We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #62 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a dump!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This place is a shabby, tired dump and no match for other hotels in the area. The decor dates back to the 80's and the club (5th) floor and rooms smells like a giant ash tray.

Check in took forever, only to be given twin beds when I booked a king. Then given a second room that was a kingsize, but hadnt been cleaned after previous occupant, finally given a smoking kingsize room when i wanted a no smoking room. TBH - i just couldnt be bothered to argue anymore, they just didn't care...

Since i have checked out i have been getting loads of marketing emails despite ticking no bloody emails.

All in all, stay at one of the Rotana hotels they are so much nicer and only a little more expensive.

Room Tip: Only stay on the club floor if you smoke or want to smell like you smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goggs102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NemoAcimovic, General Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear goggs102,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to give us the feedback with regards to your stay.
Sincerely regret that we did not meet with your expectations due to above compelling reasons. Your feedback is also an opportunity for us to further improve our services offered.
Le Méridien Abu Dhabi is amongst the first two hotels in UAE and those were established in this magnificent city some 35 years ago. Although it may appear aged in comparison to the newer hotels, our hotel has its own charm and character enjoyed by many of our guests.
We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi once again.


Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    430
    196
    68
    85
See reviews for
245
363
111
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is a nice classic hotel. Location is great and with the mall of Abu Dhabi next door makes it great for shopping. Hotel also has a lot of restaurants on the premises. With 2 heated pools and a indoor hydro agua pool you will not be bored and the beach is small but cute. We paid for the upgrade for the extras which included snacks and drinks and breakfast which was a good deal. The hotel could use a renovation and check out took way too long. I would definatelty recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NemoAcimovic, General Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Angel,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback during your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you found the location convenient and enjoyed the spa and beach.
You will be pleased to hear that renovation plans for the hotel are currently underway.
Thank You for choosing for staying at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi!
We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Following a stay in november I came back with my partner, the staff were excellent in all departments, yes the hotel needs upgrading but must retain its charachter.
The various resraurants and bars give a great choice and the atmosphere was execellent.
The Club lounge meeds attention but the staff make up for it .
We were there on the the 35th year they opened and had great discounts.
All I would say is if you are going to re develope the hote please keep the character

Room Tip: Dont skimp
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NemoAcimovic, General Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear RandBCheshire,

Thank you for your visit and your great review.
We are very happy to hear that you had a great time and our associates looked after you well.
We are also delighted to read that you liked the character of our hotel. Indeed we have celebrated the 35th anniversary of the hotel and we believe it is a comfortable hotel with a lot of character.
We sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Whatever they use to "freshen" rooms should be a banned substance. Do not get a room anywhere near the garden/restaurant area if you want to sleep.

Generally a tired place, badly in need of real freshening up -- that's the reason it is fairly cheap. Just don't think you are getting a bargain.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank davidderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NemoAcimovic, General Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear davidderrick,

Thank You for taking your time to post your thoughts. We regret that you found the hotel not to your liking. We have provided our care and services to many discerning guests for the past 35 years. The hotel may appear dated compared to newer properties those have come into existence in this dynamic city.

Our forte is our associates and the services they provide, sincerely look forward to seeing you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo Acimovic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 10 days recently and have nothing but praise for this wonderful hotel.
The management made us very welcome and throughout our stay.
This hotel has a large restaurant with many choices of food, a very comfotable lounge bar ( non smoking), a first class Spa, sauna,steam rooms and private pools in little caves.
In its grounds there is a lovely pool for adults and one for children, its own private beach and more than enough beds to go round. It also has a pool bar where you can order food and drinks right to your sunbed so you dont have to move!
Also in its own grounds is ` Le Meridien Village`. This has a pub( Captains Arms) an Italian restaurant, a Thai restaurant and a Sports Cafe that shows all premier league football as well as rugby on big screens.
Take all this with a comfy classy room and you cannot fail to enjoy your stay here.
There is a superb shopping mall 5 mins from hotel with a Hypermarket on the groundfloor.
Negatives? The drink prices are steep as they include service charge and tourist tax. Also smoking is allowed most places.
Apart from that, get a room on the 4th or 5th floor facing the sea for a lovely view.
We loved it and will be returning one day soon.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor facing the back towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NemoAcimovic, General Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Ray1503,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good time at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi indeed we proudly believe that Le Meridien Village is a lovely place to spend a good time with friends and family.

We understand your concerns with regards to smoking in public areas. We are glad to inform you that non smoking policies has been recently implemented in all the restaurants and lobby in order to improve the well being of our guest.

It will truly be a pleasure for us to welcome you again soon.

Your Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Service was excellent and all of the staff members I interacted with went out of their way to be nice and helpful. Breakfast was also excellent. Unfortunately, the room itself had a terrible smell. I eventually figured out it was radiating from the bathroom (the pipes?) and it decreased if the bathroom door was always kept shut. I would have asked to be moved if I was planning to spend any length of time in the room other than to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NemoAcimovic, General Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Kat0425,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
Indeed our team strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests and it gives us great pleasure to know that our associates exceeded customer service
As for the bathroom, we have communicated your comments to the housekeeping department to take preventive measures to avoid any recurrences. Thank you once again for your valuable annotations and look forward to welcome you back to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Business trip for a few days, great helpful staff, rooms a good size and fairly priced for Abu Dhabi! Nice to have a small balcony and escape the AC occasionally. The range of restaurants & bars in the complex meant a good selection and the choice of beach or pool just a few steps apart meant my wife had a relaxing stay too. Found a good 'locals' Asian restaurant just over the road which made a nice change to the hotel food - and very cheap! The shopping center right next door was a bonus. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NemoAcimovic, General Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Russ G,

Sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with regards to your stay at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
I am happy to learn that the facilities and the convenient location met with your expectations and made your stay pleasant.
We look forward to welcome you once again to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#26 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,215 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#42 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#27 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,092 reviews
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#19 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,200 reviews
5.0 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Al meena 2nd St | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#54 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing