We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand and elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Grand and elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had afternoon tea in alba in the lobby it was amazing and very reasonable, it is a fraction of the cost than the Ritz in London, friendly staff they were so accommodating. Stunning stunning hotel, amazing view and surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santinabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    313
    130
    53
    41
See reviews for
480
564
56
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

First time to Abu Dhabi, usually in Dubai. Ritz was the perfect retreat. Kids loved the pool and kids club, but best of all was the Club Lounge and the staff in the lounge. Absolutely superb, not just the food, the lounge decor and size but its the staff that really make a place and these guys/girls were totally super. The kids were excited just to go and see the staff, maybe i should have left them their! Really looking forward to going back and staying at the Ritz again and was very very relaxing, just what we needed! My only recommendations would be maybe a couple of baby chairs in the lounge for breakfast and some music at the poolside, pretty minor for sure! Well Done ! Hotel is beautiful.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Club Level Room or Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

we recently made our second visit to this hotel. To keep it brief - this is an excellent hotel. the service is faultless and do not miss Li Jiang and the Forge restuarants. Check in was quick, friendly and welcoming. Due to our flight we checked in quite late in the evening. the hotel was very busy but this did not detract from the service.
we were a bit disappointed at first not to get a balcony with our executive suite but after a day we didn't miss as the two room suite was so comfortable - however next time I will ask for a Club executive suite with a balcony. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The New Year dinner was really something to behold with a magnificent buffet - our waitress took time to walk us around the many stations to show exactly what was available which did make it quite difficult to choose - weightwatchers here we come

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mustgoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

ita more than a 5 star hotel in my opinion, more like from a fairy tale with the uniforms of its staff from alladin and the magic lamp to the clean cut marble flooring and chandliers.... i personally have been to the hotel wide range of cafes and restraunts and enjoy it more every time

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just come back from 9 nights in this hotel and stayed in a one bedroom villa. The Villa was lovely. However, they could do with putting a little more effort into the gardens around the Villas for privacy as the plants in our Villa Wall tubs had all died off leaving the patio exposed (room 1065)

The hotel is new, so their is still development in progress (almost complete and only on one side of the hotel) The staff were amazing and a lot of hotels could learn from them, as they made you feel special. I hope they do a boat trip across the creek to the Souk for a nominal fee - this would be a great selling point along with some water sports facilities.

The Forge restaurant was world class and was in my top ten meals! The location was OK and you could get to most places within 25min Taxi ride. This is my first time to Abu Dhabi as most years we go to Dubai for Christmas, so as a comparison if you want a chill out destination - you have just found it.............

Room Tip: Ask for a room that gets the sun from PM onwards otherwise you may get a room that gets no direct su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi from Boxing Day to New Year's Day with our seven year old daughter. First impressions as you come up the imposing drive are of a massive hotel on top of a hill, but once inside the hotel feels remarkably personable and welcoming. The reception area is amazing, and sets the scene for the rest of the hotel which is opulent without being tasteless.

Our room was nicely furnished, though not huge, with a balcony overlooking the pool. I'm not sure if it's just this time of year, but most evenings there is entertainment into the evening which is pretty loud. It didn't bother us but it might if you have smaller (or less exhausted) kids!

All the staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. We don't usually stay in top end hotels but at no time was I made to feel uncomfortable. Nothing was too much trouble.

What surprised me the most about the Ritz Carlton was how child friendly it was, from the jars of sweets in the lobby, to the staff's attentiveness towards children. It also has a great kids club. Whilst this ostensibly had a programme, with timed sessions, in reality it's one where the kids can drop in and out throughout the day. It's also open in that evenings which is good if you want to eat out without kids!

The pool area is one of the best things about this hotel. The pool itself is saltwater and is spotlessly clean. The area around the pool has loungers and other relaxed seating areas. The hotel also has its own small private beach onto the canal. It did get quite full by mid morning and it could be an issue if the hotel were fuller.

There is a great choice of restaurants and the food was absolutely top quality (though not cheap). Breakfast is a large buffet in the main Giornote restaurant (better than the usual bland hotel breakfast buffet offerings). This restaurant also does an extensive evening buffet. There are also a number of other specialist restaurants (steak, oriental food, Lebanese). There is also a really nice bar (no kids allowed in here), a tea room (afternoon teas) and a nice cream parlour.

The location is good, on the inland side of Abu Dhabi island on the canal. It's a little away from the main city, but everything (the Corniche, malls, Yas Island etc) are all a short 30-40 dirham (<£10) taxi ride away. It's also very close to the Grand Mosque, which is amazing.

The only niggles I had were the food and drink service poolside, which was nothing less than shambolic. They seemed understaffed and didn't have a system for working out who had ordered what. I was also surprised by the lack of towels in a room with three people in (two the day we arrived and one one after one clean!). That said housekeeping were quick to bring additional ones when asked. Finally, it's annoying to be presented with breakfast charges on your bill when you are on a bed and breakfast rate, but this was resolved without hassle. These little things are the only reason for a four star rating rather than five.

All in all this made for an amazing family holiday. If you're there on New Year's Eve don't miss out on the spectacular New Years Eve party. I've never seen a buffet like it!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolframwolfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a great experience in this hotel. Beatiful rooms, great view, nicest staff you can have. We have stayed in many nice hotels around the world, and this hotel is definitely up there with the best hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.6 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
10.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#21 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
8.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#3 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
9.6 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Address: Al Maqta Area | PO Box 91888, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal 5*
Number of rooms: 532
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Destinology, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing