We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Style Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old Style Charm”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I've read several reviews on this site with people moaning about this hotel being "tired" and "old" but it seems these said people seem to be unaware that Le Meriden Abu Dhabi is the oldest hotel in the city!! We've stayed 3 times at the 5* Beach Rotana which is about 500m away, its brand new - the people moaning about Le Meridien being old (because it is!!!) should go and stay there!

Anyway enough of my rant, back to Le Meridien! Firstly Ibrahim on the front desk was BRILLIANT! We had a slight issue when we checked in due to my wife having her maiden name on the booking (it was too risky changing her passport in time so we left it) no problem, quickly sorted when we explained, no breaking the rules in the UAE!! Give the man a pay rise ASAP!

Also the Food & Beverage manager was great, we had a tiny issue with one of the restaurants (nothing major) and he sorted the issue without bother and even bought us a drink! I forget his name but say thank you to him again on my behalf!

Even our housekeeper was brilliant, always happy to help! I can't remember his name either, but i think he was from Thailand, he had REALLY spiky hair and was always smiling! We were in room 414 over the festive period, again say thankyou again to him (and give him a pay rise too!!) and also to the concierge staff for bringing me ice constantly for my injured arm!

We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wenty940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Wenty940,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your very positive review of Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. It is such a pleasure to know that you have a memorable experience at our hotel.

I’m happy to learn that the service of our staff met your expectations and that the facilities made your stay pleasant. Please be assured that your good words will be shared with our associates.
We will be more than happy to welcome you for your next visit to Abu Dhabi.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    424
    193
    66
    83
See reviews for
238
360
109
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

As one of the original 5* Hotels in the City, the Hotel still retains it's original charm and indeed some of its original features eg wood panelled lifts. This Hotel does not have the over the top decor of some of its neighbours but still retains the charm of a top class Hotel. Superb food outlets along with a couple of bars all serving the best quality in town means you don't have to go far if you don't want to. The Hotels location alongside its private beach is also a huge plus, with the pristine Abu Dhabi Mall just down the road. If you want gaudy over the top glitz this is not the Hotel for you, but if you want old fashioned class then book it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Austin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Austin G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our facilities and location.
Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission. We will keep on offering this highest quality service.
It will truly be a pleasure for us to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

If the food is generally good, the beach though small is clean and comfortable, the spa area is impressive though not always clean the outside noise and all-smoking area do spoil the overall impression. The rooms and furniture are not new but acceptable. It does look as if it used to be a luxurious place, but not anymore.

Room Tip: Both sides are noisy, it is hard to suggest anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Tanya Y,

Thank you very much for sharing your views and kind comments of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our facilities and location. Our hotel was indeed one of the first built in town, however we strive hard to upkeep its appearance in order for it to be appealing for our discerning guests. We believe it is a comfortable hotel with a lot of character and facilities in the offering. You will be pleased to hear that improvement plans for the hotel are currently underway
We would like to stress that your observations will definitely taken into consideration in order to improve our level of services.
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanpur
Level Contributor
183 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in month of December. Hotel on one side is located on a busy street close to a Mall and shopping area ,on the other has a nice beach area with several restaurants on premises. It has private beach area where you can relax and enjoy sun shine. Reception area is well decorated.Rooms are in a long corridor with lift in center of two wings. Rooms are comfortable and well furnished. You can ask for a beach facing room . Ask for a room on 4th/5th floor for a good view. Toiletries was at minimum. Hotel provides option for no room service for credit of AED 25 coupons which can be used in a limited number of restaurants. We could not use the coupons as most of these restaurants are open only in afternoon. Service was OK .

Room Tip: 4th/5th floor Beach facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Ashok M,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel during your visit in Abu Dhabi. Your feedback is very valuable for us and we would like to thank you for writing a review. We are glad that you found the room, the beach and reception area at your liking.

Indeed we are proposing to our guests to participate to the program “Make a Green Choice” . This program permits to reward directly the guests whenever they decline housekeeping services in order to help us conserve natural resources. The guests receive a choice of rewards: $5 at participating food and beverage venues, 500 SPG Starpoints or donate these points to UNICEF’s environmental work for children. Regarding the $5 voucher they can be redeemed in all our venues at any time except for breakfast.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I've been staying here for a number of years and gotten to know the staff and location very well. They do pull out all the stops and compared to some others in the region they make a point of employing very well spoken and well mannered staff. I had a few small problems here and they were all sorted out very promptly. In particular Ibrahim on check in was helpful in a number of matters during my visits. Would very much recommend for business and families.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank andymcivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear andymcivor,

Thank you for your review and for visiting Le Méridien Abu Dhabi so often.
I’m happy to learn that the service of our staff met your expectations and that the facilities made your stay pleasant. Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission. We will be more than happy to welcome you for your next visit to Abu Dhabi.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 days in this hotel and felt very happy and comfortable there. Although it is not the newest one, everything is clean and cozy and it is a place, where you can feel a little bit home away from home. We got an upgrade to a suite which was very big and comfortable. Service was excellent and they tried to do everything for us to feel well. There is a big variety of restaurants with high quality. Prices are moderate. The beach is not the biggest, but there are enough sunbeds for all guests and the atmosphere is totally relaxed. The Meridien Abu Dhabi is really a little gem between all this big hotels made from steel and glass and when you sit outside on your balcony in the evening, you can feel the difference. I am sure, that I will come back soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank justsun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear justsun67,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time and our associates looked after you well. Sincerely hope that your son is well, look forward to welcome you all back soon!

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

As others report the hotel is one of the regions first and is somewhat retro and is unlike the new build hotels in the region with over the top decor.
Some areas are in need of refurbishment however it does have positive points.
The location is near the business district and is close to shoping malls and restaurants.
It has a small beach with the hotel location being what looks like a large harbour so the water is very calm.
Facilities are excellent with a spa .outdoor pools ,and a wide range of restaurants on site ranging from a British pub to a Thai restaurant.
Its abour a 10 min walk to the Corniche where you can walk and take in the sights.
The staff were exellent with a special mention to Annabelle at the Thai restaurant who was most helpfull in telling us that the portions we were ordering would be too much.
Also Gerald and staff at the Club lounge.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear RandBCheshire,

First I would like to thank you for your very positive review of Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
It is such a pleasure to know that our guests feel good at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you liked the beach, food and location of the hotel. Our restaurants offer a diversity of cuisines and flavours. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the food in Talay, this restaurant has been awarded for the second time in a row as the best Thai restaurant in Abu Dhabi by What’s On Awards.
Please be sure that your good words will be shared with our associates.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#25 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#27 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,893 reviews
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#20 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,155 reviews
5.0 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Al meena 2nd St | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#35 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#52 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing