We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant treat! I'd return for more.”
Review of Nolu's Cafe

Nolu's Cafe
Ranked #120 of 2,061 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A unique blend of healthy Californian cuisine with an Afghani twist with 2 locations in Abu Dhabi.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A pleasant treat! I'd return for more.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have never heard of Nolu's before. And I wondered hard why because the food is just amazing!

We had the grilled chicken, lamb and salad - all to our fullest satisfaction. They were just succulent, fresh and of hefty serving sizes they're meant to be shared (unless if you have a Sumo wrestler's appetite).

To top it all, being a health buff, I never felt bad after eating the very last pieces. As sinful as they may get, it is worth it! Ha!

If anything, I just find the servers a little bit quirky. At some point they seem to be really warm and genuine and then slightly arrogant and assuming. Anyhow, I yet need have to return and confirm if my feelings were right.

And, oh, the carrot cake was such a treat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nouel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    41
    17
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service - best at Al Bandar”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We ate here as a couple - never had Afghani food before so we were in for a treat. We found the menu a little difficult to navigate as they have main courses on the starter page, but once we had done that we chose the dumplings to start then the qabili pallow (slow cooked lamb shank with rice carrots and raisins) and beef patties also with rice, and yoghurt. Portion sizes were generous and unless you have a huge appetite I'd recommend sharing a starter. Try and make room for the delicious baked cheesecake for dessert! There is a lovely view over the water, and the service was excellent - far better than it's neighbour Bricco. They also have a nice looking brunch and kids menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamGB
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“VERY TASTY!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Took our son and family here on our last night in Abu Dhabi, as it was near to their home. What an excellent evening we had. All the food was well prepared and presented. the Chicken breast Kebob (not my spelling!) was very special having a really special and delicious taste.
The salads here are excellent and LARGE!
Good dessert selection.
Service was pleasant but a little slow at times.
A very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davenottinghamGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inconsistent Shambles”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Service: Inconsistent at best. There are a few Excellent staff but generally it is a slow shambles.

Ingredients: sometimes missing altogether, or replaced with cheaper substitutes without advising the guest or offering alternative dining options.

This place has Great potential but is overpriced and the consistency of product and service needs to be addressed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Awesome afghani food”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was the first time that I was trying Afghani food and we simply loved it. For starters we ordered the afghani dumplings called mantoo and bolani which was more like potato and spicy veggies stuffed in thin parathas.We also tried the quabili pallow which was lamb cooked with afghani rice which was quite good. The lamb was just perfect and the rice was quite nice which was cooked with carrots and raisins. We had some chicken kababs as well served with rice.Overall the ambience is good and I was surprised to find filmfare magazine stacked along with other usual magazines. The service is good and we didn't have to wait for long for the food to come in.We will definitely come here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nolu's Cafe also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Nolu's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing