We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the 5star experience I was expecting”
Review of Beach Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach Rotana
Ranked #27 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“not the 5star experience I was expecting”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I have been at the beach rotana since Friday the 14th of june. My husband treated me to a 9 night stay while I wait to move to Saudi Arabia. The staff are excellent and can not do enough for you . Beautiful beach and well kept pool area. The downside to this hotel is it is extremely noisy I am on the 4th floor and my room door its right above the essence restaurant , continuous loud noise . This hotel would suit business people rather than holiday guests.
My husband and I had hoped to spend many weekends here once we are both settled in Ta'if but I fear we may need to try somewhere else

Room Tip: Ask for a room not over the essence restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiehawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your experience on TripAdvisor. It is always a great pleasure to read such detailed feedback with pros and cons.

We were concerned to read about the inconveniences you have encountered during your last stay with us, for which we would like to apologize.

We strive to make our guests experience one of the best, so please stay assured that your feedback has been communicated and corrective measures have been taken to avoid future repeats.

Once again, thank you for your honest review of Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon among us.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,886
    828
    223
    88
    65
See reviews for
768
959
184
755
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for one night so we could explore a bit of Abu Dhabi. The rooms in this hotel are pretty dated with annoyingly hard to control AC (just be persistent and you'll get it to the right temp for you). Other than the rooms being pretty dated and in need of a big refurb they were kept very clean. The great thing about this hotel is the many bars, restaurants, mall, beach and pool. Trader vics does great cocktails with a Mai Thai happy hour from 6-8pm, the German bar does lovely beer and a great sausage and sauerkraut platter which we shared and found to be more than enough. The beach is fab with deck chair service and if you need to rinse off the salt water jump in the nice infinity pool and have a cocktail at the swim up bar, what more could you want?!
Thanks again to all the great staff!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossmackay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your very nice comments and recommending Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi on trip advisor. Great service is one of our main aims and it is very rewarding to know that we have succeeded in delivering.

In behalf of the team at Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Abu Dhabi!

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We had 6 nights at the Beach Rotana from June 2nd - 8th. This is the second time staying here and it was fabulous again. You can be very picky and moan about the shower or the rooms being a bit small but then you should upgrade to the tower wing.

The restaurants we ate in were Indigo, Trader vic's, Brauhaus but our favourite was Prego. The food , the service, the recommendations from the staff especially Lasantha in Pregos and the atmosphere was fabulous. Breakfast is great, lots of fresh food and plenty of choice.

Pool area is just perfect,very clean and never a problem getting beds. Again,the guys at Bayview are brilliant especially Cliff who is there 18 years and Harshana.

The customer care at the Rotana is superb, nothing is a problem.
Looking forward to our next visit hopefully in the near future.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishhogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Irishhogs

Thank you for sharing your very nice comments and recommending Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi on trip advisor. Great service is one of our main aims and it is very rewarding to know that we have succeeded in delivering

Lasantha, Cliff and Harshana has been complimented & recognized for going the extra mile to wow you, & I have also shared your positive feedback with the rest of the team.

Once again, thank you for your honest review of Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon among us.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
573 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed there for one night for a business trip. The hotel is quite big, very luxurious and busy. They have a crazy number of restaurants and cuisines to choose from. I was really tiered that night and ordered room service from the steak house, by far the best steak I have had (this includes the yummy steaks I had in the US).

I stayed in a normal room and it was great, very comfortable bed, the internet was not free, which is always a pain when you stay at a 5 star hotel.

Worth it for sure, i haven't tried the gym or spa or beach, but judging on what i got to see for the short time i was there, it is for sure worth every minute spent there.

Room Tip: for sure try the steakhouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmiqdadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi.

I am very glad to know that the level of our services and facilities exceeded your expectations, giving you an enjoyable stay all throughout.

In behalf of the team at Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Abu Dhabi!

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the beach rotana! Its accessible to everything - restaurants, shopping malls and tourist areas. The room is cozy and the staff are friendly and approachable. The italian restaurant inside offers quality food and customer service is nice! The pool and beach areas are well maintained with complete amenities. The thing is they allow people to smoke inside the main lobby. They should transfer the smoking area to a bit more private area away from non smokers and children. Its not good for the image of the hotel if its not neutral in a way they patronize smokers. The internet is fast but way too expensive compared to other hotels that ive tried as a frequent traveller. A reduction with the price is way more better or if they can be free.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frauleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Frauleone,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review on trip advisor following your stay with us

You have raised a number of points in your review all of which have been cascaded to the respective Department heads for their follow up.

In behalf of the team at Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Abu Dhabi!

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I visited this hotel around 8 years ago and had a lovely holiday.
So when I recently got married, it was a perfect choice for our honeymoon.

From the moment my husband and I arrived, we were treated like VIPs.

We booked Club Rotana and it was worth every penny. The rooms were of a good size, with jacuzzi bath and a 'rain forest' shower. The amenities were 1st class as was the whole experience at the hotel. We had a lovely balcony and he bed was super cozy.

We had breakfast every morning at Essence Restaurant. The food here was outstanding. There was such a large choice and the presentation was top quality.
We met the restaurant manager Mr Peter Dalwin on several occasions, and he was the kindest man and so polite with the nicest manners. Nothing was too much trouble, and every day he took the time to have a chat and check we were ok and could he do anything to help. Mr Dalwin also took the time to assist me with questions I had with a future booking. In my opinion he really does go the extra mile to keep every guest happy, and is a true asset to not only Essence Restaurant, but also to Beach Rotana hotel.

Because of the excellent service we received, on our return home, we cancelled a trip we had booked to Las Vegas and booked to visit Beach Rotana again.

Both my husband and myself can't wait to return. This hotel, the restaurants and the staff, are "simply the best".

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pikey200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear pikey200

First Congratulations for your wedding and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review on trip advisor following your stay with us.

I am thrilled to know you have enjoyed Abu Dhabi and its fantastic views from Beach Rotana!

Peter has been complimented & recognized for going the extra mile to wow you, & I have also shared your positive feedback with the rest of the team, as great service is one of our main aims and it is very rewarding to know that we have succeeded in delivering.

Once again, thank you for your honest review of Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon among us.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Hotel has a great location close to lots of malls, bars and restaurants. Being Canadian I was super excited that there was a Tim Horton's right next door. :)

Our room was nice, no real complaints as I never spend too much time in the room. The shower wasn't awesome though, as the hot and cold fluctuated a lot. My roomie said it best "It's as though the hot and cold water are fighting each other!" Usually I wouldn't mention the water but this was a 5 star so you don't expect these kinds of things.

Before we booked we checked out the hotel online and were impressed that they advertised Happy Hour for all of their restaurants but when we went to inquire, only 2 out of them actually had Happy Hour and it really only applied to 1 signature drink. Slightly disappointing.

Another discrepancy we found was regarding their internet. They advertise online that "guests receive complimentary WiFi at the beach club" . When we checked in and asked and the receptionist said there is no free WiFi at the hotel at all. I was a bit confused but let it go. Later in the weekend I had to get online for some work requirements so I paid for the WiFi. When online I double checked the hotel site and found that I was correct. After a 10 minute argument with the front desk they refunded the internet charge. Two things bothered me about this: 1) was the staff wasn't aware of their own policies and 2) the staff was willing to argue with a guest for that long. Five star? hmmmmm

Overall it was a good experience, not amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Jose,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We were concerned to read about the inconveniences you have encountered during your last stay with us, for which we would like to apologize.

We strive to make our guests experience one of the best, so please stay assured that your feedback has been communicated and corrective measures have been taken to avoid future repeats. We honestly believe that your unfortunate experience is an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering as the Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi is committed to providing its guests with the highest quality of standards.

Once again, thank you for your honest review of Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon among us.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
12.6 mi away
Al Raha Beach Hotel
Al Raha Beach Hotel
#30 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,041 reviews
4.9 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#42 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,924 reviews
9.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#19 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Rotana

Property: Beach Rotana
Address: Beach Rotana Hotel 2 St | Connected to Abu Dhabi Mall, Abu Dhabi 45200, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#17 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#27 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Beach Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes away from the Abu Dhabi International Airport and 90 minutes from Dubai International Airport. Home to the prestigious Abu Dhabi Trade Centre complex, our Abu Dhabi Beach Hotel is directly linked by an exclusive passageway to the over one million square feet Abu Dhabi Mall - the capital's most renowned shopping mall, which houses international brands, a 6-screen Cineplex and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelbag, Expedia, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beach Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Beach Rotana Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing