We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but not first class experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, but not first class experience”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

On the positive side: magnificent building, big and beautiful rooms with a pleasant view!
The negatives: stayed for two nights, but they never cleaned my room... They charge extra for a very poor Internet connection, and it was very difficult to get the right water temperature in the shower.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    345
    136
    53
    45
See reviews for
510
604
60
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was my first time there for a gala dinner. I was impressed by it all. Great entry, lighting, staffing, decor. Unfortunately couldnt stay till dinner, but I heard it was good too.
the ballroom was grandeur and massive enough for a couple of hundred people easily.
Tried out the bar, which was tastefully decorated, like the interiors, very classy. Cant wait for it to be actually get filled up with some crowds and then re-visit.
Best to look up directions, or its easy to get lost for a newcomer as theres just one sign telling you to take a Uturn and then nothing and you may thing you are lost, and keep driving...;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmyjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukraine- Egypt- Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I have never seen anything more beautiful in my whole life !!!!!
I would love to be there as much as possible!! Its decorated so good and so nice . its so big and so warming atmosphere , a lot of security a lot of people working for you , it feels like a queen !
The beds are so comfortable !!! usually I am not so easy to sleep in a new place , but this bed you are flying in the dream ... this wonderful

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerNatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here from 6-11 May 2013 as part of Silver Wedding present. The hotel is impressive with good amenities and staff are helpful and friendly. They decorated a tree with good messages and decorated strawberries with white/milk chocolate on them - really good gesture. We had room 2314 - which was good apart from the shower smelling of sewerage and ammonia which made the room smell - we reported this and thought the management had fixed this but appeared again after two days. Do not choose this room until sewerage smells have been rectified. We were thankfully moved to a villa for the remainder of our stay.

We noticed on our room bill that we had been charged for drinks at breakfast - we already prepaid the holiday company for half board at the Ritz-Carlton. After complaining bitterly, this was rectified - but were told by the front desk staff that some customers will pay the extra charges! My advice is check the final bill.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 2314 until the problem of smelling sewerage in the shower has been rectified. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ski_Bunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed here for a week from 28thApril. It was our first time to this part of the world and we were not sure what to expect. The hotel is very grand , huge chandeliers staff having their own uniform for their own area, very impressive. Our room block had been opened two days earlier and we had a few problems with the room - smelly toilets, showers that flooded the bathroom. The staff were extremely polite and couldn't do enough for us. The restaurants in the hotel were not all open yet the steak restaurant was closed as was the spa. We ate in the li Jaing restaurant, the food was great, they even had a female DJ in the corner playing dance tracks all night ? Not too sure about that but hey ! This hotel is a lot quieter than the others we visited, which had much more going on by way of bars and restaurants but the fact that this hotel is new and not completely open yet, makes it quieter would probably appeal to some. For a quieter break this is great but if ou want a livelier break , there are better hotels in Abu Dabi.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We started with a tour of the grounds. I had taken a pre-tour when there were still construction workers around and it was great to see the finished product. We had a lovely buffet lunch at the all-day restaurant followed by homemade ice cream and a caramel croissant at Dolce wrapped up with tea in the tea lounge. We will definitely be back - great service, location, atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMAKFAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

We had a day entry to the pool which cost 150 dhr , the staff greeted us and showed us the facilities, they were very helpful and friendly. We ordered pool side food which was excellent. Over all an excellent staff and service, and a lovely pool with beach

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.6 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,294 reviews
10.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#22 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,338 reviews
9.7 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
8.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Address: Al Maqta Area | PO Box 91888, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal 5*
Number of rooms: 532
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing