We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Impressions

Impressions
Ranked #470 of 2,039 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Unwind at this ultra stylish rooftop lounge featuring uninterrupted views of the mangrove lagoon and indulge in fine culinary delicacies including caviar, oysters and signature cheese. Sip exquisite beverages and enjoy a selection of fine cigars as you soak up the pleasant vibe. With large scale floor to ceiling windows, the terrace becomes a seamless extension of inside and invites you to relax at one of the most exclusive places in Abu Dhabi.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Brilliant views over the mangroves, the promenade and the pool of the hotel. The staff were very attentive and prompt. The nibbles to go with the drinks were very welcome.
We went on Ladies Night which made it more affordable. As with all drinking places in Abu Dhabi its very expensive by western standards and your wallet will suffer much more than your liver.
I loved the cool air being pumped onto the balcony occasionally just to stop the atmosphere from becoming too stuffy.
Very smart. The entertainers weren't too shabby either.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Lacking Atmosphere For A Friday Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were booked into the Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara for one overnight (Fri 21 Feb '14) as we had tickets to see the Rolling Stones Concert on Yas Island.

After the Stones concert, we arrived back at the hotel around 11:45pm and were delighted to hear Impressions was still open for cocktails. We had worked up quite a thirst after all that singing along with the band!!!

It wasn't very busy and so while I sat at a table, hubby went up to the bar and placed our order. One beer, one gin & tonic.

We watched the staff clear tables and deliver drinks to the handful of other customers…but it appeared we were invisible. Finally, my husband went up to the bar to ask if there was a problem with our order. No explanation was given.

Husband's beer arrived in the bottle…NO glass. My G & T arrived with ice, NO lemon, NO straw. This is a 5* hotel and I would have expected our drinks to have arrived with a little more finesse.

It may be a cocktail lounge in name, but as far as I'm concerned the staff could care less about attention to detail and service. If they were in doubt about our drinks…it would have been prudent to ask us rather than offer us the bare minimum.

Thankfully this was our one nightcap before retiring. I would not recommend Impressions…it did not result in a positive experience for either my husband or myself.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenofCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruwais, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Coolest Rooftop Bar in AD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Impressions was absolutely fantastic. Myriam is a rare and extraordinary bartender that takes pride in her performance and seems to make zero missteps in her service to her customers. The service was prompt, professional, warm and endearing. The ambiance of the lounge is modern, with just enough traditional lounge feel to make guests feel comfortable. Optional indoor/outdoor seating is also a plus, with outdoor seating stationed directly over the mangroves and waterways for interesting and peaceful nighttime views.

Officially now our favorite nighttime bar for relaxing and simply enjoying life.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Harris1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure Bar in Abu Dhabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The bar has a incredible entertainment with a Cuban singer. I like the cocktails made by a very professional barman.
They have a Cheese and wine night on Tuesday evening. Never eat so much French cheese with bottomless wines. Incredible. A event to come back to.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Vieeeeeeeew!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Unexpected stunning view over Abu Dhabi. Nice atmosphere great people and a value that can not be beaten on their cheese and wine evenings

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schlumpfi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Impressions also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Impressions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing