We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty toilets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #67 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for AD Grand Prix.

Arrived Friday morning 9 am after an overnight flight from UK. Rooms were not yet ready...no problem so thought I would go and freshen up in the washrooms off the reception area, when I entered I felt physically sick, they were smelly, dirty and somebody's previous "business" was in the toilet...yuk!! Don't they inspect every hour or two in a public area?

The appearance of the reception area is what the public will see if the toilets are dirty it creates a very poor impression.

I would echo what other users have said in that the hotel is quite old and in need of some paintwork. Rooms were ok but again smelt old. Breakfast was very good lots of variety and well presented.

Would not stay again unfortunately.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tddentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear tddentx,

Thank you for your observations and comments. We strive hard to provide our guests a comfortable and memorable stay. We regret to learn you did not have the experience you were expecting at our hotel.
Normally we endeavor to provide exceptional guest care and would like to mention the difficulties experienced are not a normal reflection of our usual high standard of customer service. However, please know that the issues you have raised have been addressed and appropriate action have been taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in future.
I am glad however, that you enjoyed the breakfast at La Brasserie.
We hope that we would have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and ensure you of our best services.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I was really dissappointed with this hotel. It really doesn't represents the name of Le Meridien...its dirty, smelly toilet, old furniture's, small rooms and bad service(seems staffs were not happy with their job)... paying like a five-star hotel rate is unacceptable... We've been to different hotels in Dubai but never I encountered a restaurant asking me to remove my hijab in order for us to sit there. I felt really sad that even we were in a Muslim country they we're putting such condition...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliyah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Aliyah d,

We appreciate you leaving a feedback following your stay with us. Our main aim at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi is to provide an excellent service and to make our guests feel like at home. I am deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our property may be deemed as aged, however we have guests who still admire the charm and the character of the hotel.
We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you encountered at the restaurant but most probably this restaurant was a pub or a bar (NRG sports café, Captain’s Arms or Opus bar). Please be informed that access to bars, discotheques and pubs are forbidden for people wearing traditional GCC attire and hijab as per the local law. In the meantime, I hope that you give us the chance to welcome you back to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel keeps its high and Professional service that make this hotel a great choice in Abu Dhabi.

Plus the excellent service provided by all its employees

The hotel has everything you could wish for Good quality and great location,in the very centre of the town, next to Abu Dhabi shopping mall.

And with some of the best staff that the Starwood family Worldwide has to offer !

Many thanks Le Méridien Abu Dhabi it's been pleasure to stay with you .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear 99Peter,

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. We appreciate your kind comments on the facilities and are happy that you found the location convenient. We are glad that you enjoyed the services and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for recommending our home.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a very good hotel. There is an excellent Spa and wellness center and a park (Meridien Village) with restaurants and bars just next to the hotel but belonging to the same complex.

The room was nice and spacious, with a great bed, TV, Fully stocked minibar (at reasonable prices for a hotel minibar). Next time I would however spend the extra money and get a sea view room.

The bathroom was oke, but felt somewhat out dated.

You can still see that this was a high class luxury hotel when it was build, but we are just so spoiled now a days that this felt a little old.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxed vacation especially if you can get a nice deal (less than €100,- p.n.)

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Daniel S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to read that you had a great time while staying with us. Indeed Le Méridien Abu Dhabi may appear aged in comparison to the newer hotels, those that have come to reside side by side with us, however our hotel has its own charm and tranquility enjoyed by many of our guests. You will be pleased to hear that improvement plans for the hotel are currently underway.
We sincerely hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to look after you in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from 4 day break at le meridien. We are keen water skiers and chose the hotel because of it position on a calm inlet with a beach we were not disappointed. It's rare nowadays to find good waterskiing conditions with boat drivers that know what they are doing. Thanks fanny mikey and lucky we had such fun and enjoyed our skiing on calm water and for good prices. They were so friendly. The tennis courts are also very good and no charge if you bring your racquets.

The hotel is a little old but not being high rise and shiny adds to its character. The rooms have all you need. The atmosphere I the courtyard restaurant area is buzzing and the food especially in the themed buffet is fab. Seafood in abundance.

We got exactly what we wanted from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Beverley L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. I am delighted that you found your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Indeed Eden spa and Health Club started to offer a wide selection of water sports activities including water skiing, knee boarding, wake boarding, tube riding, stand up paddle, kayak and boat ride. We are happy to read that you had a good time.
Be assured that your comments will be passed on to our associates. We do hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future at our hotel.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you heard about the huge rooms, overdone decorations, golden toilets etc. on UAE hotels (or you watched Sex and the City II which was actually filmed in Morocco) this is not the hotel you go to. But I have stayed with them for 26 years now.

Here you come for the atmosphere of a grand hotel that was one of the first first class international hotels to be built in the emirate. Intimate, classic and friendly staff. The Meridien Village garden is one of the more lively dining and bar areas in town. It is also one of the few city hotels with a beach, and has a classic spa. The village and garden can be quite crowded in weekends when the weather is not to hot.

Due to developent across the channel, this hotel was going to be demolished to build a new bridge, and so the rooms are getting a bit overdue for refurbishment. By rumour it has now been spared, as a "recent cultural heritage" so some upgrades have started first on LCD tvs and wireless.

Room Tip: There are a few city side rooms without balcony on the right side (low numbers) which is not as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear haade,

Thank you very much! we are humbled by your kind comments and hope you grant us the liberty for thanking you “for being an ambassador for Le Méridien Abu Dhabi”.
We would like to thank you for choosing Le Méridien Abu Dhabi to stay. Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission. You will also be happy to hear that plans of refurbishment are under way to improve the offering.
We will be more than happy to welcome you for your next visit to Abu Dhabi.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Probably like a lot of readers, I wondered just how realistic the reviews were. It was pleasant to find find out on arrival they were pretty accurate. Sure, this is an older hotel but with a very warm friendly feel to it. The rooms are fine (non smoking floor) with modern bathrooms, very comfy beds, free wifi etc. There is a green courtyard off the lobby leading to the beach. This is surrounded mainly on one side by a 'village' of bars and restaurants. Books of vouchers are free giving 2 for 1 meals and drinks. Good value. Surprisingly quiet, no building sites yet, but looks like future development on each side. The Abu Dhabi Mall is 5 min walk away with an option of cheap eats on the top floor.A bit dusty at the extremes of the building and a coat of paint would help here and there. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudarshani p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear sudarshani p,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are happy that you found the room, the village and other facilities to your liking. Indeed the entertainment guide is offering coupons with interesting food and beverage discounts, we are happy to know that you have used them.
We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.


Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#30 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#27 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#47 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#2 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: Al meena 2nd St | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#39 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#58 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £62 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing