We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly opulent !!!!!”
Review of Emirates Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Emirates Palace
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Truly opulent !!!!!”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We wanted to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary and as a surprise for my wife l choose the opulent Emirates Palace in Abu Dhabi. It took 20,000 workers 3years to build at a cost of $3 billion dollars! It is 1 kilometre from wing to wing and covers 100 hectors. It has 1.3 km of private beach and 394 rooms and suits. 128 kitchens and pantries serve 16 restaurants and bars. We had a pearl room on the west wing overlooking the gardens and pool area with sea views and white sandy beach. The room was spacious comfortable and some of the amenities included 24hr butler service, daily newspaper and replenishment of fruit and water. They have a vast choice of pillows for your comfort. It was indeed a great experience although some of the 1002 chandeliers the largest weighing 2.5 tons are over the top as are the two wall hung display carpets weighing 1 ton each. Prices in the restaurants and bars are in keeping with the hotels decor and opulence with breakfast for two costing us £80!!! All in all the staff were very pleasant and helpful, and on the day of our anniversary 6 butlers came into our room with a bottle of champagne singing “congratulations” – my wife was well embarrassed. If you are prepared to push the boat out for a special occasion this is the place to stay. If you are visiting Abu Dhabi and wanted to visit the Emirates Place to admire its splendour and decor have a coffee in the “Le Cafe” located on level 4. Here you can sample a cappuccino sprinkled with edible gold !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PH&LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,412
    436
    163
    67
    72
See reviews for
859
1,317
111
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The service is abysmal. We came for afternoon tea. Security at the front gate was rude. Complaints at the front desk were ignored. Afternoon tea was lovely but the service was non existent. Refills of hot water in the teapot appeared to be frowned on and the table lay uncleared for an hour during which we were offered nothing. Try to take a walk outside or around the hotel and security will stop you. It's an amazing looking hotel so have a look around until you are stopped and my advice would then be to leave - and go somewhere friendlier like the beach club at the Hilton next door.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timhackford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Just had 12 days at the Emirates Palace (second visit). What can I say? The hotel itself is unbelievably opulent. Gold everywhere. Excellent service from the staff - from the check-in onwards. The enormous size of the place makes it somehow soul-less, though. The hotel was offering complimentary half-board at the time of our visit (which meant that this time we could actually afford to eat there!) However, the food was distinctly average and certainly nothing like the pictures in the advertising. More than a few times people were escorted - crocodile-style - down to another (reduced options) restaurant because breakfast was too crowded in Le Vendome. At dinner, the lady carving joints took portion-control to an art form and woe betide the "Oliver" who asked for more! The seafood on offer (previously frozen, I would think), was served on a bed of ice which meant that everything was tasteless. I would opine that the menu was more geared to the European clientele rather than the English as the cheese, in particular, was of the soapy smoked variety and I ached for some Cheddar or Stilton. It also transpired (though we were only told by another guest) that there was a very limited choice available to half-board guests in some of the other restaurants. Room service food was excellent.

The gym and its facilities is excellent. Seating round the East Wing pool complex was "over-subscribed", though I think everyone was catered for eventually.

In short, would I recommend this hotel? Well, I've been back myself so, of course, I would. But, frankly, you do need to have shed-loads of money if you want to escape the dreary food offered for half-board and drink alchohol (which we don't).

Finally, due to problems with cancelled flights we were obliged to hang around the hotel longer than we planned on the last day and the hotel was most kind in facilitating this at no charge. We were very grateful for this. (And if anyone found a silver Casio Exilim camera, which I managed to lose, that would be fantastic ...)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Despite arriving at 9.00 am, check in is 2.00 we were found a room within 10 minutes and a friendly check in in the room.
View was not up to much across the car park but after a night flight we were just pleased to be able to shower and unpack. Room and bathroom starting to look very tired definitely time for a refurb.
We thought the butler system was fantastic, our butler Micheal, was very informative and always available.
Food was very variable in the self service restaurant, which is were you eat if you are half board. Often stone cold particularly the roast, the first 2 days were the worst but hey I lost 4lb, then. had a couple of excellent days. Staff were incredibly nice.
As everyone else has said beach is superb but why o why do they cram all the beds either end of the beach were you virtually sit on your neighbours lap when the bulk of the beach remains unused?
Yes it is soulless and dare I say it, bland. It all looks the same and when you get lost and you will, it is impossible to know to turn left or right but there are dozens of security guards to help you find your way.
We thought the price looked very good half board for what is a 5*+ but this is no longer a 5*+ barely scrapes 5*
We will revert to the Residance and Spa One and Only Royal Mirage, whilst it costs a couple of thousand more it is worth every penny of it.
We did not think this was value for money for instance if you are not half board and pay for your evening meal it will cost you £100 for two in the self service restaurant for the meal with a glass of wine each in what is a glorified canteen. In the Lebanese it will £150 although the quality here is good.
Make sure you take in a much booze as you are allowed a bottle of wine starts at circa £40.
Would we go back, no, its cheap but we would rather pay more to get what we want.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gettingitspent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Very nice! It's a typical arabic style hotel. Huge but very gorgeous. Staff very friendly and always with a smile. Beach is big and beautiful. Price, Pool area is okay! Sailing material is great. West part of the hotel is noisy because they build a new hotel next to the Emirates Palace. It's a bit to far away from the city.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mruckstuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We decided to have our last three days at the Emirates Palace when we visited Abu Dhabi, so we could see what it was all about. We had booked a ordinary Coral Room. We came early to check in and since we were early the room was not ready. But a Khaleej Deluxe Suite was, so we got a incredible upgrade! Since this was our honeymoon trip we got a fantastic last few days in Abu Dhabi. The hotel is big, a lot of restaurants and shops ++. The pool area is great, and the hotel has the best beach in the area. But the hotel is so huge, so I agree with other reviews that it lacks a little bit of soul. But anyway, we had a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank res_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I never got to have my second stay at the Emirates Palace although it had all been booked and confirmed. Overbooked. And I was not alone, judging by the stream of complimentary fruit baskets and chocolate trays heading into the hotel where I was sent on arrival, the Khalidiya Palace - which was unfortunately not what I was looking for. The Emirates Palace clearly knew pre-arrival that there was no room for me, and sadly didn't let me know. Very disappointing. Great service to try and make things right from the front desk staff, but hard to justify a booking here if you don't know that's where you will actually end up!

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank lindfieldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
9.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.6 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
0.5 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Palace

Property: Emirates Palace
Address: West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emirates Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace Abu Dhabi
Emirates Palace Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing