We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised to be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #25 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprised to be disappointed”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My primary issue with Le Royal Meridien is its price for less or equal value to other neighboring hotels. We live in Abu Dhabi (the emirate) and travel to Abu Dhabi (the city) quite frequently, so we are always shopping for less expensive hotels. Recently, there was a deal at the Royal Meridien, so we jumped on it, as it is ranked a 5-star hotel. Thus, I was very surprised that it wasn't all I dreamed it to be. Part of it was simply that I found it no better than many of the hotels, 3 and 4-star, that we have stayed in. The room was adequate, nothing special. The reception desk was well organized, but not very friendly and receiving. They were more concerned with selling me a membership in their point earning program.
Breakfast was delicious, but, for the price, lacking in the amount and variety of choices I was expecting. Service was excellent in the restaurant and more than helpful. When we let the server know that the coffee was not so great (it looked like tea and tasted like it had been run through a previously used filter), he offered to make us our own coffee and came back with a French press with a completely different type of coffee and utterly delicious. All in all our stay was a satisfactory experience, just not 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We understand that we could not keep up with your expectation during your recent stay with us and noticed the concerns particularly at Check In, choices at the breakfast buffet and the coffee experience. Please be assured that necessary actions are taken to avoid recurrence of these issues. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused to you and kindly consider this as a one off incident and doesn't reflect the usual high standard we strive to maintain.
With a completely renovated property in 2014, we look forward to welcoming you back to a renewed experience.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    342
    103
    30
    18
See reviews for
177
245
110
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed a number of times and the current up-grade didn’t affect my sleep. Rooms in the SPG member’s wing are fine and to the standard you would expect. Good location for most offices in Abu Dhabi. The business lounge is open plan which I thought was a bit strange at first. However the live pianist playing in the reception area was actually very soothing after a long day and having to catch up on e-mails so it actually worked. The only issue I have with the Royale Meridian is the room rates can vary so much depending when you are visiting that you can’t always justify staying here when it is compared with other hotels in he area

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveymanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, Director of PR and Marketing at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are getting great response from valuable patrons like yourself on the recent update the property has gone through. Please take advantage of our special offer page on our website leroyalmeridienabudhabi.com where best rate is guaranteed when booked direct when you plan your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a renewed experience soon.
Best Regards
Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Despite a bit of disappointment over the revolving restaurant being shut down, and the Italian bistro being closed too (with no mention of that on their web site), the whole place was bright and clean and well located. The rooms we all had were great - nice, simple, almost Scandinavian feel to the decor - mine was the only one marred slightly by a sea-view which also included what appeared to be the hotels AC system (lots of boxes and cables, etc) on the rooftop just under my window.

However, I cannot praise highly enough the staff. The service was SUPERB. Kind, helpful and friendly - apparently every single one of them delighted to see you. I'm hard put to recall where I had better service than this. Would most definitely go back.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms on higher floors would be better to ask for, since there was the dull thud-thud of music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, Director of PR and Marketing at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Caroline,

Great to hear back from you and thank you for your valuable insights. As you have experienced this land mark hotel is passing through a remarkable transformation and we will be revealing the magnificently rediscovered outlets by early next year. Please be assured that you will not be disappointed. :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to wonderful discovery experience soon.

Best Regards
Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I frequently travel to Abu Dhabi for business and pleasure. Le Royal Meridien is hard to beat for location, facilities, service and value for money. It will certainly continue to be my hotel of choice in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, Director of PR and Marketing at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Jamie,
Thank you for your valuable comments and we are glad that we could keep up with your expectations.
we appreciate your continued patronage and hope you liked the recent transformation this land mark hotel had gone through to become a stunning hotel in the capital city.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Sverige
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Didn't expect much since the price was low and reviews not to good.
But it was really, really good. Got a room on the 18th floor which was newly refurbished and offered a great view over the ocean. Bathroom was brilliant.
Excellent service also.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0He
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, Director of PR and Marketing at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are happy to know that you had a great time during your recent stay. Our facilities are recently upgraded and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to a renewed experience.

Best regards
Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel under major refurb. Upgraded to suite which was spacious but poorly designed and finished. Cigarette burns on dirty sofa gave bad initial impression. Bathroom is open plan which looks nice but after a shower you go wading to use toilet. On this subject you need to be a gymnast to reach the toilet roll. Only one bar of soap was provided for two basins, one bath, shower and bidet. Ridiculous. Neither soap nor other toiletries were replaced when room was cleaned. Hot water took for ever to get even lukewarm. 6th floor room was noisy due to music from hotel bar. Concierge very helpful. Overall not any where near usual Starwood standard.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, Director of PR and Marketing at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback and we learnt that we could not keep up with your expectation during your recent stay.
We have noticed the concerns raised and relevant action are taken to ensure the rooms and suites maintain the usual high standards in terms of furnishing and amenities. Please consider this as a one off experience as this doesn't reflect the usual high standards we maintain.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a wonderful experience soon.

Best Regards
Marketing team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

what to say and how to rate best stay,,, great welcome at the door with the way they open the doors, takes the bags and send u to reception, reception are extremely friendly.
now, the room in the 10th floor, perfect size, and OMG great sea view,,,, breath taking,
service and room service were just great
everything is neat, great and clean.
breakfast was more than perfect and very divert, one lady at the breakfast ,,, not sure of her name, maybe natasha? was great help, very caring and made the mornings smiley with her bright welcome.
my birthday was during my stay, and my shock was big, when i got to my room, found a hand written note to celebrate my birthday,,, a very personal message, signed by the TEAM with lovely cake,,,, that made my day,, it was a great surprise.

all in all, it was a perfect stay
Le Royal Meridien,,,,
Thanks

Room Tip: 10th floor, non smoking was GREAT
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinaAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, Director of PR and Marketing at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your generous feedback and we are glad that you had a great time during your recent stay with us. We will definitely pass on the compliments to concierge and the front office team on the 'WOW' factor you have experienced and surely about the b'day cake and ever welcoming hostess at cafe palmier from the food and beverage team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to another discovery experience soon.

Best regards
Marketing team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
#20 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
933 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
#60 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Le Royal Meridien Khalifa Bin Zayed the First St, Abu Dhabi 45505, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, as the city's long-standing landmark re-emerges, transformed. Conceived over 2 decades ago by the ruling Royal family of Abu Dhabi, the hotel retains its distinctive avant garde exterior, that resembles an eye when seen from above. Strategically located in the heart of the city's commercial district, the hotel is within a 20 minute drive to all areas of Abu Dhabi and just a walk away from major corporations, shopping, parks and the Corniche. Curious minds are awakened by the Arrival Artwork as guests enter and discover the Hub, Le Meridien's re-interpretation of the traditional hotel lobby, where they are immediately transported into a stimulating space. Recently renovated, the hotel's redesign is inspired by both its European roots and its local heritage. Curated art in the hotel inspires a new perspective and discovery continues at check-in with Unlock Art, where guests receive a limited-edition room key designed exclusively by an LM100 artist, which also allows guests to receive exclusive benefits at a local cultural institution. The 202 spacious guest rooms and 74 lavish suites reveal the city's skyline and coast with panoramic views and feature contemporary, chic design and Le Meridien signature beds. The hotel's transformation also made it the culinary destination in the city, providing a fresh palate of tastes, including the first Jean-Georges Restaurant- Market Kitchen, the city's only revolving lounge bar and grill - Stratos- with 360 degree views of Abu Dhabi, coffee culture brought to life with Illy and the only authentic Irish pub - PJ O Reilly's- in the city. The hotel boasts 10 restaurants and bars offering best in class culinary exploration. With 8 meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 1,300 attendees, Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi's conference facilities provide ample room to encourage creative interaction and forward thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing