We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Vacation Spot for pampering and great cuisine!”
Review of Beach Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Rotana
Ranked #30 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ideal Vacation Spot for pampering and great cuisine!”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Location is a bit hard to treturn to once you leave as there is major construction on all roads in Abu Dhabi, so a road that will typically lead you here, might be detoured around.

Having said that, the hotel is beautifully serene on lush gardens, a quiet bit of the gulf, and a beautiful pool kept at a comfortable temperature. Pool features a swim up bar and multiple waiters. The service at the pool as well as inside the hotel are exceptional. The pool menu was very good and food was delivered quickly. The entire staff was very friendly, the buffet breakfast was pretty complete with fresh fruit, cereals, breads, meats, pastries, and other assorted breakfast foods.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the bathrooms were top notch with a Rain Shower head on the ceiling above and a second shower nozzle on the wall, as well as a good sized jacuzzi tub, equipped with jets!

There are about 6 or more restaurants on site, we only went to Benihana but it was excellent. And being able to charge everything to your room only adds to the vacation feel.

I would recommend this place to anyone, its a true place to just get away!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniBeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,700
    777
    211
    85
    62
See reviews for
680
869
168
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed 3 nights on our way home from a 9 week trip where we actually stayed in 17 different hotels! This would have to be the worst experience and certainly left a disappointing end to an otherwise wonderful trip. We travel a lot and are tolerant of a range of accommodations and do not expect more than what we pay for. I rarely have to right a negative report.

It might have a 5 star building but the management would get a 2 star, and I agree with another post questioning how this hotel is a leading hotel of the world. Where to start. There was no mention of the renovations going on all day when we booked or checked in and although the noise did not bother us as we were out all day it certainly would have if anyone needed to sleep or stay in their room.

1. When we got into our room, although it was spacious it seemed to be set up for one person not two as booked. There was one robe, one pair of slippers, one floor matt that they put next to the bed nad one flower on one pillow. No big deal really but a little disappointing for a 5 star.

2.The first morning I needed an iron and ironing board. It took 6 phone calls, 4 of which were unanswered by Guest Services, and over an hour for it to get to the room via Housekeeping. As we only had a couple of days in Abu Dhabi this was wasted time and totally inefficient. Our complaint to the Duty Manager was greeted with many " very sorries" but we were unimpressed. He did deliver a bottle of wine and some nibbles as an apology and if that was the end of the poor service that would have been ok.

3. We had noted that there was a lot of smoking inside the hotel, including cigars and so asked about where the non-smoking areas were. There are none and smoking is permitted in restaurants and all the public areas. Now this was explained away by the laws of Abu Dhabi but again, as a "leading 5 star hotel" it would be reasonable to expect that they would be maintaining international standards and offer their non-smoking guests a smoke free environment at least where food is served.

4. The last night we were there was the worst. We dined at the hotel's Prego restaurant a second time as we had enjoyed a meal earlier in our stay. We chose to eat earlier in the evening ( about 6.30pm) and it seemed that there was just not enough staff to attend to all the guests. We waited 15 minutes to get a menu only when we attracted that attention of a waiter. Then our main meal arrived a minute after the wine, bread and dips so the waiter offered to put in under the heat lamp. The starters are generous and it takes time to enjoy so we then suggested that by the time we had finished, our cooked meals would be very dried out. We had to ask for them to be cooked again fresh. Timing and sequencing of courses is fairly basic and again not something we expected to be an issue. There was no offer of a complementary coffee or anything and no sense from the Supervisor that this was a concern.

5, With an early departure the next morning and a 22 hour journey home we had an early night only to be startled awake at 1am by a great comotion of singing, chanting and general shouting. At first we thought it was coming from an adjacent room but soon established that there was a large crowd of football fans gathered in a courtyard restaurant direcltly below us. the noise continued to echo all around the guest rooms so we phoned the front desk and the manager assured us that he would attend to it. At 1.50am when the noise had only got worse and there was no way we were going to get back to sleep, we phoned again to be told that the restaurant would be closing at 2am ( doesn't say that in the brochure!), and he would try again to quieten them down. From our balcony we could see that this effort included serving them more large beer jugs and cooking them food! It was after 2.40am when all was quiet but then needing to be up a 6 meant very little sleep.

Once again we had words to the Duty Manager on check out .It turned out that there were 3 world cup soccer teams staying at the hotel and all their fans. When I asked what the hotel's plan was for dealing with all these revellers he lookied blankly. When I suggested that it should have been anticipated that this group might want to gather after the game and that a hotel might offer them a space where they would not disturb other guests he thought that would have been a good idea. Again, fairly basic and not up to a 5 star leading hotel standard. I felt like it was not my job to explain to a Hotel Manager that the enjoyment of one group of guests should not come at the detriment of another. He offered to take off the last restaurant bill but that was not going to appease two very tired and disgruntled guests.

Abu Dhabi is a competetive market and if the Beach Rotana wants to be recommended then a big shake up of management is desparately needed. The " ground" staff are polite, friendly and try to be helpful bu they are not being lead by effective systems and management. I certainly would not stay there again and suggest that readers check out the many hotels available.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Hamburgo, RS
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Top quality Hotel. Friendly crew, clean to the top, nice beds and pellows, superb shower! # 1 Breakfast! No cons, Unforgetable experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouadhamade, Manager at Beach Rotana, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Excellent Hotel, friendly staff, very nice beach,very good food,good service

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 155019Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I went to this hotel to spend my new year eve. The Christmass decorations were still in the lobby and you could feel the spirit even if outside were 30 degree. The room was modern, large and clean and I had many choices for dining: from Japanese to German, Italian or a nice Seafood outlet.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livans74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level Contributor
228 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

The hotel lobby makes a great impression - the staff are very friendly and helpful - the courtyard outside is pleasant and the Christmas Market which was on while I was there was fun and caused no problems. The hotel has a good selection of restaurants and cafes with indoor and outdoor dining. The Brauhaus serves German dishes and beer and has a pleasant beer garden with a view over the water. However, I found the outdoor areas extremely loud due to the construction going on all around and even in the hotel. There was constant background noise and the constuction sites spoil the view totally.
Certainly the location is good with direct access to the Abu Dhabi Mall - so perhaps I'll give it another try when the construction work has been completed. Until then, there are lots of other hotels in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montemaranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We have been to Beach Rotana Hotel several times. This time we opted for a Club Room and it was perfect. X-mass decorations were impressive too.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtodeleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
12.6 mi away
Al Raha Beach Hotel
Al Raha Beach Hotel
#26 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
4.9 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#38 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Rotana

Property: Beach Rotana
Address: Beach Rotana Hotel 2 St | Connected to Abu Dhabi Mall, Abu Dhabi 45200, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#30 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#30 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Beach Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes away from the Abu Dhabi International Airport and 90 minutes from Dubai International Airport. Home to the prestigious Abu Dhabi Trade Centre complex, our Abu Dhabi Beach Hotel is directly linked by an exclusive passageway to the over one million square feet Abu Dhabi Mall - the capital's most renowned shopping mall, which houses international brands, a 6-screen Cineplex and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Rotana - Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Beach Rotana Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing