We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, but not the last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #28 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“First time, but not the last!”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We booked one night only at Le Royal Meridien late November, having visited the Danat, Jebel Dhanna the night before. booking was made through SPG and we were offered a 'classic, non-smoking room, sea view', which we accepted. Initially at check-in they advised that only city view rooms were available but after a little insistence we did get a sea view room (809). We have to say this was one of the most impressive rooms we have stayed at in the Middle East. Not huge (we have stayed in the Burj Al Arab) but recently very nicely refurbished in contemporary way. Very high quality of finish, fabulous bed, and gorgeous view. Staff, from bell boy to reception were excellent. But perhaps the highlight of our stay was at the Al Fanar restaurant (revolving restaurant). As residents we got 30% off the price of a meal for two, plus 50% off cocktails. Unfortunately our guest had to pay his full 100%! But he did so with a smile. The food was just exemplary. The ravioli was melt in your mouth, as was the lamb main course. The only slight fault I had with any of the dishes was the slow cooked veal. I was advised by the staff that it would arrive 'well done' and indeed it did turn out not as tender as I had hoped. Service too was a tad slow, but as we enjoyed the company, and food was freshly prepared, this was not an issue for us. The wine list was good, if not extensive. We tried PJ's (Irish bar) later and enjoyed the band, which started a bit lat for us (11:30). A big downside though - there was no wi-fi in the room, only wired ... (though I think they are working on this). Overall a first class stay, and we will be returning in the very near future for longer we hope!

Room Tip: Insist on newly refurbished sea view room. Check availability of wi-fi if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnybegud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Johny,

Thank you for staying at Le Royal Meridien.
Your extensive review of the facilities is a sign of your appreciation of good things; we would like to thank you for that.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Since you've left, rooms have been extended the wifi service and now you can enjoy high speed internet connection from the comfort of your room.
Al Fanar restaurant has welcomed a new Chef who promises to give the menu and extra "spin".

We do hope you will be visiting again to enjoy the rest of the facilities.

Best regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    347
    104
    30
    20
See reviews for
178
249
114
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pressbaum, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Not new, not posh but very good standard - friendly staff, good restaurants (Arabic restaurant under a tent), nice pool and beach bars, a huge garden extending to the sandy beach, a well equipped gym, clean rooms (tower room with beautiful view on Dubai and the harbour, WIFI and flat screen) and at reasonable rates. I will come back!

Room Tip: Request tower room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctom_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your comments and nice review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Le Royal Meridien and await the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip to Abu Dhbai.

Best Regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Had a great stay at the Royal Meridien. The service from the moment of arrival was excellent, the room very clean with a great sea view and an amazingly comfortable bed. The t.v and some of the fittings were a bit dated though. Friday brunch and Saturday breakfast were both excellent with a good variety of choices. The pool area is nice and the proximity to the corniche and downtown shopping very good. All in all a great place for a relaxing weekend stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your nice review of Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.
Weekend stays are relaxed ones at our Hotel with a variety of outlets offering gourmet food. The proximity of the Corniche makes a nice walk along the Sea front.
With regards to outdated furniture or fixture, please be informed that refurbishment works will be started soon for a whole upgrade of the guest rooms and facilities.

We hope you will be able to visit again and enjoy the new place,

Best regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I have always enjoyed the quality of the rooms, the pool and the wide range of dining opportunities. The most important quality of this hotel is, for me, the staff. From the guy that opens the door, the person who carries your bags through to the General Manager all are fantastic.

If you think about your own home the decoration may not be 100%, the television may not be the biggest and flattest, your bed may have a few lumps but it is the people in your home that are the most important element.

So it is when you stay in a hotel when traveling on business. If you find the people there welcoming and friendly that is the most important thing.

I am looking forward to staying there again next week.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Alan,

Thank you for your nice review and for pledging to come back again!
It's true that the people are at the core of a place and the employees of Le Royal Meridien in Abu Dhabi will always try their best to make guest's stay an enjoyable experience.

See you soon,
Kind regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

in general the hotel is rather tired- no wifi in rooms, ancient bathrooms, boring buffet, big TV sets (not that this is something I look for in a hotel but it gives you a good indication that innovation is not a strong point here) The service is flawless but as a frequent traveler I would not come back again until it receives a major facelift- there are more modern alternatives.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord15_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Gord,

We do take note of all your comments about the hotel being "tired" therefore we would like you to be one of the first to know that refurbishment works are planned to commence very soon, for upgrading the guest rooms as well as other facilities. We should be ready within months with new rooms and upgraded amenities.

We hope you will visit again and we will be happy to have your feedback about the result.

Best regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

very nice hotel close to the Abu dhabi Corniche- the room was very large - the was no wireles and TV set was "old style" no flat srceen

Room Tip: the room was on a the 11 th floor facing the sea. The beautiful Al fanari restaurant was on the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAFFAELLA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Raffaella,

Thank you for your comments.
The rooms are going through renovations works very soon. TV screen will be changed to the latest ones.
Meanwhile wifi has already been installed in all guest rooms.

We hope to welcome you again to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi


Best Regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Le Royal Meridien. We found the service excellent, our room was spacious and well equipped. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet was superb. Staff were routinely helpful and patient with our many questions.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhan10, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear gdl_traveler1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.

We have just finished the renovation and refurbishment of five floors in our deluxe tower. This also includes the installation of flat screen TVs. We are currently working on getting wireless Internet connection in all of our rooms. This might take another few months, but please be assured that we are focusing on this project.

I have forwarded your concerns to our Food & Beverage department and the issue has already been addressed.

Should you decide staying with us again, please make sure to request one of our new rooms when making the booking so we can show you that our standards are much better than the ones you have experienced during your last stay.


Best regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
#64 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#8 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
2,744 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
970 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#25 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Le Royal Meridien Khalifa Bin Zayed the First St, Abu Dhabi 45505, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#28 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, as the city's long-standing landmark re-emerges, transformed. Conceived over 2 decades ago by the ruling Royal family of Abu Dhabi, the hotel retains its distinctive avant garde exterior, that resembles an eye when seen from above. Strategically located in the heart of the city's commercial district, the hotel is within a 20 minute drive to all areas of Abu Dhabi and just a walk away from major corporations, shopping, parks and the Corniche. Curious minds are awakened by the Arrival Artwork as guests enter and discover the Hub, Le Meridien's re-interpretation of the traditional hotel lobby, where they are immediately transported into a stimulating space. Recently renovated, the hotel's redesign is inspired by both its European roots and its local heritage. Curated art in the hotel inspires a new perspective and discovery continues at check-in with Unlock Art, where guests receive a limited-edition room key designed exclusively by an LM100 artist, which also allows guests to receive exclusive benefits at a local cultural institution. The 202 spacious guest rooms and 74 lavish suites reveal the city's skyline and coast with panoramic views and feature contemporary, chic design and Le Meridien signature beds. The hotel's transformation also made it the culinary destination in the city, providing a fresh palate of tastes, including the first Jean-Georges Restaurant- Market Kitchen, the city's only revolving lounge bar and grill - Stratos- with 360 degree views of Abu Dhabi, coffee culture brought to life with Illy and the only authentic Irish pub - PJ O Reilly's- in the city. The hotel boasts 10 restaurants and bars offering best in class culinary exploration. With 8 meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 1,300 attendees, Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi's conference facilities provide ample room to encourage creative interaction and forward thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing