We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning to Le Royal Meridien”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I have always enjoyed the quality of the rooms, the pool and the wide range of dining opportunities. The most important quality of this hotel is, for me, the staff. From the guy that opens the door, the person who carries your bags through to the General Manager all are fantastic.

If you think about your own home the decoration may not be 100%, the television may not be the biggest and flattest, your bed may have a few lumps but it is the people in your home that are the most important element.

So it is when you stay in a hotel when traveling on business. If you find the people there welcoming and friendly that is the most important thing.

I am looking forward to staying there again next week.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AberdeenAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your nice review and for pledging to come back again!
It's true that the people are at the core of a place and the employees of Le Royal Meridien in Abu Dhabi will always try their best to make guest's stay an enjoyable experience.

See you soon,
Kind regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
There are newer reviews for Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

in general the hotel is rather tired- no wifi in rooms, ancient bathrooms, boring buffet, big TV sets (not that this is something I look for in a hotel but it gives you a good indication that innovation is not a strong point here) The service is flawless but as a frequent traveler I would not come back again until it receives a major facelift- there are more modern alternatives.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gord15_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Gord,

We do take note of all your comments about the hotel being "tired" therefore we would like you to be one of the first to know that refurbishment works are planned to commence very soon, for upgrading the guest rooms as well as other facilities. We should be ready within months with new rooms and upgraded amenities.

We hope you will visit again and we will be happy to have your feedback about the result.

Best regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

very nice hotel close to the Abu dhabi Corniche- the room was very large - the was no wireles and TV set was "old style" no flat srceen

Room Tip: the room was on a the 11 th floor facing the sea. The beautiful Al fanari restaurant was on the to...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAFFAELLA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Raffaella,

Thank you for your comments.
The rooms are going through renovations works very soon. TV screen will be changed to the latest ones.
Meanwhile wifi has already been installed in all guest rooms.

We hope to welcome you again to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi


Best Regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Le Royal Meridien. We found the service excellent, our room was spacious and well equipped. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet was superb. Staff were routinely helpful and patient with our many questions.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Dear gdl_traveler1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.

We have just finished the renovation and refurbishment of five floors in our deluxe tower. This also includes the installation of flat screen TVs. We are currently working on getting wireless Internet connection in all of our rooms. This might take another few months, but please be assured that we are focusing on this project.

I have forwarded your concerns to our Food & Beverage department and the issue has already been addressed.

Should you decide staying with us again, please make sure to request one of our new rooms when making the booking so we can show you that our standards are much better than the ones you have experienced during your last stay.


Best regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This hotel needs to modern its facilities. No wireless Internet at the rooms neither flat screens; seems trapped in the 80´s. Ok, it was a crowed weekend but the service at the breakfast buffet needs to be improved.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdl_traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Check-In: I booked a standard room. Upon check-in the receptionist asked if I would be ok with a twin bed room (rather than a king bed I had booked... I was travelling alone)... I said it was fine but asked what was the reason, and he responded that the King room they would give me wasn't that good... I was pretty amazed by such an answer (and honestly, I wonder what might have been the pb with the room they would have given me...)

Room: I stayed in Room 807.. Pretty small (I don't really care about the size of rooms, since I spend very little time in hotel rooms) but everything seemed very new.. I was actually pleasantly surprised by the overall decor... However, the room (a non-smoking room) had a pretty unpleasant smell... I'm not sure if it was the carpet, the wood or a cleaning products they used, but everytime I entered the room, I was hit by this strange smell... I would get used to it after 5minutes

Bathrooms: Again, small, but I don't really mind... The real problem is the design of these bathrooms... There is a glass separation between the sink and the shower. The bathtub is right behing the shower area, with no separation between the two: you have to walk through the shower to step into the bathtub... So basically, by taking a shower, you automatically get the bathtub wet. That wasn't really a problem, but rather a surprising and unusual deign for a hotel which probably had to do more with saving space. The main problems were that the water from the shower would flood the bathroom floor everytime I took a shower (I guess the water evacutaion is not well designed. SO I had to use a towel to block the water on the floor from floowing the area in front of the sink (so that I could later step in wearing socks...)... Finally, during the two days, I had no hot water coming out of the shower. There was hot water in the bathtub and sink though, so that is pretty strange. I told reception upon check out, and though the receptionist was synpathetic and wrote it down, I wasn't offered any sort of scompensation (which I believe I should have)...

Fitness Center: Has a small indoor pool (not big enough to swim lengths)... The gym equipment is definitely old and worns. And though thereis everything you need for a proper workout, the set-up wasn't very well designed and it generally felt rundown.

Outside Pool: Very lively, felt like a family resort swimming pool.. Lots of people hangingaround the pool and kids playing. It was fairly crowded so I chose not to swim.

Common Areas: Out of 4 elevators, one elevator wasn't working for a full day (it stayed stuck on Level 8). There was a fairly long wait for elevators everytime (maybe 30 seconds or more... either way, far too long).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear mahme,

Thank you very much for taking your time in writing such an extensive review.

I am glad to hear that you have received one of our newly renovated and refurbished rooms for your stay at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi. All of our rooms are terrific; there is just a difference in furnishings and equipment.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the smell of the room. It is indeed the smell of the new materials used in the room and we are doing our utmost to minimize the smell before a guest checks in.

I am furthermore very thankful for your constructive feedback regarding the bathrooms of our new rooms. Only with this we will know how to get better and to avoid the same design inconsistency again in the future.

Hearing that you have not had any hot water for two days makes me rather sad. Have you informed our Guest Service Center about this malfunction? Please be aware that my associates are there 24/7 to assist you with any concern you may have and we also have an engineer on duty all day and night.

Furthermore I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion regarding our recreation facilities. Our indoor pool is indeed not as big as it would allow you to swim big lengths. It is more designed to relax in combination with our massage facilities and after doing some work-out in the gym.
Please be assured that we will be getting new gym equipment soon with the latest technology machines.

Reasoning from your comment about our lively outdoor pool, I am assuming you have stayed with us over the weekend. We are having our great “All access brunch” on Fridays, which includes the usage of our pool area and on Saturdays the PJ’s pool party takes place. Both offer free access to the pool. I am very sorry that you were unable to fully enjoy your time.

The last time we had one elevator not working for a full day was due to the replacement of the elevator ropes. This was a security measure that had to be carried out.

Even though your stay with us was accompanied with some challenges, I would very much appreciate if you would give us another chance so we can prove to you that our services are much better than the ones you have experienced during your last stay.

Best regards,

Shaun P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Being an SPG (Starwood Prefered Guest)Platinum member I was very well received. I was upgraded to a fantastic suite and looked after very well. The staff were very helpful and polite.
I never got to use much of the facilities because I was busy both day and night. The hotel was quiet and the bed fantastic.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Become an SPG member,
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winson796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Winson796,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for staying at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.

It is with joy I am reading your comments about your recent stay with us. Please be assured that I will share your words with my team and pass your compliments to them.

I hope to be welcoming you back to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.


Best regards,

Shaun P.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
#64 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#9 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,707 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Abu Dhabi
Dusit Thani Abu Dhabi
#15 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
#19 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: Le Royal Meridien Khalifa Bin Zayed the First St, Abu Dhabi 45505, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#17 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £59 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, as the city's long-standing landmark re-emerges, transformed. Conceived over 2 decades ago by the ruling Royal family of Abu Dhabi, the hotel retains its distinctive avant garde exterior, that resembles an eye when seen from above. Strategically located in the heart of the city's commercial district, the hotel is within a 20 minute drive to all areas of Abu Dhabi and just a walk away from major corporations, shopping, parks and the Corniche. Curious minds are awakened by the Arrival Artwork as guests enter and discover the Hub, Le Meridien's re-interpretation of the traditional hotel lobby, where they are immediately transported into a stimulating space. Recently renovated, the hotel's redesign is inspired by both its European roots and its local heritage. Curated art in the hotel inspires a new perspective and discovery continues at check-in with Unlock Art, where guests receive a limited-edition room key designed exclusively by an LM100 artist, which also allows guests to receive exclusive benefits at a local cultural institution. The 202 spacious guest rooms and 74 lavish suites reveal the city's skyline and coast with panoramic views and feature contemporary, chic design and Le Meridien signature beds. The hotel's transformation also made it the culinary destination in the city, providing a fresh palate of tastes, including the first Jean-Georges Restaurant- Market Kitchen, the city's only revolving lounge bar and grill - Stratos- with 360 degree views of Abu Dhabi, coffee culture brought to life with Illy and the only authentic Irish pub - PJ O Reilly's- in the city. The hotel boasts 10 restaurants and bars offering best in class culinary exploration. With 8 meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 1,300 attendees, Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi's conference facilities provide ample room to encourage creative interaction and forward thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing