinentals over time including the Amstel in Amsterdam, the Grand in Paris, which are both rated very highly, but in my opinion for me this is the best one I have had the pleasure to stay at.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dubaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
275 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We spent 7 nights over the Xmas period - and it was fantastic. Xmas Day on the beach, absolutely brilliant restaurants (the Fish Market is reason enough to visit!), and the most obliging and friendly staff I have ever come across (and I have travelled the world).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

I spent one night at the Interconti on a business trip to Abu Dhabi. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is right up there in terms of expectations at an Interconti. The rooms are generous in size with all of the amenities, some have a great view over the adjacent Marina. The service is crisp and efficient as one would expect from a 5* hotel, overall though it was a short stay it certainly met if not overfulfilled my expectations.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZAcouple_in_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We stayed in a club room which has it's own private lounge on the top floor. You pay a little extra, but they provide food and drink during the day and part of the evening to keep you going.
The staff are excellent and are very willing to help you. The hotel has it's own beach, with a very good fish restaurant next to it. There are several other good restaurants in the hotel along with a trendy bar / club.
It is perfectly located to get around the city and the roads are excellent and they do not suffer with the congestion that it's near neighbour Dubai has.
At present the hotel is mostly occupied by business people, but more and more holiday makers are travelling to Abu Dhabi now.
There is plenty to do, as well as sun bathing. A round of the World Power boat racing was on whilst we were there. The Golf course 25 minutes away is tremendous. You can get into the desert for dune sking !! or 4x4 driving.
Worth a visit

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

I went to Abu Dhabi for business reasons and had this hotel booked for me as a favourite of a local. Whilst by June the temperature was soaring, I did manage to get out into the pool early one morning, and was fascinated by the bar in the swimming pool. A little disconcernting to be swimming past business men in their breakfast meetings however. The hotel reception and bar are equally good meeting places. My only tip would be to wear warm clothes to breakfast as the air-conditionning is fierce.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citygirl-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I usually trael to this area and Interncontinental Hotel has ben an excllent experience. The hotel is excellently located, the service is excellent, molre close to a 7 star hotel. The ambient int he common areas is relaxed, elegant and cozy. It has many services for the traveller, the different restaurants is another reason to visiti it. Its restaurant The Yatch Club, in a lovely marina made me feel in Côte d'Axur. Excellent experience that I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Carme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#39 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing