We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star staff in a four star hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Ranked #48 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Five star staff in a four star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in Sheraton for two weeks with family and two children, over Christmas and New Year.
The hotel was quite worn out and the normal club and other rooms really small compared to most hotels in the area. As we had two kids with us we got the chance to move up to a sweet which was spacious and had a good view, partly covered with a construction work with a building just opposite. Anyhow the building work did not disturbe us at all. The royal sweets were the only rooms with something you could call a terrace and I was happy to see them when we moved in, but to our suprise all the doors to the terrace were locked "for safety reasons" they told us. Still there were proper railings, just like in the rooms lower where you could open the doors. The manager said that as the terrace goes around the whole floor they cannot let guests go to the terrrace. I have, however, stayed in many hotels where guests share the terrace and we have never had a problem with that. So if you wish to have some fresh air do not choose these sweets. The beds were very good and comfortable, which at least for me is a very important for a good night sleep. The rooms at the 8th floor were also very quiet during the nights. My daughter and her husband stayed at the 6th floor and they were quite often disturbed by noices from the corridoor by nights. But that, ofcourse you have to blame the other quests, not the hotel.

The sweets were clean, and well taken care of during our stay every day. A bit worn out but OK.

The Club lounches did not offer much. Not worth the extras you pay for them.

The pool area was good and the beach was nice. Not a real long sandy beach where you can walk as it was kind of in the middle of the city but the water was clean and nice to swim. Warm enough for us who come from Finland.

We visited all the restaurants and all of them were good. The New Years evening at the Farmount restaurant even excellent.

The best part of this hotel was the staff though. Wherever we were we got friendly smiles and good service. The staff really made our stay enjoyable. So thank you for all of you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Cramer, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mrs. Marritta,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found our leisure facilities and restaurants to your liking.

I was especially pleased about your comments on our associates as they truly are the heart and soul of the hotel and you may rest assured that I have shared your comments with them.

The reasons for the terraces of the 8th floor, which is the last floor of the building, not to be available to our guests is purely due to safety issues and while we would love to have them accessible, we have been advised against it.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of a future visit and I would like to remain at your disposal to handle all arrangements personally and ensure of your comfort.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and warm regards

Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    442
    157
    59
    37
See reviews for
304
441
120
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Was not too excited about the hotel in the beginning. Found it hard to find out where the pub and restaurants of the hotel were located. And nobody seemed to be able to tell me more about things to do around. Felt a little lost. As for a woman alone, there could be more help to make al these things easier. But as I stayed for a few days I started to feel comfortable and noticed all the good care. As for breakfast I loved the blueberry smoothie and I found it remarkable that there was even Mortadella (pork meat) available! I think it is a typical hotel to feel at ease with a family. For a single traveller I would rather go somewhere near the Emirates Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glittermara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Cramer, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on tripadvisor, such firsthand feedback is very valuable to us and we always such comments to improve on our service offering.

We should have given you upon arrival a map of the hotel where all our restaurants and bars are clearly indicated and I will look at why this was omitted.

I am happy that you nonetheless enjoyed your stay with us and found our associates to be helpful.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Warm regards

Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a great all round hotel. I have stayed here twice now and each time it has made my stay very enjoyable. The rooms are well maintained and very comfortable with everything that's needed. The brunch was superb on a Friday if somewhat under subscribed, I couldn't understand why more people didn't go. When I stayed I paid cira £75 per night which made this hotel exceptional value. The attached bar, The London Tavern, is great with a live band on most nights. In my opinion the best traditional pub in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Cramer, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear David G,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read your comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The brunch has been recently upgraded by our new Executive Chef and while it has always been of great quality and value, I agree that it is now really superb.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again and I would like to remain at your disposal to handle all arrangements personally.

Once again, thank you and warm regards

Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Hotel is already some years old, what is visible in many areas, but it was not disturbing us at all because the hotel was well managed. We booked a club room with access to the lounge, had breakfast included and a happy hour in the evening at a bar. The club rooms were a bit too small, but on the other hand the bath rooms were very nice and generous. The lounge was small and offered only few things to eat. As a lunch compensation it was sufficient but not for dinner. We know other hotels in Abu Dhabi where the lounge area is offering also warm food for lunch and dinner. But is was ok. A real advantage of this hotel is the spacious outdoor area, with a big beach area and a pool area with two levels. We always, even in the rush our time, found space. Another highlight is the health club, offering a very big training area with lots of tools, two squash courts, sauna, spa, gym, spinning ....tennis. Unfortunately the hotel lost the direct access to the sea some years ago, but it is still better than many other hotels in Abu Dhabi.
Food was ok - no complaints but also no real highlight - still the shanghai la buffet is the benchmark. Breakfast was a bit too much confusion, but maybe because it was real high season end of December.
We would come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wagnerjoerg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Cramer, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Mr. Wagner,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on tripadvisor.

Your comments have been well appreciated and shared with our team of associates.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to receive you again in the future and I remain at your disposal to handle all arrangements personally and ensure of your comfort

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and warm regards

Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I come to the Sheraton most weekends to dine we find that not only is it convenient but the food (best in town no matter which restaurant) is superb, along with the good food is great service from very polite very happy staff, who bend over backwards to assist in any way possible.

We have booked to stay over the New Year, I will let you know how the food, entertainment and stay was.

Room Tip: if not for the stay come for the FOOD
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Cramer, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Alan E,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel’s overall restaurants and bars.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you over NYE and I would appreciate if you could send me a separate note (yves.tarabout@sheraton.com) with either your booking reference or your last name in order for me to personally ensure of your comfort.

Our restaurant are now getting busy for NYE and if you are a buffet enthusiast, I highly recommend Flavours which will have an amazing food offering and very nice entertainment from Tony our resident pianist and singer from Las Vegas.

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us and warm regards

Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Beautiful hotel made perfect by the fantastic staff, who seemed to have a 'nothing is too much trouble' approach to their jobs.

There are a number of restaurants in the complex and the ones that I tried, all seemed to be excellent.

When I'm next in Abu Dhabi, I won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Cramer, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Julian S,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel posted on tripadvisor.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our overall facilities as well as our restaurant to be of good quality.

I am especially pleased about your comments on our associates attitude as this is what gives life to our customer experiences and you may rest assured that your review has been shared with them already.

Please do not hesitate to contact me when planning your next visit as I would be happy to handle all arrangements personally.

Warm regards

Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stopped of In Abu Dhabi for 3 nights returning from Far East. Travelled with friends and pre-booked separate rooms. However on a arrival we were offered an upgrade at additional cost for a two bedroom suite which was enormous, totally separate on suite bedrooms rooms with adjoining lounge/dinning room. This also included free buffet for snacks etc. at different times of the day plus a free bar from 18:00hrs to 20:00 hrs. which proved to be excellent value for the additional cost of the upgrade. The breakfast was something to die for, quality and choice superb.
As stated in other reviews the Christmas Tree in the lobby was fantastic and during the time we were there they were constructing a Ginger Bread house (YES REAL GINGER BREAD) as big as a garden shed in the lobby. There is a man made beach with lagoon together with 2 swimming pools (1 for children) in the grounds + beach / pool bars etc. Please note though 2 tower blocks are under construction overlooking the Hotel and beach complex etc.

Room Tip: Upgrade to suite if you can - Great Value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vosper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Cramer, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and found the upgrade to a suite to be a great value.

The hotel’s Christmas decorations are now completed, after 4 days of hard work, and they look wonderful, it really gives the hotel a feel of the festive season.

I do hope to have the pleasure of meeting you during a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact me should you decide to do so in order to handle all arrangements personally.

Thank you and warm regards

Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.4 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
3.8 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#38 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,737 reviews
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#19 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#8 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,530 reviews
3.6 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
13.5 mi away
Al Raha Beach Hotel
Al Raha Beach Hotel
#22 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort

Property: Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Address: Corniche Road | P.O. Box 640, Abu Dhabi 640, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#30 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#44 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Abu Dhabi's shopping and business district, the Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort combines the best of business and leisure. Enjoy our private lagoon and resort on the Arabian gulf or try one of the 11 restaurants and bars to choose from. The Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort has everything needed for a perfect stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel And Resort
Abu Dhabi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing