We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coolest Rooftop Bar in AD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Impressions

Impressions
Ranked #467 of 2,040 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Unwind at this ultra stylish rooftop lounge featuring uninterrupted views of the mangrove lagoon and indulge in fine culinary delicacies including caviar, oysters and signature cheese. Sip exquisite beverages and enjoy a selection of fine cigars as you soak up the pleasant vibe. With large scale floor to ceiling windows, the terrace becomes a seamless extension of inside and invites you to relax at one of the most exclusive places in Abu Dhabi.
Ruwais, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Coolest Rooftop Bar in AD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Impressions was absolutely fantastic. Myriam is a rare and extraordinary bartender that takes pride in her performance and seems to make zero missteps in her service to her customers. The service was prompt, professional, warm and endearing. The ambiance of the lounge is modern, with just enough traditional lounge feel to make guests feel comfortable. Optional indoor/outdoor seating is also a plus, with outdoor seating stationed directly over the mangroves and waterways for interesting and peaceful nighttime views.

Officially now our favorite nighttime bar for relaxing and simply enjoying life.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Harris1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure Bar in Abu Dhabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The bar has a incredible entertainment with a Cuban singer. I like the cocktails made by a very professional barman.
They have a Cheese and wine night on Tuesday evening. Never eat so much French cheese with bottomless wines. Incredible. A event to come back to.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Vieeeeeeeew!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Unexpected stunning view over Abu Dhabi. Nice atmosphere great people and a value that can not be beaten on their cheese and wine evenings

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schlumpfi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Two questionable wines paired with great cheese selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

A group of about 10 of us went to Impressions for wine and cheese night on Tuesday night. I have been to several other wine and cheese nights in Abu Dhabi, so I did not think to call the restaurant to ask about the wine selection, since the wine selection at other comparable wine and cheese nights is extensive, especially at Dhs 150 per person. Well, when we arrived at the restaurant we were warmly greeted by the bartender, he had the best customer service of all the staff members, and even let us begin the wine and cheese evening 10 minutes early since we were the first to arrive. However, when I asked to see the selection of wines we could choose from, I was very disappointed to see that we only had a choice of two low quality wines, one white and one red. If you go to any other wine and cheese night in Abu Dhabi, the selection is abundant, this was actually shocking and had I known that the selection was only those two types of wine, I would have not gone there. We were set up to sit outside on the terrace. The view is nice, you look out into the mangroves and the city, and the weather was perfect. The outside area though is narrow and not a good place to sit with a large group. The cheese, fruit and bread display was way above average. The cheese was cut into individual pieces and the quality was outstanding. The fruit provided was sliced peaches and plums, and the bread selection complimented the cheese. Our group had an enjoyable evening however the server never smiled and was slow with refilling our glasses. Their wine and cheese night could be 100% improved by providing an actual selection of decent wines. Also on the downside was our experience leaving the hotel. A taxi was called for us and after waiting over 5-10 minutes for it to come one of the hotel employees ran up and stole our taxi! We were so upset, the staff called another taxi but we waited and waited and no one came. I asked if they had a car that they use to take people to the airport to take us back home, but they said no. I asked to speak to a manager but they said to just wait. I had to go inside to the reception to speak with a manager and she resolved the issue by providing us with an airport pick up car to take us home, compliments of the hotel. This is what we had first asked for! Not a pleasant end to a relaxing evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebastianSchwetje, Manager at Impressions, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Jessica,
Greetings from Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara and thank you for sharing your experience at Impressions. We are very sorry to hear that you did not like our wine & cheese promotion. Kindly rest assured we took your comments very seriously and can confidently say that we have improved our offers and services a lot.
In order to convince you of the same we would highly appreciate if you could get in contact with our Director of Food & Beverage, Mr. Fethi Cagri Yucel, at fyucel@anantara.com.

With the best regards,
Sebastian Schwetje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Impressions also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Impressions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing