We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel bit beware expensive drinks and extras”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Rotana
Ranked #32 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel bit beware expensive drinks and extras”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We Stayed at the Rotana beach for 7 nights this June .The hotel is very good and the pool and beach are lovely . When we checked in we were offered an upgrade which we took for 200 aed a night , the room was well spec but there were three of us sharing a room and the extra bed they put in was a child's bed and completely unsuitable for an adult . After a poor nights sleep we went to reception the problem was sorted very quickly . We found all the staff to be friendly and helpfull around the hotel , but we found some of the reception staff a little abrupt and not too helpful .We were staying on a half board basis which we booked almost a year ago, however one night we were offered a free meal in the essence resturant , it wasn't free to us as we had already paid in advance . We asked if we could eat in one of the other resturants at with a bit of a discount no was the answer , we feel if this was available people would use the other resturants more , although the food was of a high quality we felt that water and a cup of coffe should be available as it is at breakfast with out extra costs . We enjoyed our stay but wouldn't stay again because everything that is not part of your package is expensive . We think this hotel is better suited as a business hotel not for a vacation

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Jane,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback related to our colleagues at the front desk has been communicated and corrective measures have been taken to avoid future repeats.

In behalf of the team at Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Abu Dhabi!

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    727
    200
    81
    60
See reviews for
620
814
161
674
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
443 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We decided to eat here one night because we love seafood, and arrived early as buffets are notorious for filling up quickly. First impressions of Essence was great, good layout, masses of light streaming in from floor to ceiling windows, we looked at the buffet and decided to stay.

We received a warm greeting from the Manager who showed us to our preferred table – everything was going great, we thought we would have an enjoyable night.

We ordered drinks, a Gin & Tonic and a Harvey Warbanger, unfortunately the bar man did not know how to make this, so I had a tonic water - fairly easy cocktail one would have thought. We waited and waited, and waited. The Manager came by, so we asked him to investigate the long wait, we could see the barman just standing, with nothing to do. About 5 mins later a waiter appeared with a tray containing 1 wine glass, and a half used bottle of wine, he was going to give one of us a glass of wine – we said ‘no this cannot be for us’, he then went away quite surprised. The Manager came again, and he then the drinks problem was sorted instantly, but this had taken over ½ hour to get our drinks. Then another waiter appeared with 2 glasses/a bottle of wine, and proceeded to take the cork out without us checking it was the correct bottle– we checked the temperature of the bottle, and it was not cold enough for us, and he had not brought a wine bucket, so he disappeared yet again. Unfortunately the ice bucket contained only a few cubs of ice, he disappeared again for more ice. At this stage we could not decide whether to cut out losses and leave, or stay and enjoy the seafood buffet, how many more disasters could we encounter? The waiter did not seem to understand the fuss.

We had a starter and a main course of the seafood buffet, which was okay, nothing amazing or fantastic choice, at this stage the restaurant was filling up quite rapidly. The main problem with Essence is it is like eating in a ~Railway Station, it is sandwiched between the coffee house and the Branhaus restaurant- with masses of people wandering in and out, this makes it difficult to negotiate your way to and from the buffet with a plate of food. Apparently later at night a huge queue appears from Branhaus extending through into Essence and the coffee shop. This is to everyone’s annoyance whilst trying to have dinner, there was a guy continually walking up and down with a child in a pushchair, obviously trying to get it to sleep (but he was not even dining here) and totally ignored by staff.

Summing up - our impression of Essence was like eating in a school canteen, bad attitude of staff, masses of mistakes they were not even aware of/or even cared!!, the performance of waiters throughout the meal was totally unacceptable, this reflects badly on the F & B Director for the overall culture/training and moral of his staff in this 5 star hotel.

Come on – you can do better, take a leaf out of Trader Vics restaurant for professional service to discerning diners!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffiella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Raffiella,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your experience on TripAdvisor. It is always a great pleasure to read such detailed feedback with pros and cons.

We were concerned to read about the inconveniences you have encountered during your last dinner in Essence, for which we would like to apologize.

We strive to make our guests experience one of the best, so please stay assured that your feedback has been communicated and corrective measures have been taken to avoid future repeats. We honestly believe that your unfortunate experience is an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering as the Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi is committed to providing its guests with the highest quality of standards.

Once again, thank you for your honest review of Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon among us.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

stayed 5 nights midweek, hotel was constantly busy most days - especially in the evenings when locals / expats and business people converge at the many top-end restaurants and large scale function and banquetting suites. However the hotel retains its sense of calm grandeur, efficient but unobtrusive yet immediately apparent high service standards from the sheer number of staff evident throughout the lobby and forecourt / valet parking are testament to the popularity and consistently 'buzzing' atmosphere at this "grand old lady" (compared to the newer AD hotels).

We were booked (via Travelbag.co.uk) in a Club Deluxe room and were ushered away from the check-in lines and privately escorted by a charming front of house hostess to the exclusive reception desk located on 18th floor of theTower wing, within the private Club Lounge. Here a very elegant, calm and beautifully furnished large 'drawing room' lounge is laid out with dining tables, deep upholstered sofa and armchair seating in informal layout and with a wrap around seating area in the outside balcony terrace (for smoking or simply to catch the pleasant evening breeze) overlooking the Sawwah Island development across the waterway. The lounge offers complimentary access from 6am to 1am daily, with a hot and cold full canapes served each evening from 7pm to 8.30pm and full table service cocktails in the 'happy hour' from 7pm to 10pm. The service lead by Ana and her team is excemplorary, discreet but efficient and promptly refilling glasses / clearing empt plates etc; the range of 'snacks' is changed daily and represents a selection from the high-end restaurants such as Prego, Trader Vics, Benihana found in the hotels lower level floors. Special; mention must go to the Maitre D' and Kennedy, Lawrence, Sara and Betsy who were charming, courteous and so welcoming to all guests and who delighted in chatting with guests whilst offering the highest levels of service and comfort. Ana the Lounge Manager and her reception and waiting team provide a very professional, efficient and truly sterling service. I will definitely book the Club room grade on my next stay at the BR, fabulous and worth every cent!!

The bedroom on the 20th floor, (room 2008 - stunning views from a large outside balcony) was spotlessly clean and was very well maintained throughout our 5 night stay, (Raju the steward was a real joy, so efficient, polite and personable and he couldn't do enough for us) The room decor and furnishings provided a pleasant change to the generally 'stereotyped Americanisation' found in most of the other major brands represented here in AD; Heavy, dark wood furnishings complimented by varying gold trimmings and acres of fine marble are blended effectively with fine fabrics, the whole room creates a very calming and heavily upholstered 'homely' feel with muted colours, copious amounts of artwork and an excellent range of quality amenities to provide an overall very luxurious and 'high-end' experience in all bedrooms (we visited friends in both Standard and Suite grade rooms)sumptuous and luxurious public areas and the all important central location in downtown AD, on a private beach with lovely pool area, tennis courts, luxury spa and direct access to AD Mall. For 1st time visitors to AD this beautiful property encompasses all that is good about Abu Dhabi as a business or vacation destination. Book the upgrade to Club level rooms, you won't be disappointed... simply fabulous!

Room Tip: Club room on top 20th floor for views, cooler breeze and sumpuous furnishings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear MickandAl,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review on trip advisor following your stay with us, It is always a great pleasure to read such detailed feedback.

I am thrilled to know you have enjoyed Abu Dhabi and its fantastic views from Beach Rotana!

Your compliments will definitely be shared with Ana and her team as well as with Raju and the rest of our colleagues; as such flattering remarks continuously inspire us to do our utmost in everything that we do.

In behalf of the team at Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Abu Dhabi!

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Its was just splendid... we booked because of the summer offer and the location..both didnt disappoint us. The staff was very nice and Cheers for them. They take care of you once you arrive till you leave the property. The rooms were very nice and well maintained. The Food at the resutrants were faboulos..I would definitely stay in the hotel again..

Room Tip: Rooms with beach views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Jenson,

Thank you for sharing your very nice comments and recommending Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi on trip advisor. Great service is one of our main aims and it is very rewarding to know that we have succeeded in delivering.

In behalf of the team at Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Abu Dhabi!

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Have just returned after a 6 night stay at the Beach Rotana hotel. Went back after 8 years. At my last visit I stayed in a club room on a higher floor in the main building but this time we took classic rooms on a B&B basis only. I have to say that the rooms were fine, we asked for interconnecting rooms so that the children could have a room and so could we. The rooms were ready on arrival and the extra bed was already in place. The breakfasts in the main Essence restaurant were exceptional - there was everything you could want from beef steak, through to freshly cooked omlettes and custard donuts which the kids loved! The chef's turn the omlettes very quickly so you dont have to wait long at the egg counter. The chief chef is quite a character and keeps motivating his team and clearly enjoys what he is doing. The assistant manager Dalwin Peter is very polite, welcoming and keen to please. His team work efficiently and in a timely manner.

The rooms are fine, cleaned regularly and served well. Its a little light on storage space but otherwise ok. You will find the lack of free wifi access very annoying for a hotel of this quality - to pay £20 a day for wifi is ridiculous and short sighted by the hotel - I'm told they are reviewing this policy. The business centre on the ground floor is good enough and you can get a terminal.

The pool is good, it's set to a nice temperature and is generally clean. There's a ridiculous rule that children have to be out at 7pm - the lifeguards are quite strict and stick to this. There's not much in the way of a kids club either. the cost of food and drink at the poolside is unacceptably high - we have 5 non alcoholic drinks that cost about £30.

The hotel is connected to the Abu Dhabi mall, its easy access even for people with mobility issues. The mall has lots of places to eat and has everything from top end boutique shops through to a run of the mill hypermarket. There's also a cinema and a kids play area within the mall which is deceptively quite large.

All the staff are polite, keen to please and helpful. Their spoken english is to a high standard and the guest services team are able to answer all queries.

Overall, a nice looking hotel, well located and sat in pretty surroundings. The rooms are good, the staff friendly and everything is very clean (I walked through the lobby at 1 am on my way back from the cinema to find an army of people cleaning everything in sight!). I will be very happy to go back in the future and recommend the hotel to anyone looking to go for a short break for business or pleasure.

Recommend take a taxi from the airport - costs 60-70 dirhams (the airport ushers can get you a Merc van for 8 people instead of the need for 2 taxis - great for if you're travelling with children, elderley or in a larger group).

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your very nice comments and recommending Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi on trip advisor. Great service is one of our main aims and it is very rewarding to know that we have succeeded in delivering.

I am very glad to know that the level of our services and facilities exceeded your expectations, giving you an enjoyable stay all throughout.

Your compliments will definitely be shared with our team; as such flattering remarks continuously inspire us to do our utmost in everything that we do.

In behalf of the team at Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Abu Dhabi!

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was my first trip to Abu Dhabi and June is NOT the best time to travel - very hot. The Hotel is well located - in the tourist Night club area - This is a BIG hotel as a lot of them are in Abu Dhabi - Its main drawback and and not only this hotel is there is NO smoking policy here and this can be off putting to those of who are now used to areas where smokers are only allowed. Especially when smoking is allowed in Bars and restuarants. The Rooms are truly magnificent very large and comfortable - Bathrooms are excellent - and this is only the standard rooms that we used. Service is wonderful - plenty of choice for restaurants BUT beware you do have to pay for WiFi ??? Pool is good gets very busy in the evening but good after 7pm
Breakfats is Buffet and so much choice - well done

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi.

I am very glad to know that the level of our services and facilities exceeded your expectations, giving you an enjoyable stay all throughout.

In behalf of the team at Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Abu Dhabi!

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent. Numerous restaurants in the hotel all very nice. The direct connection between the hotel and the mall is very useful. the staff in FO receptionist in the suites apartment " Bavelyn and Mostafa is very friendly staff . just i have one concert when i make the booking . the staff in reservation name" UNO" He is very ruad. not helping for the booking. your company is very good but to have staff like UNO. you will loose more guest...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Grace,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi.

Your compliments will definitely be shared with our team, especially Bavelyn and Mostafa , and rest assure that your other comments related to the reservation has already been communicated to the concerned Department head for follow up and action.

In behalf of the team at Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Abu Dhabi!

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
12.6 mi away
Al Raha Beach Hotel
Al Raha Beach Hotel
#23 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,825 reviews
4.9 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,796 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,035 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#8 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Rotana

Property: Beach Rotana
Address: Beach Rotana Hotel 2 St | Connected to Abu Dhabi Mall, Abu Dhabi 45200, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#17 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#19 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#32 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Beach Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes away from the Abu Dhabi International Airport and 90 minutes from Dubai International Airport. Home to the prestigious Abu Dhabi Trade Centre complex, our Abu Dhabi Beach Hotel is directly linked by an exclusive passageway to the over one million square feet Abu Dhabi Mall - the capital's most renowned shopping mall, which houses international brands, a 6-screen Cineplex and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Beach Rotana Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing