We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“am not overly impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
Ranked #45 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“am not overly impressed”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed in Millennium in May 2013 for 2 nights for work.

Hotel itself is not one of the newest, however in a good location if your business/leisure takes you need Abu Dhabi Corniche. The hotel staff seemed helpful and mostly competent. Rooms are a bit older in design, but spacious and kept perfectly clean. A bed was a touch on a firm side, but ok.

One area where Millennium doesn't deliver is food. When you travel for work, the food in hotels restaurants becomes important. After long day of work you don't want to go anywhere else (I am at least usually too tired), I just have food in hotel and go back to your room to rest. Unfortunately this is where Millennium fails - both Italian and Moroccan restaurant we tried were not very good. The pizza in Italian place was oily, hard and overcooked (and they had a real wood oven - such a shame!), and the steaks my colleagues had were just OK. Seafood buffet we had in Moroccan restaurant was abundant (never so so many shrimp dishes in my life), food was mostly tasty however VERY loud live Moroccan music and belly dancer were just too much for a Monday evening!

In short, staying in Millennium in my experience was ok, but wouldn't be in my first choice (or even in my top 10) of hotels in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prekovici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MHAUH, General Manager at Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Prekovici,
Thank you very much for your review and please accept my sincere apologies for the not so nice meal experience you had at the restaurants. Whilst we constantly aim to serve our guests with the highest standards, it seems that on this occasion something has not gone according to the usual standards. We’re however currently on the process of refurbishing our rooms. Your feedback on housekeeping and the staff in general is well received. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millennium Hotel Abu Dhabi!
Yours sincerely
Ruprecht Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    436
    124
    36
    30
See reviews for
228
349
141
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My family of 5 stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013 during our tour of Dubai and Abu Dhabi. I selected this hotel due to its location - not far from anything.

My experience was pleasant all through, starting with reservations manager Mr. Dawn Ghouse when I booked online. I needed to check on accessibility in rooms for my partially abled mother and his suggestions were immensely helpful.

We booked 2 rooms - 1 Junior Suite for my parents and a Deluxe room for ourselves. Rooms were very spacious and all amenities including wifi provided. Bathrooms too were spacious, with bidets and bathtubs. As for bathtubs, I am surprised as to a why a culture exists to provide bathtubs across all room categories! It is a sheer waste of space and more importantly, waste of water. I am sure people living most luxurious lives may not be using bathtubs.

Beds were comfortable, though pillows were a bit too soft than what we are used to but I guess for 2 days, it was ok. Breakfast spread was outstanding. For us vegetarian Indians, it is always a pleasure to see vegetarian Indian food on global buffet spreads and last but not the least, orange juice machine was a nice touch. Just pop in the whole orange and you see it being squeezed and pure juice pouring not your glass. Cannot get better than this.

Valet parking (though at a nominal fee of AED10) was extremely helpful and convenient.

Overall, a perfect hotel to stay while you are in Abu Dhabi. I would surely recommend this hotels, particularly for Indian vegetarian families.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor with corniche facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parag J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MHAUH, General Manager at Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear ParagIndia,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Millennium Hotel Abu Dhabi. We are extremely happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay very much. Our teams are very happy to read your of your experience and we highly appreciate your personalized commendation towards Ms. Dawn from reservations.
Do come by again soon and until then we remain with our very best regards,
Your sincerely
Ruprecht Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Though six weeks in a nice hotel can sound great those that do it know that all too often it can quickly become something of a chore ( I know it is a nice problem to have !) Anyway I am just finishing a six week stay at this lovely hotel and can only repeat what I have said previously, it is the people that make the difference. It is rare to find an unhelpful member of staff. From smooth check in to clean rooms, to nice food no complaints at all, always made to feel welcome and when little things go wrong..and I do mean little things - such as keys stopping working they are quickly rectified with a smile.

It seems unfair to single out specific staff as the whole experience is good but I will name a few who I have had particular contact with and who have continually impressed over the six weeks......Hussein - the smoothest driver in town ! Krishner and the team in Citrus with particular thanks to those who have put up with me the most: Su, Else, Binu and May ye. Thanks to the cleaning guy on the sixth floor - who seems to tidy so well yet leave my bits and bobs just where I want them. and finally thanks to the pool staff for their smiles and endless patience I see as they guide young ones back to shallow water ! I hope to be back soon !

Room Tip: depends if you want to see sea or park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MHAUH, General Manager at Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear timmy1011,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Millennium Hotel Abu Dhabi. It’s great to note that the team particularly at the Front Desk, Housekeeping, Citrus and Le Club have successfully managed to place you at the “Centre of our World.” Your glowing comments regarding Krishna and his team and not to forget Mr. Hossain, the smoothest driver in town, are very well received. We hope you will be back to Abu Dhabi and our property very soon. Until then we remain with our very best regards,
Your sincerely
Ruprecht Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Staying in hotels all over the world all year round tends to make you a bit cynical. That is why the Millennium Hotel Abu Dhabi was such a wonderful surprise. Every member of staff subscribes to the standard of exceeding your expectations regarding service and nothing appears to be too much trouble. From the Concierge to Reception to the Restaurants to the Spa - everyone is consistent in wanting your stay to be a memorable one. When you meet Nevine Albert - the
Director of Public Relations & Communications - you understand why. She truly lives and breathes customer service and it appears that it has rubbed off on the entire staff. Not only would I personaly recommend this hotel - it will be the only hotel I would ever consider staying at on my return to Abu Dhabi. Well done Nevine and all the staff - you have taken customer service to a new level!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MHAUH, General Manager at Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Rick F,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are extremely happy to read that you have enjoyed your visit to the Millennium Hotel Abu Dhabi and that you have enjoyed our offerings very much. Our teams are very happy to read you personalized commendations towards Nevine, who has successfully managed to place you at the “Centre of our World.”
Do come by again soon and until then we remain with our very best regards,

Your sincerely
Ruprecht Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
384 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here 1 night and I was very impressed. The staff was kind and very friendly. I ended up with a corner junior suite because of room availability. I was not complaining as I enjoyed the larger room. My only complaint was the light switches. With so many of them, it took me a little time to figure out which one to turn lights on and off and which were duplicates. I never did learn how to turn off the sound in the bathroom.

It is walking distance to a lot of sights downtown. The city mall is right down the street.

Overall a wonderful stay. I wish I could had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MHAUH, General Manager at Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Joe T,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay. We’re happy that you had a wonderful time. We will soon be refurbishing our rooms and will take note of your comment regarding the light switches in the suites. Do come by again soon and until then we remain with our very best regards,

Your sincerely
Ruprecht Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The Millennium is my regular hotel in Abu Dhabi and I have spent many happy nights here. I did review the property a few years ago and after a recent stay it is well worth reviewing again.

In all respects the hotel delivers an excellent product and service:

i) They have great attention to detail (example: a mat is put by the bed as part of the turndown service)
ii) The fittings and furniture are of high quality and still in good order after at least seven or eight years of operation
iii) Food and drink remains first class - the excellent Cristal bar still serves good cocktails, Sevillos remains a great Italian and the Moroccan restaurant Marrakesh is great fun with a belly dancer if you arrive late enough
iv) Staff are friendly and deliver good, personal service without being intrusive.

The location is good, being right next to the Corniche for those evening walks. Taxis are plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSEOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MHAUH, General Manager at Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear LSEOliver,
Many thanks for taking the time to share the experience of your most recent stay at Millennium Hotel Abu Dhabi. It’s wonderful to note that your stay was memorable and that our entire team has successfully managed to place you at the Centre of our World. Thank you very much for writing and we very much look forward to welcoming back you soon! Until then, we remain with our very best regards,
Yours sincerely
Ruprecht Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

After lengthy stays at 4 and 5 star hotels in the USA, Europe and other Middle East countries since my last visit to Abu Dhabi, I have just been reminded of what makes a hotel feel really special, and it is the staff! Whilst in Abu Dhabi for these past two months or so, I've toured round some of the spectacular newer hotels which have started operating since my last visit.
However, it is only on returning to the Millennium that I really FEEL I am in a place where I really want to be.
To focus on an area I have not previously commented on: last week I visited Sevilo's restaurant on the L2 floor for Friday brunch. Right from a warm welcome from the friendly manager, Omar, to excellent service from all the chefs and staff, to the relaxing yet unobtrusive live music provided by the ever-charming Rosario, to first class food served in lovely surroundings, I was made to feel like I was back home. Yet again, the Millennium proves to be a great choice!
It seems unfair to single out individual staff because all give superb service, but staff such as driver Hussein, Sajan in reception, manager Krishna and staff Su and Binu in the Citrus restaurant, Linda, Kumar, Ram and Luis in the spa, and room attendant Maria, are shining examples of what gives this hotel the edge over most others.
Thank you.

Room Tip: One side gives a lovely view of the sea but tends to be noisy at certain times of day. The other has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fineth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MHAUH, General Manager at Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear fineth,
It was an immense pleasure to read your comments regarding your recent stay. I’m thrilled to hear that your visit was another memorable stay and that our team has succeeded where it counts most, making you feel right at home whilst delivering service that warms the heart! Especially Hossein, Sajan, Krishna & the team, Umair, Maria, Linda, Kumar, Ram & Luis are very pleased to read your particular mention.
Thank you very much for writing and we very much look forward to welcoming back you soon! Until then, we remain with our very best regards,
Yours sincerely
Ruprecht Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.1 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#27 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
#18 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,689 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Millennium Al Wahda
Grand Millennium Al Wahda
#52 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi

Property: Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
Address: Khalifa Bin Zayed Street, Abu Dhabi 44486, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Millennium Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#30 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#41 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing