We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what expected”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

It is a place I recommend only for families at most

we went there for a relaxing weekend but on the contrary I need a relaxation after leaving this hotel. There is only one pool and filled with kids and shouting all over, and the kids play grounds all around the beach and pool.

All restaurants that have outdoor seating, you feel like sitting a huge corridor so we had to go to a nearby hotel for dinner.

In addition to some drawback in the rooms and room dine-in menu

But the some of the staff are trying their best and I thank them

Over all I don't recommend this hotel much

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank _Shade_Shade_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz-CarltonADGC, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience, we regret to know the inconveniences during your stay also that you weren’t able to relax in the pool area

I’m taking note and for sure your feedback will help us with our room of improvement, If it’s possible I’d like to get in contact with you please send me your contact details to rc.auhrz.exec.office@ritzcarlton.com. looking forward hearing from you

Warm Regards

Pep Lozano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    346
    136
    53
    45
See reviews for
510
604
60
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Returned to the Ritz after spending Christmas here. Club level staff are amazing and go that extra mile for all guests. Exceptional hotel, facilities and in particular the lounge staff that looked after us, the kids are already missing you! Thanks to all for a great rest and back soon! X

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank P X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This place is a gem in the desert, very peaceful, away from the hassle and hectic of Dubai and Abu Dhabi. About 90 minutes from Dubai airport and 15 minutes from AD... The reception was very attractive and welcoming the new guests except that most of the staff are not trained well, they are very young and need sometimes with experienced staff... The front desk person was not aware of many things to check us in, had to get a senior member who was not very friendly with his colleague or us...First disappointment. He did not give much details or flexibility or options on what you can or can not get with your accommodation. Anyhow, it took about 40 minutes to finalize the check-in (longest I got in many of our trips), got to the one bedroom villa we reserved, it was very spacious and well equipped, did not like the lighting/electric automated system, confusing, some lights did not work, VERY FEW ELECTRIC PLUGS, NO PLUGS in the bathroom (they said for safety reasons), OK but what about the bedroom and the living-room and the kitchen, there are no EXTRA plugs anywhere even for the HAIR DRYER or to charge your computer, your phone!!!? Second disappointment.
4 O clock AM, knocking on the door, thought I was dreaming, knocking continues, got up and opened the door, very dark, barely see 2 dark guys with heavy Indian accent telling me that I have asked for extra Pillows??? That was the day before??? I told them, this is not the time for exchanging pillows or conversation, then they asked if they can change the bed now!!! then I got very upset and told them to leave. Complained to the hotel management next day, Third disappointment.
A friend of ours came all the way from Dubai to pick us up and have lunch with his family, he was told that we already checked out and no longer in the Hotel!!!!!!!! We spoke to each other just before he left his house in Dubai, he called me on my cell phone and told me about that, we were very furious and frustrated with this unprofessional conducts, complained to the hotel management the same day, Fourth disappointment.
As for the restaurants, breakfast was great in a large area with many varieties of food and beverages, restaurant service and quality of food in general is very good. The Chinese restaurant and the steakhouse are the best.
The swimming pool is huge with appropriate amenities and service, the children play area is adequate but could be bigger and better, the private beach is very clean but the area is small if you have a full house guests. Room Service was not that great, the food was average and the same order was different each time and not according to our requests/changes.
The New Year's Eve Party was spectacular in every way and made our trip memorable.
The hotel management responded to our complains and were very apologetic and offered some complementary items at the restaurants and promised that next time would be much better experience if we allow them the opportunity to come again and contact the management directly for reservation. One of the executive managers has contacted me by phone and visited us in the restaurant and apologized in person and offered us a drink and/or dessert.
I like to send our appreciation for some excellent staff members at this resort, Mr. Mohamed Abed at housekeeping, Mr. Sari at the food/restaurant management.
Of course, Sheikh Zaied Mosque add a special touch to this resort and its location, the mosque is magnificent and to hear the Adhan is just unprecedented experience, must visit this beautiful architecture. The resort offers a free ride to/from the mosque.

Room Tip: I do not know about the rooms, but the Villas are great and accommodating for a family or a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SetiTheFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After a long a busy week we planned a short break to Abu Dhabi, however we were contemplating between 2 hotels although finally selected the Ritz Carlton Abu Dhabi which surely was a great choice.
The hotel is stunning in every aspect of its design, structure and location. We had booked for a garden facing room and it was perfect as we had lovely view of the lush hotel landscaping and also the pool side.
Complementing the beautiful hotel deign and interior was their amazing restaurants. We had a great dining experience at The Forge and were happy that we choose to dine their. It was surprising that the restaurant was not busy on a weekend as the food was simply delicious - Special mention to the Crab cake and the Chocolate souffle.
I would surely recommend everyone to book the cabana by the pool side as this surely upgrades your experience by the pool. They set up the cabana with a nice fruit basket, flavorful facial spray and an I-pod docking station.

The highlight of our stay were the colleague who we interacted with and must surely commend them for their ever attentive service. The colleague by the pool Ramaya (Nepali gentleman, hope i have spell the name correct) and Ashish (Server at The Forge) need special mention.

It was also nice to see a lot of management presence in the hotel and even more so as they were extremely keen in interacting with various guest in and around the hotel.

Room Tip: Although we did not book a club room this time however this a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allwyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Lovely hotel and well worth the Club room and Lounge where the staff were great. Room very nice but Santa arriving at 10.00 am Christmas Day down at the pool was a bit of a wake up call!
Lots of available sun beds but the design of the hotel means in the winter that the sun does go down quickly behind the building so only one side in in sunshine in the afternoon.

Used the in house tour company for a City tour which was really not very good and would not recommend. Guide was not very knowledgeble and the trip to the Mosque took up far too much time.

Other staff were always very friendly and we would certainly look at returning

Room Tip: Club rooms a definite go for - Club lounge available all day for breakfast and refreshments
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicnicuk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

While in Abu Dhabi for Easter, visited Giornotte restaurant in the Ritz Carlton. We weren't staying in the hotel, we stayed in one close by but decided to go for dinner one night and it so good we went back the following night. The first time we had the a la carte menu, food was excellent, extensive wine and cocktail list and great value for money. For 3 of us on 2 courses each and a bottle of cava it was about £160.
Service was excellent and Sumit, our waiter, was very attentive and couldn't do enough for us.
The restaurant also has a buffet option and Sumit was good enough to give us a tour of the buffet. Have to say it wasn't like any other buffet I've seen, with a vast choice of soup, salad, local dishes, seafood (including some great looking mussels and langoustines), meat, chicken, veg and all kinds of desserts. It looked that good we booked for the following evening and wasn't disappointed. It was some of the best food I've had and was on a par with the a la carte from the previous night, and still great value for money.
All in all we had two fantastic meals and would definitely recommend whether you're a hotel guest or not. It's a good idea to make a reservation especially if you want an outside table on the terrace, which gives you a great atmosphere overlooking the hotel gardens.
Great food, great service and thanks to Sumit for looking after us

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MazC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at this reasonably imposing hotel for a week at the beginning of April 2014. Innumerable comments on this site concerning the fact the hotel only opened just over a year ago.
In our experience, this did not detract from a consistently high level of service throughout our stay. The hotel does, however, lack a certain charm which is probably attributable to a combination of its size, newness, location and style.
We had club level accommodation which was good (not exceptional) and access to the club lounge which was worthwhile. There were a number of positives to our stay, including; the abundance of good quality sunbeds around the pool, extremely high levels of cleanliness throughout the entire hotel, excellent customer service in all respects and some exceptional dining experiences in The Forge (steakhouse) and Li Jiang (Asian cuisine). Lunch at Al Fresco was also good. The spa is also worth a visit, great massage and very reasonably priced.
There were two main aspects to our stay that spolit it and would stop us from returning. Firstly, the disproportionate number of young, noisy children around the pool all day, every day. Whilst the pool is of a good size, there is no attempt at any form of segregation to provide an adults only area. The cabnal, with fast flowing water (at least when we were there is not a suitable substitute). Secondly, the adverse impact the size of some of the business conferences have on holidaymakers. Towards the end of our stay a delegation of circa 400 arrived. This meant at breakfast we were pushed right out to an outlying table which made us feel very much like second class guests.
We visited 'downtown' Abu Dhabi one evening. A twenty minute (cheap) taxi ride away and enjoyed an evening in the Etihad Tower, drinks 62 floors up at Ray's Bar was great, followed by a superb buffet meal at Rosewater (part of the Jumeirah Hotel there).
Overall, we did enjoy our stay and are glad we visited Abu Dhabi. However, I cannot see us returning to this particular Ritz-Carlton hotel anytime soon. Finally, make sure you check your bill upon departure. We were half board and would have been overcharged had we not scrutinised an itemised bill. The Club Lounge staff rectified painlessly and attributed the error to software.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S1mpleM1nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.6 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,298 reviews
10.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#22 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,339 reviews
9.7 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
8.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Address: Al Maqta Area | PO Box 91888, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal 5*
Number of rooms: 532
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing