We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Booked a club room for 1 night stay with my wife. Stefano handled our last minute reservation for us. He was great and even stopped by to see us when we checked in to make sure everything was great. His level of service was great. Come to think of it, every single person we interacted with was also just amazing.

Even if we were not impressed with the facilities And restaurants we would go back for this reason alone. However, pool and food was all outstanding too. Our new favorite hotel in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    347
    136
    53
    46
See reviews for
514
605
60
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I booked a standard room and enjoyed the hotel. No major complaints but those "it just opened" kind of issues that made me feel that in a few months, this would be a premium place to stay.

The location is great for the Grand Mosque, but staying closer to the Gulf would have been nice as well (such as Emirates Palace area). Either way, taxis are so cheap in the U.A.E., staying close to everything isn't a major concern. To take a taxi from the Palm in Dubai to here was 180 dirhams (about 50 usd).

The room was a pretty standard room for a Ritz Carlton, a nice balcony with view of the canal and pool area. The bathroom was above standard.

The service was a little slow, especially at check in. They weren't that busy but you could tell they weren't even used to that. It wasn't anything of major concern but just the little issues that added up.

The lobby is the best part, which was one of the best I've ever seen with the giant chandeliers and white marble everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have stayed in many of the top hotels in Abu Dhabi and as is my custom if i can i stay when one of these properties is new, for a few reasons, quiet, new rooms, etc., Also a good deal can be had! On this occasion the best deal was on the Ritz carlton own website so always have a look there too. We opted for club level for quiet times just chilling and we were not disappointed. There were a few business people around but not too busy yet but i think this will be a popular regular for some serious business people and meetings.
Our room was very nice, as some have commented before me not on the large side but everything you need, personally i prefer a super king bed so maybe next time we would have the double double. We tried one breakfast in the buffet, like many in the UAE something for everyone. We had room service one night which arrived ok and cleared without much trouble. The pool area and beach are lovely and we had a near constant breeze for june which made it very pleasant to sun bath at this time of year. Mostly i want to praise the staff from the greeting at the door to taking up to check in in the lounge a wonderful send off when we left.
Jacopo you and some of your team, Etri,Henry and not forgetting the Swiss Intern as mentioned in the local paper(his name is - Daniel by the way) are all fantastic staff and i think some club lounges should be taking their lead from these guys. I felt like i was very much at home and when time allowed we had a few chats. The food in here is fab and the drinks service great, the views across the Grand Canal make a lovely scene at any time of the day or evening. I have to say this Hotel is in my top 3 for Abu Dhabi, Emirates palace still number one and Eastern mangroves 2, Ritz you are my no 3 for now but i shall definitely return in the future, if you are thinking of booking and can afford it pay the extra for the club lounge you will not be disappointed. Sorry we did not visit any of the restaurants but they look amazing! I did check out the gym, wow 24 hrs if you like, it was spacious and inviting, wish i was staying for months just to join in the up coming classes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlietraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Great property however very bad services and nothing to be called like ritz Carlton. The standard is bad, food quality is the worst and no services. The hotel has to upgrade the staff skills. Will I go back to this hotel.? I don't think so

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nabil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had rooms booked to in a local hotel Fairmont Bab Abu Bahr, a couple of days before the trip they simply cancelled with no offer of anything else..It appears that there was a conference there, we know we were part of the conference and organisers of one of the main events.. After pointing this out the Fairmont panicked (appears they dump people to get a better rate)..
Anyhow we were subsequently moved to the Ritz....all we can say is STAY HERE...it was fantastic, fab rooms, mini bar, restaurant, frankly after being moved later in the stay to the Fairmont we wished the conference had been at the Ritz... well done

Room Tip: any, even the lowest priced rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights on a trip to see schools and villas ahead of our move to Abu Dhabi later this year. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Every member of staff we came across was friendly and courteous. Our room was superb, and importantly for me, had the best air conditioning we have ever experienced in a hotel! Just one suggestion, the restaurants aren't clearly named, which made it difficult to work out which was which when we were looking for somewhere to eat on our first evening. It was the little touches that set the hotel apart, an example being the attentive pool attendants who took great care in laying out towels on the loungers, then bringing an iced lolly to refresh us, followed by an iced bottle of water. Doesn't sound like much, but it worked for us!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pjchambers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We returned only yesterday from a week at the Ritz Carlton. Despite booking our holiday last year we had a call 12 before we were due to fly to Abu Dhabi, telling us that our original hotel had 'double booked'. My heart sank until the travel agent told us we were being put up at the Ritz:
The hotel has only been opened since March, so it is still very shiny and new - therefore, very clean as you would expect.
The pool is very large and the staff are extremely attentive. Fruit, ice-lols and even getting your sunglasses cleaned are all part of the service whilst chilling on your sun loungers. There are some beds which have a proper canopy rather than an umbrella and when we went to lie on one we were told that they were for 'special packages' only! you have to pay a premium for the 'special' beds furthest away from the pool.
Unfortunately it isn't an ideal place if you want peace and quiet - as mentioned on recent review, the hotel is extremely close to the local airport-some of the smaller private jets were very noisy - only once were we woken up before 7am by the noise though. The most noise came from the 'boy racers' on jet skis on the grand canal - we found this more annoying ( and more frequent) than any of the aircraft flying over the hotel.
The buffet restaurant was ok - good quality food, but not nearly enough variety. We were only there for a week but we struggled with choice (or lack of it). They did have an a la carte menu - but this was also quite limited.
All of the staff were again excellent and it didn't take them long to know your requirements e.g tea or coffee with breakfast.
There were only a couple of other restaurants open but they still had limited choice on their A la carte menu. If you are on half board you can only eat in the buffet restaurant. There is a nice Italian coffee shop on the ground floor - you can have ice-cream, waffles or lovely cakes!!
Having been to the UAE a few times - we found the bar prices to be reasonable. By this I mean it was less than £5 for a beer - we have paid over £7 in other hotels.
There is free wi-fi in public areas if you get the code from reception.
The rooms are all very nice - it depends on how much time you spend in your room to decide if they are adequate for your requirements. For those on a 'proper holiday', they are absolutely fine. Upon saying that our air conditioning did decide to throw a bit of a wobbly for a couple of nights so we were a little warm - they did try to sort it but it was our last couple of nights so were weren't too bothered about moving rooms when they offered this.
Our biggest moan - which has already been mentioned, was the fire alarms!!!!!! more or less every day but also during the night on a couple of occasions - midnight and 5 am. We felt for people who had children. The hotel did sort of apologise - but only if you noticed the message left on the guest services section on your tv.
The gym is great (very big)- it has state of the art equipment as well as free weights. There is a steam room and sauna too.
Please also note that Friday is their weekend and hotels do tend to get extremely busy. Most of the week there were only about 20/30 people around the pool. This week the pool was full on Thursday and Friday.(due to there being a holy day - there was an extra days holiday)
There was a nasty moment with a child in the pool on the Thursday evening - but to be honest, from what we saw, the parents were just not taking enough control over their own children. The poor life guards appeared to be being ignored by everyone. We don't feel that the hotel should be marked down in any way for this incident.
The spa hasn't opened yet and there are no shops on site - I am sure the hotel will try to oblige though if you have forgotten any essentials.
There isn't really anything in walking distance but you are very close to the Grand Mosque - definitely worth a visit. There are some Souks on the other side of the grand canal - about £4 in a taxi.
All in all we had a great week and enjoyed it all.
If you have been to Emirates Palace or maybe the Madinat Jumeirah in Dubai - this place does not really compare to them, but we still have no real complaints.

Almost forgot - they make you feel like a kid in a sweet shop - literally, as there are jars of sweets scattered about the place. I think they may have been meant for the children - but we enjoyed haven a marshmallow or two!!

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JayandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.6 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,304 reviews
10.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#22 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,342 reviews
9.7 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
11.2 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Address: Al Maqta Area | PO Box 91888, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal 5*
Number of rooms: 532
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing