We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #66 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Spent 4 days here on a business trip. Gold membership of SPG got me an upgrade to the SPG floor. Room OK for business but would be a bit cramped for two. No power from the shower and did experience fluctuations in emperatures. Buffet beakfast and lunch i found to be very good. Ate in room and at one of the outside eateries. Like the idea of the arcade of restaurants with plenty of space outside to eat. Used the gym and found it to be a bit cramped. All equipment close together. Land reclamation in progress next door, someone said for a new bridge, that will change the aspect from the clean allthough small beach area. Staff all very pleasant and helpful.
colleagues who were in regular rooms commented on the size andcondition. Sounded like a lick of paint ould not go amiss.

Room Tip: Upgrade to SPG floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincolnshirelad59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear lincolnshirelad59,
I am thankful that you took the time to write a review of our hotel.
I am happy you enjoyed our buffet and breakfast as well as the ambiance of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. It is our priority to make our guest’s time precious and comfortable. Thank you for pointing out about the water problem in the shower of your room, just to clarify that we have recently installed the water saving faucets in order to comply with local regulations of minimising the water usage, which may impact on the speed of the water flow.
Be sure that your encouraging words have been shared with our associates.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & Public relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

This hotel is perfect for a short break with all facilities on site: beach, pools, gym, spa, a choice of 11 restaurants and a sports bar. Everything is clean and well maintained. The hotel is one of the older ones in Abu Dhabi and has a tradational feel - although it is showing its age in places - however the atmosphere and service far exceed that of newer hotels in Abu Dhabi I have stayed in recently.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
2  Thank SDFC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Dear SDFC1,
Thank you very much for sharing with us your good impressions of our hotel. I am happy that you had a good time at our facilities and restaurants. It is our responsibility to make our guests feel at home in our hotel. Please be sure that your good words will be shared with our associates.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & Public relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 6 night break at this hotel. What a great place. Yes it is one of the oldest hotels in Abu Dhabi, but that's what gives it it's charm. The interior is full of character - unlike most modern hotels which are completely souless and pretty much all look the same. Some areas do need updating, the corridors to the rooms and maybe the bathroom - though there was some decorating going on whilst we were there in some rooms - but the hotel is clean, the pool area is fantastic and there are lots of restaurants to choose from.

We would highly recommend this hotel. It is great value for money, the staff were more than helpful and it's ideally situated for exploring Abu Dhabi.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank janeyjonesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Dear Janeyjonesman,
It was a pleasure to read your review. I am delighted that your husband and you found your stay pleasant and relaxing. Our associates are always trying to meet our guests’ needs and it is a great satisfaction for us to hear that you were happy with the service. Please be sure that your heartfelt words will be shared with all the associates.
A friendly and comfortable atmosphere is what Le Meridien Abu Dhabi is about.
We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future and to provide you with our best services.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & Public relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Had a great time. Shame it was only one night but got a hell of a deal via the website. Hotel was great with amazing facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank whyeyeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Dear Whyeyeman,
I am delighted that you found your stay comfortable at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi and that you enjoyed our facilities. It would be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again for a longer stay.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & Public relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed at Le Meridien for 4 nights, with our baby daughter.
We stayed at the Beach Rotana for a few days (excellent, esp for children), then went to Qasr al Sarab( really excellent), in Dubai at Amwaj Rotana (excellent) and back to Abu Dhabi. We couldnt get the Rotana again as it was booked out so stayed up the street in the Meridien.
The hotel is dated, @ 1970's and pretty shabby. We upgraded to the Club room on arrival as the room we booked smelt very musty. In fact, the whole hotel is musty, needing a change of carpets. There is paint peeling on some of the walls in the lobby and the bath has paint peeling off it.
Dont bother staying here if you cant afford the upgrade. The regular rooms are very small and smelly.
The receptionist tried to charge 200AED for the upgrade, compared to the 150AED advertised on our email confirmation, saying we booked for 1 person, this was not the case, so eventually he gave in and we paid the 150AED.
We telephoned in advance and requested a baby cot. It was confirmed, and when we checked in we reconfirmed and were told it would be delivered to our room.
At 6.30pm I telephoned reception looking for the cot and they said they'd call back.
At 8pm, I called again and was told there was no baby cot available!!
No apology at all was given.
We were just told our bed was pretty big so we could put the baby in with us. We got 3 hours sleep and the baby was quite upset as she kept waking during the night.
The next day I requested the cot again as they said they would have one.
It took until 9pm, 3 phonecalls and a trip to the lobby to complain for them to deliver one up to the room!!
Again, no apology...
The pool is nice, lots of lifeguards, the beach is pretty ok, pretty normal for Abu Dhabi beaches, there is not much shade and they run out of umbrellas pretty fast.
Also, of note, there are 4/5 resturants in 'the village'/courtyard of the hotel, and they have rave music pumping until @ 10pm. Great if you want to drink the night away, not so good for children or early nights.
The last comment I would make is the room cleaning staff generally close the doors while cleaning rooms, and I discovered why, when I took a peek into a room - they sit on the bed and relax instead of doing their work. And the cleaning job they do show this (toilet and bath not cleaned in 4 nights).
All in all, this place is 3 star at very best.
It obviously gets its higher grade due to ticking the boxes on provision of pool,spa,internet etc, but the hotel is pretty dated and shabby.
I would not recommend unless you are on a budget and 2/3 star hotels are ok with you - dont expect any luxury...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Dear JCS54,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi. I deeply regret that you didn’t feel comfortable and went through an unpleasant experience with our associates. Rest assured that your remarks will be shared internally in order to improve our service.
To your comment regarding the age of the hotel, having been one of the first hotels established in the Abu Dhabi Emirate I accept that we are unable to compete with the newer and taller hotels that have slowly dotted Abu Dhabi’s skyline in recent years. However, I can assure you that we are doing our best to keep the building and grounds well maintained.I am glad that you found the swimming pools and the beach facility nice. We pay much attention to the lifeguard service as it is a priority for us to assure that our guests feel safe and relaxed.
Customer feedback is very important to us as this is our opportunity to improve on any insufficiencies we may have.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & Public relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

After reading some of the reviews I was slightly worried about staying here.
I have to say that although the hotel is a little dated, for the price it is a very good place.
We stayed in a club room. For the extras that you get this was more than worth it.
We had breakfast included in the price and they put out afternoon tea, plus alcoholic drinks early evening. There was also use of two computers. The rooms were very modern and fresh.
The staff were very friendly and the hotel was well maintained.
It was strange at first but quite interesting to watch all the building work and cranes from the beach area.
I would stay there again, if the price was right.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manda40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Manda40,
Your feedback is very important to us, so I would like to thank you for taking the time to share it with us.
I am delighted to read that you had a great time in our hotel. Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission. And we will keep on offering this highest quality service.
We will be more than happy to welcome you for your next visit to Abu Dhabi.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & Public relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Having read some of the previous reviews, I can confirm most of the issues raised, both good and bad. The hotel is indeed dated, having changed little since I stayed here 8 years ago. There are now several dining outlets in the grounds, and the hotel is only a short walk from the AD Mall. We stayed on the executive floor, and the room was adequate, towels and linen changed daily. The downside as the old CRT TV. The exec lounge is small, and, strangely, not self service. The pool was closed forthe first 5 days, so we were relegated to the sloping beach. Once opened, however, it was warm to swim in. The staff were helpful, efficent, and friendly, breakfast varied and plentiful, internet very slow. I suspect there will be no investment into improving the hotel, as it looked to me like it will be demolished to accomodate a new road which will link up to the new development across the small bay from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Dear Makemg,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel after your recent stay. You raised some points that I would like to reply to. I’m very happy to learn that our staff met your expectations and that you liked your room and the services provided. As you mentioned one of the swimming pools was closed for maintenance for a few days in order to ensure the safety and the comfort of our guests. We informed all our guests in advance; and I would like apologize again for any inconvenience during your stay.

Being one of the first hotels built in town, we believe that Le Meridien Abu Dhabi is a place with a strong character, especially the verdant Village and its several restaurants & bars with outdoor seating. We will keep on providing the best facilities and services as any guest can expect from a hotel of our standing.

Hoping to welcome you again in our hotel,

Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & Public relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#30 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#26 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#48 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,252 reviews
9.1 mi away
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#8 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: Al meena 2nd St | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#38 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#57 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £68 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing