We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - An experience not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

With an opening at the beginning of March 2013, this truly amazing hotel offers the WOW factor and will no doubt become an extremely popular venue as word will soon spread.

As with other Ritz-Carlton hotels, the staff and service is always excellent - in fact, the staff at this property go the extra mile.

Facing the amazing Grand Mosque, the setting is superb. At sunset the lights are dimmed in the grand lobby, candles are lit and the pianist plays a range of classics accompanied by a truly amazing singer [and this is from a person who does not listen to classical music].

The Bars, Restaurants, Rooms, Services are as you would expect from a Five + Star hotel, however, there is complete comfort and ease and no pretention.

This is a place to relax, whoever you are.Would I go back? CERTAINLY.

In fact I'm going back in April.

Room Tip: Grand Canal view or Grand Canal view - take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,631 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

I had the distinct pleasure of staying at this hotel for a week five days after its opening. The hotel staff went out of their way to provide the guests with best possible service. They were indeed very upbeat about the opening and hosting the first batch of guests.

The hotel has very spacious villas with a bedroom, a living room, a large bathroom, a powder room, and even a good size kitchen area with a sink, a microwave, and a mini-bar, but no separate refrigerator. The villa and most other places in the hotel have a mild creamy yellow color marble flooring. You also see beautiful multi-color floral marble patterns in the common areas of the hotel (the grandoise lobby and hallways next to restaurants). The room had a Nespresso machine with Nespresso capsules allowing you to make espresso any time you wish.

The hotel is some 15 minute driving distance from downtown Abu Dhabi, but it is right next to the Grand Mosque, which is undoubtedly the most interesting site to visit in Abu Dhabi. The hotel is on the Grand Call, which is about 100 meter wide. You can take a dip in the Grand Canal, but that would not give the same feeling as swimming in an endless see or ocean. The hotel has a huge beautiful swimming pool (at least olympic size) on the back side and next to the Grand Canal, but I did not have time to take advantage of it. The hotel has a cavernous fitness room, which I did not get to use. I believe I counted at least eight types of elliptical machines with many from each type, many bikes, and different types of machines for weight training. Needless to say, all of this was brand new and of high quality.

The hotel has several restaurants: Asian, Italian, Lebanese, Buffet-style, and a gelato/pastry store. I had dinner at the Lebanese Restaurant one evening. The food presentation and service were great, but the Lamb Meshui dish I had was not the best I have ever had.

Now a couple of recommendations for the hotel: (i) It would be good to add a desk in each room, maybe even at the expense of removing one of the large chairs. These days, even non-business travelers have their laptops with them, and it would be good to be able to put the laptop t a desk with a chair. (ii) I am not sure what the point of kitchenette in the room was. It had many cabinets and drawers, but they were all empty. Does the hotel plan to put some dishes and utensils in there? I realize that no one would wish to cook anything, but one may wish to buy food in town and take it to the hotel room. At any rate, empty kitchen cabinets and drawers do not make sense. (iii) The hotel should add an appropriate electric plug in the bathroom so that one can use the hair dryer in the bathroom as opposed to having to com to the bedroom top use it, or you can change the hair dryer so that it would work with the plug you already have in the bathroom. (iv) I know many hotel charge for Internet access, but it would be great if you can make Internet access (wired or wireless) freely available in the villas, or at least you should not charge 100 DHS (about US$27) per day for Internet access in the room.

Altogether, Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi at the Grand Canal is a great place to stay if you visit Abu Dhabi. I highly recommend it. I paid at our corporate rate, which I could not get at the Emirates Palace Hotel that would have cost 50% more. I suspect these are the two best hotels in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Savvy_Traveler_Int
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Arrived at this grand property four days ago. From the moment we drove through the picturesque arches, our experience was amazing. The grand lobby was simply breathtaking. The greeting upon our arrival was kind, courteous and very professional. The staff should be commended. I can see that the Ritz Carlton has the best of the best. Every need was met.
The villa's are stunning. The chandelier in the living room was beautiful. No detail was left undone.
The food is excellent. Dining at Li Jiang was possibly one of the best experiences of the trip!
The pool is stunning. We loved dining poolside. Breakfast had every possible meal.
Room service and our room steward were also top notch. Preferences remembered, which is priceless.
Overall, I believe that the Ritz Carlton has outdone itself with this property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelAnn808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Ive been for a reccy at the new Abu Ritz Carlton as it's finally open. Very grand. Should be good when word spreads. Ten restaurants n bars now open. The Lebanese and Buffet restaurants have evening outdoor seating. Pool bar and alfresco mexican only open till sunset, which seems odd.

Villas now bookable for overnight stay. Hotel rooms not ready yet.

Pool has overhead shade but sadly no swim up bar.

Pretty much complete with loose ends to finish off

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSDuesseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre "de luxe" toutes ont la même vue, agréable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JPby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.6 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#21 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#2 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,270 reviews
8.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,009 reviews
11.2 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal

Address: Al Maqta Area | PO Box 91888, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £150 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal 5*
Number of rooms: 532
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing