We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Old but nice”
Reviewed 19 August 2009

After some problems with the hotel taking payment and me almost cancelling, I was told they had sorted out the issue and had upgraded me to the royal club room with the exec lounge access so was happy even before we arrived :-)

There were a few problems with check in as the booking didnt actually have the upgrade mentioned but thankfully i had the email with the converations i had with the reservations manager so this was honoured. The room we were initally given had a really bad damp smell and was moved and given a airwick plug in as the 2nd room also had a slight smell..lol after that everything else was great, the pools are nice, and free watermelon is given out in the afternoon but beware that on mondays and tuesdays there was a large group of children who I can only presume were on some playcentre/holiday camp thing that take over the pool area for 2 hours in the morning so this may only happen during school holiday but it did spoil things a bit as my kids (and other guests) felt a bit strange using the pools whilst there were so many other children using it.

The room is a good size, the Hermes toiletries were wonderful and still trying to find a way of getting some sent over..lol, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were all so friendly and helpful, breakfast is nice and lots of choice. We never had dinner there so can not comment, but if the cakes offered in the executive lounge and breakfast was anything to go by then I am sure it was nice. The hotel is next to the mall and loads of shops witin walking distance so very handy

The only downside is the fact that smoking is allowed in the lobby, bar and resturant area, and this is also a reason we did not eat dinner there as it was too much for me let alone my 2 children, other than that a nice place to stay even if old fashioned and worn

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoxtonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear hoxtonbabe,
Thank you for sharing with us your impressions of our hotel. I am delighted that you found service and facilities useful and enjoyable. We follow a strict non-smoking policy in designated non smoking areas as per the local law regulations and we launched a new sustainable restaurant at Le Bistrot – Sustainable Cuisine which is totally non-smoking. I sincerely hope you will visit us again and I would be happy for you to enjoy our new sustainable restaurant.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    425
    193
    66
    84
See reviews for
241
360
109
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed 9 nights at Le Meridien in July. Impressed by customer service and genuine welcoming nature of all staff. Hotel is located beside Abu Dhabi mall and is a good, central location for everything you need to see in the city. Excellent variety of restaurants in hotel and pool areas are well shaded with a ready supply of umbrellas. A very relaxing holiday and would definetely return, highly recommended.
Received a lovely anniversary cake just after checking in which was a wonderful touch and really appreciated.
If you're looking for a taxi however, avoid the cabs at the hotel, they're limousine cabs and at least twice the price of local cabs. Take a walk up to the taxi rank at the Abu Dhabi Mall to save you a few dirham.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erchie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear Erchie0,
I am happy you enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It is our aim to offer our guests the best in service and accommodation. Our facilities are especially designed to give our guests a feel of relax and well-being. I would like to inform you that two categories of taxis are available at the hotel: the limousine taxis and the standard taxis that you can find anywhere in the city for a cheaper price.
I would like to thank you again for your review. We are looking forward to having you with us again.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Staff, Hotel Restaurant (Bistro) Meals & Accomodation... Acceptable.
All Restaurants, Bars & seating areas are predominantly SMOKING with minimal space for NON SMOKERS. Hotel Bistro has SMOKING & NON SMOKING tables seperated by an open railing!!! Inside bar & Tea Lounge ALL SMOKING. If you are allergic to cigarette smoke this is not the Hotel for you. SMOKING problem applies to ALL external Restaurants & Bars.
Do not book any room above the "Garden" Bars & RESTAURANTS, especially the Sports Bar, where TV volume dial is "loud to very loud " & Bar closes at 0130 HRS...we were in room 274 above the Bar TV & unable to sleep until after the bar closed at 0130 hrs due to the volume of noise from TV & Sports Bare customers on patio. Complained three times with no noise reduction.
Would we recommend this Hotel to others ....NO WAY unless the SMOKING & NOISE problems are fixed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MongoliaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear MongoliaSydney,
Thank you very much for taking the time the write a review of our hotel. It is very important to us to offer the best service as possible to our guests and I feel saddened reading that you were disturbed by the smoke in many areas. Kindly be aware that we follow a strict non-smoking policy in designated non smoking areas as per the new local law regulations and we launched a new sustainable restaurant at Le Bistrot – Sustainable Cuisine which is from now on a totally non-smoking restaurant.
I only hope that you will decide to visit us again in the future, so that all these concerns will be taken care off.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Booked to stay there purely due to the brand name and the reality was - A good name does not make a good hotel.

First off, the staff seemed to have the idea that guests are stupid and they can make lame excuses to make the complaining guest go away. First morning during breakfast, there were 2 waiters against 10 tables. They could just not cope. At 7am sharp a troupe of another 3-4 staff memebers walked in looking like they just woke up. You never appreciate piped music until the one you're dining in doesn't have any. When I asked the staff about it he said, "oh, it's broken." Funnily enough, the next morning there was a pianist entertaining the diners. So yesterday was his fingers 'broken'?

Upon entering the room, you are struck by how small it is. The TV is of the old cathode ray type being about 1 meter thick. Nowadays, LCD TV's are not that expensive and from the room rates they charge, I don't see why they don't invest in some. Small counter table to place your laptop and the chair was a normal dining chair. I missed the armrests, leaning back and swivel function of an office chair. The wall sockets on the table were not universal and you had to ask for an adapter if you didn't have the same type of plugs. They say you get a view of the sea, but they don't tell you that you also get views of ugly construction sites off the coasts as well as power lines.

Later on, I came back to the room at about 10pm and was surprised to find that the room was not turned down, a normal service in other hotels. I opened the door and asked the room attendant about the lack of service. I was told that turn down service is only for SPG (Sheraton Preferred Guest) members and suites. Immediately I felt that I was like a minority in the hotel. That I was not as welcome here as an SPG member. I asked him to repeat that so that I am sure I wasn't making these things up in my mind. No big deal. You just fold the bed runner, place it in the cabinet, close the drapes and fold up the corner of the blanket. Normally there is a complimentary chocolate and the breakfast menu placed on the pillow to encourage you to order. None of those. Only for SPG members though.

In the morning I opened the door to grab the newspaper hanging on my doorknob but - suprise, surprise - none to be found. I called the reception desk to ask for it but it never came.

The business center was small and had only 2 sets of PCs which was both occupied when I had to use it.

The duty manager did try to solve our problems but it was too little, too late.

Verdict - if you're in town for business, don't stay at the Le Meridien.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kapowguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Dear Kapowguy,
I feel so sorry you didn’t find your stay at our hotel comfortable. Our associates always try to offer the best service to our guests. They are quite popular for their friendliness; I deeply regret that they didn’t meet your expectations this time.
Please be certain that all your remarks have been passed along internally. I only hope you will decide to join us again in the future so we will be given another chance to make your stay enjoyable.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francais a Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

i had the chance to stay in Le Meridian Abu dhabi for holiday with my family
The location, the service and the staff are perfect and give an excellent image of the hospitality industry
This is the only place in Abudhabi with such an FB outlet offer with a green play area for kids
Choose their sea food buffet on monday evening, it is simply the best I ever tried

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank les4mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyrielleSoulbieu, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear les4mary,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your feedback of Le Meridien Abu Dhabi. It is inspiring to know that you enjoyed our outlets and the hotel facilities. I am delighted you enjoyed the Seafood Night at La Brasserie restaurant.
I sincerely hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Cyrielle
Marketing & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

An old looking hotel with old decor rooms. Very good food options; lot of restaurants in fact a full food court. Very disappointing TV sets in the room and old carpets in the lobby and passages

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank VIKAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien_abudhabi, Marketing Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 27 April 2009
Dear Vikaschadha,

This year our hotel celebrates 30 years of continued success; hence the style is more classic than the more modern hotels which opened in the area in the recent years.

We are glad you mentioned our great asset which is our Méridien Village, celebrating world famous cuisines packed in 14 restaurants and bars varying from Italian, Thai, French to American and British, overlooking the lush garden with a gentle sea breeze.
We hope to see you back again soon.

With warm regards,
Dania Malki
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We just had a great weekend stay at Le Meridien. We were 10 ladies on a girls' weekend arriving on a Friday morning and leaving on Sunday. We arrived very early on the Friday and the staff were very accommodating with regard to storing our luggage until we could check in and then let us check in early a little later in the day.
The service throughout our stay was amazing - every single thing we requested was dealt with efficiently and in a friendly manner. Room service was delicious and very reasonably priced and arrived quickly. Pool and Spa staff were helpful and anticipated our needs well.
The buffet breakfast that was included in the price was OUTSTANDING. Absolutely delicious food, fresh and again very attentive wait staff. Good non-smoking area and outside dining.
There are 2 tennis courts, a squash court and a very well equipped gym - we didn't know about these before we went so were unable to take advantage of them but they are all in very good condition so take your racquets.
Pools were great, one warmer and one cooler - both very clean and well supervised.
Close to the malls and a good selection of eateries on site which can also be delivered to your room.
Overall, we had an amazing time at this hotel. Some have said it is very dated - while it is obvious that the hotel style is a bit older it is still very ornate and more importantly clean.
I can't say enough about the staff and would recommend this hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahbQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridien_abudhabi, Dania Malki, Marketing Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 4 April 2009
Dear sarahbQatar,

Reading your review brought such a warm feeling of accomplishment. It is always a pleasure to know that guests were satisfied during their stay with us. We are happy that you and your friends have had positive feedback on the food, location and friendly staff; and went back home with good memories encouraging you to share with fellow travelers, for which we thank you deeply. We do hope in the next time you return to visit us again to make a good use of our Eden Spa.

With warm regards,
Dania Malki
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#25 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#27 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,895 reviews
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#19 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,161 reviews
5.0 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Al meena 2nd St | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#35 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#52 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing