We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I use to go to the Le Royal Meridien every time I'm in Abu Dhabi for my business trips. I've been at the hotel even during the long renovation works that occured for several months in 2013. On my last recent stay these works were almost finished, and the result is quite good. Unfortunately, however, I was not totally convinced od the new design of some environments.
In general terms, this hotel has a very nice location close to the Corniche, the service is excellent, the rooms are nice even if quite small, and the breakfast is superb. Other hotels of the same category have typically more choices for the dinner, but the buffet is good. Finally, this hotel has a very good quality vs. cost ratio.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry-Janko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Jerry,

Greetings from Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi and I am pleased to see your encouraging feedback. Its is great to see that you appreciate the recent transformation of the hotel. We will be opening three more restaurants very soon which will bridge your concern with regard to the dinner options. Thanks for the compliments on our breakfast and also your continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is currently being renovated (late Jan 2014). But the renovations are mostly restaurants and hotel offices, so the hotel part is essentially done.

Since my last stay, the renovations are a big improvement. Staff is outstanding. Room was very quiet (high enough to mean no noise) and the bed was super comfy. As with any hotel in the Emirates, the air conditioning is a killer - it just dehydrates you.

There were enough workers doing maintenance on the marble floors to prevent me giving this property 5/5, but it was close.

Biggest upside - Cafe Palmier. The food is reasonably good, but the pastries are out of this world!

Biggest downside - the renovations have compartmentalised the hotel (the royal tower is almost completely separated from the rest of the hotel) and the entrance has moved around the corner (which makes it more difficult to get a taxi).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TypeYourNameHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks. Valuable comments from guests like your self keeps us going in the right direction to offer world class experiences. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I have noticed your concern on the Royal tower entrance. even though we have a door close to the tower elevators, we encourage our guests to use the main entrance or to take assistance from our concierge for taxis or our luxury limousine services. How ever we will ensure assistance is available when these entrance are used by our guests.

I will definitely pass on the compliments on Cafe palmier to the chef and the entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to an outstanding experience soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in cornich area close to several malls and attractions. The staff were friendly, receptionist remembered my name and greeted me with big smile every day. The room was clean, comfortable and with beautiful sea view. The hotel have Also a very cozy lobby and someone were playing relaxing music on the piano every night. The breakfast had a lot of varieties and the waiters provided a very good service. Overall I enjoyed my stay :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ata_Elyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Elyaz,

I would like to thank you for sharing a wonderful review of your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.

We are privileged to receive such inspiring feedback and I will convey your compliment to the entire team.

Thank you once more and we look forward to your next visit and providing you another amazing experience.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Am writing this at the hotel, it is my first night of 3..

We are booked into a club room. First impressions were really good. The staff are all fantastic, from the hotel receptionists, to the concierge and the bellboys. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and they let us have early access to the club lounge so we could have a drink and a member of staff brought us the keys when the room was ready.

The club set up here is really odd. Usually when you book into club rooms (which we usually do), you get the best rooms in the hotel. At the Royal Meridien the club rooms are in a separate 7 floor tower. This tower hasn't been renovated, the rooms in the 'normal', tower have been renovated recently and the normal tower has floors up to 20something so the views are much, much better, therefore the normal cheaper rooms are bizarrely actually much better in this hotel. The club rooms are fairly dated. We love the Le Meridien brand for the contemporary nature of the decoration, and have stayed in Meridiens all around the world. The club rooms at this particular property are very dated beige and dark wood. This may or may not be your thing, but was disappointing to us for a Meridien hotel. The room is in need of an overhaul, the wardrobe door was broken for example and didnt shut. My bathrobe had two big holes in it.

The worst part of the hotel was the facilities, for example, the 'landscaped' outside pool, is a concrete hole in the floor with an Irish pub next to it. It really wouldn't be a place you would want to spend any leisure time. The indoor pool is tiny and looks like no one has done anything to it since 1987. And, to put it bluntly, smells pretty strongly of urine. If you want to use a sauna or steam room you have to get a pass for a health club next door, which is also pretty dated and not worth the extra trip.

For a hotel with such a great contemporary lobby major parts of it are really stuck in a time warp and compared to the other 5*s in town,.. well it just doesnt really compare....

The positives are that as mentioned the staff are great, and the club lounge is nice. The recently renovated lobby and restaurant area are good.. (apart from the lack of Meridien signature scent.. every Meridien Ive been to in the World so far smells great, this one doesnt smell of anything, a small thing, but a shame).

Now for the worst part of the hotel. The reason I am writing this review now is that I was going to go to bed, but from the 5th floor of the club tower I can quite clearly hear the extremely loud music that is currently going on at the Irish pub by the pool. So this is the worst thing about the hotel... the quality of sleep. The Irish pub doesnt close til 2am, a lot of things you can put up with in a hotel, but a bad nights sleep because of loud music at an Irish bar in a supposed 5* isnt one of them.. very, very annoying.

Buyer beware for this hotel, as there are many great hotels in the city.

Room Tip: Dont book a club room, they are in a tiny little secondary tower with rooms that arent as nice as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We apologize that we could not keep up with your expectation.
Our recent transformation project covered the public areas, restaurants and the main tower rooms of the hotel which were the older part of the building complex. We have maintained the Royal tower based on our guest's feed back which generally reflected the liking towards a traditionally rich decor and wooden furnishing and earthy finishing. This tower is also a recent addition to the main hotel.
Our property improvement schedule will definitely consider the points you have mentioned about the other facilities including the out door and indoor pool area. We have taken corrective actions to avoid any recurrence of the noise disturbance to our guests as well.
We thank you for your kind comments on the graceful service from our associates and the impeccable new areas. Hope you have enjoyed the upgraded room stay in the Deluxe tower as well.
We look forward to welcome you back to a renewed experience soon.
Best Regards
Shaun Parsons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was booked in Le Royal Meridian, Abu Dhabi. I was happy to see the rooms and facility provided inside. I am sure it is worth the price I paid for the room. Although the executive floor could be improved with choice of food ( vegetarian), it wsa not too bad to have drinks in nicely decodered place...

Room Tip: Look for rooms with Ocean view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Sunil,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad to learn that you had a good experience during your recent stay with us. Le Royal Club lounge is a new facility we opened up and is still getting ready for a full launch. Thank you for your valuable comments which will contribute to the uplifting of the facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We checked in a day before New Years Ever, it seems like the hotel was already fully booked, so without hesitation they upgraded us to a room in the Royal Tower.

The rooms are spacious and clean. They have all the amenities you would expect our of a 5* hotel. Do keep in mind that this is a business hotel and not targeted so much to leisure travel.

Since I love great bathrooms I have to mention that the bathroom had a tub and stand up shower in it. They also have very comfy bath robes.

I love that they have free wifi in the room.

Do visit the whEAT bakery downstairs, they have heavenly croissants and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Sara,

Thank you very much for your inspiring feedback and we are glad that you have enjoyed your experience with us during the New year celebrations.
Thank you for your recommendation on whEAT, our artisan bakery and bistro. This unique outlet is already a favorite spot for our regular guests and local clients who love to enjoy fresh and contemporary casual dining.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a renewed experience.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I must say that I never tire writing about this hotel. It is probably because of the reason that I have been staying here quite regularly for the last nine years or so. The renovated rooms are pretty chic and naturally comfy. Service in general is pretty good and consistent. The breakfast spread along with the other meal spreads are elaborate. Although I was a bit surprised to find that the sushi platters are missing nowadays. During this particular visit, a few words of thanks to Touffeq & Yana at the reception, Kesar & Riza in the Cafe Palmier, Sandesh & Petro at my favourite haunt PJ's for their friendliness. Of course it's not meant to take away any credit from the other staff, especially the superb chefs who are behind the creation of all the mouth-watering delicacies which are doled out to one and all. Keep up the good work guys! God Bless!

Room Tip: Try asking for the sea-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saumitra_t1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Saumitra,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback and we can't thank you enough for your continued patronage. We appreciate your loyalty will definitely pass on the compliments to the entire team which is really motivational.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,831 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
#63 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#12 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,750 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,010 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Abu Dhabi
Dusit Thani Abu Dhabi
#15 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: Le Royal Meridien Khalifa Bin Zayed the First St, Abu Dhabi 45505, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#19 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £56 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, as the city's long-standing landmark re-emerges, transformed. Conceived over 2 decades ago by the ruling Royal family of Abu Dhabi, the hotel retains its distinctive avant garde exterior, that resembles an eye when seen from above. Strategically located in the heart of the city's commercial district, the hotel is within a 20 minute drive to all areas of Abu Dhabi and just a walk away from major corporations, shopping, parks and the Corniche. Curious minds are awakened by the Arrival Artwork as guests enter and discover the Hub, Le Meridien's re-interpretation of the traditional hotel lobby, where they are immediately transported into a stimulating space. Recently renovated, the hotel's redesign is inspired by both its European roots and its local heritage. Curated art in the hotel inspires a new perspective and discovery continues at check-in with Unlock Art, where guests receive a limited-edition room key designed exclusively by an LM100 artist, which also allows guests to receive exclusive benefits at a local cultural institution. The 202 spacious guest rooms and 74 lavish suites reveal the city's skyline and coast with panoramic views and feature contemporary, chic design and Le Meridien signature beds. The hotel's transformation also made it the culinary destination in the city, providing a fresh palate of tastes, including the first Jean-Georges Restaurant- Market Kitchen, the city's only revolving lounge bar and grill - Stratos- with 360 degree views of Abu Dhabi, coffee culture brought to life with Illy and the only authentic Irish pub - PJ O Reilly's- in the city. The hotel boasts 10 restaurants and bars offering best in class culinary exploration. With 8 meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 1,300 attendees, Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi's conference facilities provide ample room to encourage creative interaction and forward thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing