We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Old Lady Of Abu Dhabi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Ranked #37 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady Of Abu Dhabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Many new properties have been built since this hotel began operation many years ago.
Love the Arabic peaceful feel to reception. The dark woods and plenty of quiet and style.
Shahana in reception is by far one of the best receptionists I have ever checked in with in many many years of travelling.Fantastic can do attitude and great charm.
Having checked out of another Abu Dhabi hotel through dissatisfaction they were amazing here in securing an early room allocation.
Hotel bedrooms are on the small side but this is an old hotel. They have character and are very comfortable and clean. The hotel has a very large pool and health club complex, which also contains Vasco's restaurant. Excellent if you want good food.
Perfect for what I wanted.
Only disadvantage is the building work going on everywhere. A 37 story ugly half built building next door between the hotel and The Emirates Palace Hotel. At the back of the hotel a new building construction is just having the footings put in and will no doubt rise to some height in the future.
Great shame. I still love this hotel and would no longer stay anywhere else. Abu Dhabi, like Dubai, is being built up and losing any Arabic character. Noise is everywhere and there is no peace and tranquility to be found along the Corniche any more.
The Abu Dhabi Hilton is worth every penny. If you can deal with the building work the hotel is still as good as ever.
I only found one drawback. The Asian Thai restaurant is very average. Food not too good and the service is poor.
If I have to go back to Abu Dhabi i would still stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WOLFSPIRITTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor as well as the kind comments about Shahana. She is very pleased to have read that!

We are the first hotel to have been built in Abu Dhabi almost 40 years ago, and were initially owned by the late ruler of the UAE Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan. So thank you very much for calling us the “Grand Old Lady of Abu Dhabi”, it is a title we accept with pride.

Whilst we constantly strive to be in tune with the changes of time and so much modernity all around us, we still maintain the Arabic culture and hospitality that has made so many of our guests feel ”home away from home” through the years.

I have reviewed your comment regarding food and service in the Royal Orchid Restaurant as this is surely not our Brand Standard and I can assure you of excellent service the next time you visit.

All of us here a the Hilton Abu Dhabi look forward to welcoming you as our guest, should your travels bring you back to Abu Dhabi sometime soon.

Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,462
    893
    252
    77
    48
See reviews for
679
893
198
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was chosen due to location, cost and the beach club for a long weekend travelling with a teenage family.

At check-in we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to Executive rooms which included access to the executive lounge with breakfast and snacks/drinks throughout the day plus internet access. Firstly, the internet access in the rooms was not very good. Secondly, the breakfast buffet was only continental unlike the main buffet downstairs. The service at breakfast was really quite bad for a 5 star hotel. Uncleared tables, constantly asking for coffee cups, knives, forks- food!! The staff explained that as it was a weekend there were 'too many' families and that during the week it would be better as it was usually business customers! Not exactly what we wanted to hear.

The hotel is really quite dated now, but we were aware of this due to Tripadvisor reviews. However, the beach club more than made up for it and this was the main reason that we chose this hotel. The Marina Mall is an easy stroll away but crossing the roads was very hairy.

Do not ask the hotel to book taxis as the cost is double, instead ask one of the doormen outside and they will sort you out. The staff are very approachable throughout this hotel.

Ps A visit to Ferrari World is a must if you have older kids and look out for it as you fly in or out of Abu Dhabi airport!

Room Tip: Beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I have noted your comments about our customer service in the Executive lounge. As excellent customer service is our Brand Standard, a fact that has been echoed in many previous guest reviews on this site, your comments have been immediately reviewed with our team.

I am glad however, that you enjoyed the facilities at the beach club. With a huge private beach, 3 swimming pools, water slides, great dining options and a state of the art Precor gym, the beach club is indeed a favorite among our guests as it has something for the entire family to do.

I do hope that you decide to visit us once again, and that we can make your visit more memorable for you the next time around.

Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

A 10 day business trip pending, I needed a hotel close to meetings and within walking distance of shopping and restaurants since I decided not to secure a rental car. Although the oldest (old is relative since the country was established in 1971) hotel in Abu Dhabi, the Hilton Abu Dhabi met all my expectations and service requirements. After checking in, I was upgraded to the executive floor where I would later come to find served every meal as a complimentary service to executive lounge guests. Although the meal was small, the coffee was great, the desserts were wonderful and my breakfast each morning was perfect. If lounge beverages are not your thing, the hotel has a bar service with some very nice single malt scotches and several restaurants that serve alcohol as well. If you are staying over the weekend, the Marina Mall is within walking distance and a hop on/off bus is available as well. All and all, a very nice business trip made even better by some great accommodations on the main stripe.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed on the 10th floor executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for being our guest at the Hilton Abu Dhabi and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed the oldest hotel in Abu Dhabi, being commissioned and owned personally by the late Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the first ruler of the United Arab Emirates, a fact we are extremely proud of!

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on the Executive Floor as well as all the amenities and services that come along with it.

I am happy that your business trip was very successful and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Abu Dhabi the next time you visit the UAE on business.

Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Escorted from airport by private car. Arrived late evening. Front of house not very friendly and shown to our rooms. Sorry to say this was not the rooms I had booked. We were given rooms overlooking the car park!! I had requested rooms at the front of the hotel. The breakfast was ok nothing outstanding. The beach was across the underpass and very clean. Lots to see here. Lots of work on marina and surrounding area . The restaurant was very good. The selection of food was outstanding. We decided to eat here every night of our stay. Other restaurants but all seemed to busy and we wanted a more refined experience. Over all after the room change we would say we enjoyed the experience of this hotel, but only as a short stay onto other countries.

Room Tip: Confirm room allocation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I apologize for the miscommunication with the team which resulted in the wrong room being assigned to you. As you can see from previous guest reviews, we put great emphasis towards friendliness and customer service. Therefore your comment about friendliness was immediately reviewed with our team.

I have also noted your comment regarding breakfast and would like to mention that we do try our best to accommodate all our guest requirements with healthy menu options, a live cooking station, special Arabic dishes, a fresh fruit station, cold meats, a selection of yoghurts and a total of more than ten main courses.

I am glad however that you enjoyed your meals at Vasco’s and that you may decide to stay with us on a stop over again.

Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel does not give away its age as having been built in the 1970s. It is modern and has excellent facilities. As everywhere in Abu Dhabi, the staff are excellent. Rooms are comfortable, with Junior Suites being almost luxurious.

Located on the Corniche, the hotel has a superb beach club with coffee shop type restaurant and seafood dining. Swimming is safe in the clear waters and there are pools for those preferring fresh water.

Coffee shop in main building has a comprehensive buffet breakfast, but for me the real treat is an evening at 'Hemingway's' bar/restaurant. Good choice of draught drinks and high quality Tex/Mex food. Tuesdays is Ladies night when grape juice flows! The only downside is that smoking rules are more relaxed than in USA & Europe, so even no smoking areas might be affected. Live bands are good, but make conversation difficult. Great Jazz Bar at the rear is well worth a visit.

I think i visit this hotel more than any other!

Room Tip: Sea view better than "car park" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexFogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

Indeed we are almost 40 years old, and while we still maintain the traditional Arabic hospitality and charm that we are so well known for, we have also kept in tune with the times. Just recently we have completed a refurbishment of an entire wing of the hotel and all public areas and soon we will begin the refurbishment of the other wing as well as the restaurants.

The Hilton Beach Club boasts of 330 sq mts of private beach and Escape – the poolside restaurant as well as Vascos – Abu Dhabi’s favorite restaurant.

With 14 different F&B options, our guests are always spoilt for choice and I am glad that you had the chance to enjoy Hemingways and the Jazz bar as well.

I am vey happy to read that you “visit our hotel more than any other “and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

As a Hhonors Diamond member check in was in the executive lounge reception where the executive lounge staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were given a standard executive beach facing room on a non smoking floor. The room was a typical old style Hilton room with the relatively small bathroom however it was nicely fitted and clean. Free fruit and snacks were put into the room.
Breakfast was in the Executive lounge with a good buffet and eggs etc. to order from the kitchen. The executive lounge set out a light lunch, afternoon tea and evening snacks with a long period of free alcoholic drinks.
The beach club was excellent and restaurant prices were quite reasonable. The Irish bar advertised the Six nations Rugby but could not get the right channel so the manager gave us a free beer each (£4 / pint).
Overall this is a good value hotel where you could survive on the food and drinks from the executive lounge and find relaxation at the Beach Club and Spa.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlunWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Abu Dhabi and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to read that you were happy with your room on the Executive Floor and that you enjoyed the facilities at the Beach Club.

I hope that you will be our guest once again sometime soon.

Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Hilton in Abu Dhabi with a group of friends and had selected it based on price. This being the case we didn't expect a lot. I was quite pleasantly surprised.

The rooms were a little run dun with outdated decor, but they were very clean. The service was excellent, particularly from a male receptionist (can't remember his name) who was extremely attentive, friendly and efficient.

While you have to cross the road to get it to, the private beach bar is lovely with a choice between 2 pool areas, a beach and a swim up bar. My only gripe here is that no one was policing the "adults only" pool and there were more children in there than the other.

There are some reasonable restaurants and bars on site, but it is very close to other hotels with nicer places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaLaLauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Abu Dhabi and for posting your review on trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to read that you found our service standards to be excellent as that is what each of us here strive to achieve everyday.

My apologies for the misleading signage at the pool – which has since been rectified. Without really being defined as an “adult” pool, it is however quieter than the other pool as our life guards do not allow children to play with balls, life rafts, pool noodles etc in this pool.

I hope that you and your friends choose to holiday with us again and look forward to making it memorable.

Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#19 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Abu Dhabi

Property: Hilton Abu Dhabi
Address: Corniche Rd | PO Box 877, Abu Dhabi 877, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#27 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#28 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the vibrant Corniche, Abu Dhabi's prime beach location, the stylish Hilton Abu Dhabi hotel places you at the heart of the capital. Hiltonia, our beach club, fitness center and spa offers a spectacular beach, featuring 11,000 square meters of pristine white sand, three swimming pools, water slides, a relaxing spa, an indoor and outdoor whirlpool, a sauna, steam room, modern fitness center and a variety of water activities ranging from paddle boarding to power boat trips. The relaxing guest rooms at Hilton Abu Dhabi feature air conditioning, satellite TV, a seating area, work desk, mini-bar and tea- and coffee-making facilities. Select a Guest Room Sea View for spectacular views of the Arabian Gulf. Stay in an Executive Room for access to the Executive Lounge, which provides an exclusive check-in desk, complimentary in-room internet, breakfast and refreshments. Discover a selection of award-winning restaurants, lounges and bars at Hilton Abu Dhabi. Experience Italian dining at Bocca, international flavors at Vasco's, authentic Japanese cuisine at Toki, and soulful jazz at Jazz Bar and Dining. Hilton Abu Dhabi is a 10-minute drive from the city centre, 5-minute drive from Marina Mall, 7-minute drive from the Heritage Village and 20-minute drive from Sheikh Zayed Mosque. The hotel offers 24-hour room service, front desk service and complimentary on-site private parking. Complimentary WiFi is available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your Hilton Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Hilton
Hilton Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing