We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has nice restaurants and souvenir shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Market

Central Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.00*
and up
Central Market Souk Walking Tour and UAE Costume Photography Experience
Ranked #13 of 53 Shopping in Abu Dhabi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has nice restaurants and souvenir shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I went to Dubai, UAE with our family from the end of Dec 2013 till the new year of 2014. We stopped by the Central Market during the day trip to Abu Dhabi. The facility was a little bit dark, but had some nice restaurants and souvenir shops. We had nice local food "kebab" and it's delicious. The Market is located near a beach park so we walked to the park and rambling in flont of the sea. It's nice experience.

Helpful?
Thank EuicciOcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    36
    44
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Disappointing Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

A leading travel guide suggested a visit to Abu Dhabi's Central Market (souk) after visiting the famous Grand Mosque. The Central Market has a variety of shops on three levels, but only the ground floor was fully occupied. Upper levels had many vacant tenant spaces. There was really no reason to take the escalators to the upper levels. The office complex mall across the street, which appears to be commonly owned, had more variety and more foot traffic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchid
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A great trip for shopping for souvenirs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Information about the central market old and new were a bit confusing but we managed to find the information needed. The new central market or Souk is located at the world trade centre. The ground floor is filled with nice shops that sells spices, souvenirs, etc. there are more modern shops than souvenir shops which was pity as we would have bought more souvenirs if there were more choices. Not many traditional clothes for sale. We found many if not all, the shops in the upper floors closed - on a Thursday afternoon. There are 5 restaurants serving Arabian, Indian, International food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orchid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is an attempt by Norman Foster - the celebrated British architect - to re-create the traditional Souk or market in a modern way. The building itself is interesting to wander around. Dim, cool, with shafts of light puncturing the lofty space.

However there were disappointingly few units open. Bizarrely a reviewer said the same thing on here way back in 2011. The ground floor is fine, but only about half the units on the 1st floor were occupied falling to about 10% on the floor above that. Unless you stop to have something to eat, you'll be done inside an hour.

The web site says it opens at 10am. Well, technically yes, the doors are open at that time, but I got there at 10.30am and was more or less the only person there. Suggest you go late afternoon or early evening - as I did later the same day - to ensure that as many units are open as possible - because there ain't that many!

I didn't really look at the price so can't comment on how expensive things were. If I had to sum it up in a few words I'd say 'upmarket tourist souvenirs'.

The rest of the market still seems to be under development. Some units on the outside appear close to opening, but what's taking them so long remains a mystery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank zazous66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

A good range of shops selling crafts from india and other countries,beautiful shops selling abbayas and jubbas,however extremely expensive for someone with limited funds and many to buy for.
Poor in terms that many shops were closed and business seemed to be poor on the other floors,this is regarded by hotels as a place where local people shop,it is a tourist souk with extortionate prices.

Great if you have unlimited funds!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pumpousbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Market also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Central Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing