We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“AWFUL EXPERIENCE!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemongrass Thai Restaurant

Lemongrass Thai Restaurant
Ranked #207 of 2,013 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lemongrass Thai Restaurant offers a blend of Thai taste senses - spicy, tangy, sweet and sour, accentuated with traditional spices, treated in a contemporary ambiance. Offering traditional Thai cuisine in a modern aesthetical environment was the reasoning behind the conceptualization and successful launch of Lemongrass Thai Restaurant in Dubai. Fresh earthy tones and energizing hues have been combined with natural materials to create a warm and welcoming feel, thereby replacing rustic interiors and gold commonly associated with Thailand. Lemongrass the only Thai restaurant in Dubai that does not artificially enhance any of their dishes by adding Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWFUL EXPERIENCE!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Its a birthday dinner with the family that ends up in a really terrible experience. To start with, the staff are very rude (kani and especially JIMMY!) and not attentive or even flexible to the guests needs, he doesnt know how to speak PROFESSIONALLY to the guests and its really unacceptable! Staff are also not aware about the food they serve, (we asked for a baby's soup, and they served a sour soup). Also, a comment from the filipino guy to the other staff that we are already dinning for 1 hour and 30 minutes! How unrespectful and offensive!
Definite wont come back again and recommend this Restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gravity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Not the nicest setting for a good informal Thai restaurant. But what else to do inside a mall?? This said, it is by far our first pick in Mushrif mall: it's tasty, menu is varied, service is efficient and staff is friendly. We will go back with the kids within the next 6 months for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GoHAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
285 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Average Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I agree with some of the other posters that Lemongrass is pretty good for Mall food, but would still rate the experience average. The service was excellent - fast and efficient and our starter was really tasty, but our mains were not. I ordered the Pad Thai which was just strange - covered with an egg and some sweet sauce I didn't like and couldn't place. Wasn't like any Pad Thai I'd ever had. We would go again if we were in Mall and got hungry, but I don't think we'll seek it out specifically.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
137 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great value Thai; one of the best mall dining options in Abu Dhabi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Abu Dhabi has long been short of good Thai restaurants, although that seems to be changing with the opening of a couple of high profile openings in hotels over the last year. There's still very little at the lower price/takeaway end of the market though, and Lemongrass fills this gap exceedingly well.

Eating in malls can be a bit soul-destroying, but Lemongrass on the top floor of Mushrif mall has been set out and furnished like a stand-alone restaurant and does full waitered service as well as a busy take-away trade.

Most importantly the food is good. On this visit three of us shared complimentary prawn crackers to start, followed by Chicken Pad Thai, Prawns in garlic and a Green Chicken Curry. All the food was very good indeed, and I particularly liked the way the Pad Thai came wrapped up in an omelette.

The bill came to around Dh150 (USD40) which is great value for the quality of food we had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
549 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai food in nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Lemongrass Thai Restaurant probably has the best combination of Thai food, ambience and value for money in Abu Dhabi. The place is nicely decorated in Thai style, the food is great and the prices are very reasonable compared to the existing hotel Thai restaurants. All the dished we have tried so far has been great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johan6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lemongrass Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Lemongrass Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing