We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor experience - old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #61 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Dubai
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“poor experience - old hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hotel is really old, and the place is gloomy.
Rooms were smelly and dirty.
Desk staff was pretty much unfriendly.
Could have been a better experience honestly!
Pictures are pretty much self explanatory....

Room Tip: ask for a clean one ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurent t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear laurent t,

We appreciate you leaving a feedback following your stay with us. Our main aim at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi is to provide an excellent service and to make our guests feel like at home. I am deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Our property may be deemed as aged, however we have guests who still admire the charm and the character of the hotel.
In the meantime, I hope that you give us the chance to welcome you back to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    407
    183
    64
    78
See reviews for
227
347
106
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Please do avoid this place,
I am right now in my bedroom and really I am asking me how can I manage to spend one full week in such terrible bedroom.
The manager who welcomed my daughter and me was not paying attention, and she was not even polite. I have a booking and luckily I kept with me my printed reservation because this lady was not able to read and instead of a king size bed she gave me twin beds !! No apologies, nothing, because she was the manager ... Normal !!! She is "in charge" :)
written from room 388

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmentescari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear carmentescari,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I deeply regret that you did not enjoy our initially offered facilities and service. We thank you for reaching out to us through your husband as well and we were glad we managed to change your opinion about our hotel, matching the requested room category and offering a quieter and presentable room. I have personally addressed the service shortfalls expressed.
Feedback from our customers is very important to us as this is our opportunity to improve on any insufficiency we may have had.
We do hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future at our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Had a lovely long weekend at Le Meridien June 2013.

The pool area is lovely & clean, the water is nice and cool. The beach is also great, no waves but clean water and surprisingly a large area for a city beach. There is a bit of construction work going on and the view of power lines is pretty average but overall we had relaxing time. Lots of chairs around the pool and staff are very attentive, Le Meridien have got this part of the hotel perfect.
Checking in was a bit long winded but it was a long weekend and they had only 2 of the three check in desks maned.
The rooms are little on the small side but our bed was very comfortable, we had large flat screen TV and all the amenities you expect in a good hotel.
I would recommend a room on the club floor level 5 which gives you breakfast, afternoon tea and drinks and nibbles from 7pm. There is also a business centre available 24 hours.
This is an old hotel and with age it carries a certain kind of charm that you rarely get with the newer hotels in Abu Dhabi.

I have three complaints about this hotel:

1. On first entering the foyer I was overwhelmed by the smoke from the lobby and nearby cafe. Although the hotel says it is "non smoking" management and staff do nothing in stopping the many guests from smoking indoors. For this reason I would never stay at this hotel again, as an asthma sufferer I was affected badly every time I walked through the hotel lobby.

2. The walk to the pool area is too long and the hotel needs to open the gates leading to the pool area and make it easier for it's guests.

3. The nightlife within the hotel grounds is great, there is plenty of restaurants and bars to go to, however the bars are full of "ladies of the night" and it made it very uncomfortable to enjoy our time there.

Overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: Pool View on Level 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxynsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear roxynsw,

We appreciate you sincerely for taking the time to leave a feedback following your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. We pride ourselves in every element of service that you have identified.
We also truly appreciate your feedback regarding the smoking areas. I feel saddened reading that you were disturbed by the smoke in the lobby, rest assured that this is taken on board and will take the necessary action where possible; however we do fully comply with current government regulations with regards to designated smoking areas.
The entrance to the pool area is designated through the Health Spa entrance. We apologize if it had caused any inconvenience to you.
We once again thank you for choosing Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. I do hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I've stayed here at least 4 times already. The Hotel is a landmark in the area. The front-office staff is well trained and experienced and very friendly. Will tell you a story to qualify this. I required a late checkout at 6pm. I had stayed for two nights already & on paper had to pay for the third night as well as per their website rules. I happened to mention to the FO Manager that checkout at 6pm should not attract a full day's charges. He acknowledged my request and on the spot billed me a half days charges upon checkout. Made me a Le Meridien fan for life. The lobby is grand with marble and gold and chandeliers. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The beds are wonderfully comfortable, the bathrooms clean and lovely toiletries. There are lots of F & B options and this property is a real busy place on the weekends. I recommend this strongly! Good Value for Money!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear drallah,

We sincerely appreciate you for taking the time to pen down your thoughts following your stay with us. Your comments are very encouraging and welcome. We always strive hard to exceed guest expectations, thus we are delighted to read that your needs were exceeded from the request you made to the Front office team for a late checkout.
We are happy that you had a pleasant experience overall. We thank you for being our fan! We hope to welcome you back to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

a great smile greets you here, the hotel itself is probably a little dated, but there is a great warmth inside. lovely welcome from concierge to help with luggage and helpful check in staff
if you like swimming and water here is perfect there is a choice of beach, 2 pools and a spar full of different opportunities to float or soak or steam or sauna, also a good gym and yoga classes and tennis courts
lots of opportunities to eat too either in the hotel or at the back in the tourist club with a choice of restaurants
conveniently located next to abu dbabi mall, taxis know how to find it too!!!!

choice of hotel room or le residence where you can have a little kitchenette. beds comfy and plenty of bottled water to drink

good value if book through booking.com
lots of choices to sit and listen to music - indoors or out

Room Tip: the tennis courts can be noisy at le residence the hotel rooms have balcony so ask for one with a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debutaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear debutaunt,

Many thanks for you kind feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you had a delightful experience with our facilities.
We are always accustomed to giving the highest possible care and service to all our guests, thus the friendly nature of our associates is a focal point at our hotel. Our range of restaurants is very popular amongst our guest and residents in Abu Dhabi hence, we are pleased to know that they were to your liking.

Booking through our website can be also a good value for money as we have the best price guarantee. Thank you for choosing to stay with Le Méridien Abu Dhabi, we hope to welcome you and your family back to our property in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Resort is located in a good location in the Tourist Club Area. This was our 1st visit to the UAE and wasn't sure what to expect. Upon arrival at the resort we were warmly welcomed by Concierge & the check in staff. Check in was very easy & was suggested that we join the Starwood Guest reward program for free as it would give us discounts while we were staying at the resort & other benefits which we did join. We dined in the resort all three nights of our stay & enjoyed a 20% discount off our total dining bill each time! Our room was large & comfortable even with an extra single bed added to our room for our son. The resort had great facilities with a good pool area & own private beach. The variety of restaurants was great as we didn't have to leave the resort to eat. To have such variety of dining options in one resort area including Italian, French, British Pub, International buffet & sports bar was very good for 1st time tourists, and not expensive whilst of high quality. The courtyard area was good with a huge sports screen to watch sport live whilst relaxing with a cold drink.
The staff were extremely friendly & helpful with any requests.
Free Wifi would be nice to have in the rooms but was available in the lobby area. The downside to the resort was that the smoking was allowed inside the lobby area in the cafe area & wasn't very pleasant for non smokers & families.
The building overall could do with an upgrade, & refresh but a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larna35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Larna35,

It is very special when our valued guests take the time to individually compliment the services at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. Thank you for your detailed and thorough review of your stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay on your first visit to the country. We are happy that you were able to dine in and experience our fantastic range of restaurants. Please rest assured that we will share your feedback with all associates. However, We understand your concerns with regards to smoking in public areas. We anticipate this being regulated by local laws in the not too distant future.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon to our establishment!

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here in a Club Room for 5 days. Took a taxi from the airport - fixed rate AED 70. Yes the hotel is a litle old, but it was one of the first build. Reception area is very nice and staff friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and the Club Lounge gave us everything we expected. There was free internet but we had some trouble getting it in the room. I think they are looking to improve this. The Gardens are beautiful and the pools very good. We had a couple of the buffets and particularly like the Sea Food Buffet and we also went to the Thai Buffet. Breakfast is excellent and it is very handy to have the Abu Dhabi Mall next door. There is also a very nice spa.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning again early next year.

Room Tip: Try a Club Room - well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear zoli18,

We appreciate you for taking the time to leave your thoughts following your stay with us. It is very special when our valued guests take the time to individually compliment our services. We are happy to know you enjoyed Le Méridien Village, the dining experience at the Seafood Night and Talay Thai restaurant.
The hotel is aged, as it is one of the first hotels built in this magnificent city. However, Le Méridien Abu Dhabi has it’s own charm and character which many guests still experience. We look forward to welcome you soon back to our home.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#24 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#32 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
5.0 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Al meena 2nd St | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#35 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#53 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing