We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury declining somewhat”
Review of Emirates Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emirates Palace
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have been for the third time at the Emirate Palace, usually during Christmas and New Year, this time after the Chinese New Year, which ment a great number of Chinese guests. The hotel is still top class, though it seems that they are saving somewhat on staff. A very unfortunate thing was the road constructions around the hotel, so that you cannot walk at the moment to the Corniche, but always have to take a taxi, which however is extremely cheap, considering prices in Europe. We have been upgraded, due to the fact that we have already been in the hotel three times, however had to ask for an upgrade, else we would have been placed as ordered. We appreciated however that we received a room already very early in the morning, as we arrived already at 06:30 at the Airport of Abu Dhabi. Take halfboard and you will enjoy the great buffet at the French Restaurant.
It is the first time we went with our grow-up daughter and found also for the first time, that we could not share one room (although it would have been big enough), but had to order two rooms. This is rather unusual, as for families it is quite common everywhere that a room may be shared by 3 or even 4 members of family.
Abu Dhabi is growing enourmously and contrary to Dubai they are building up cultural highlights such as a phantastic Opera House, a Louvre-type museum and more, but all of it will only be built in a few years time.
Generally we once again enjoyed our stay at the Emirates Palace, where they have a good nightlife for the young people, but also plenty of possibilities for families.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,914 - 1,920 of 3,579 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

As you drive down the magnificent Abu Dhabi Corniche with the turquoise Arabian Gulf on your right, drawing nearer to the looming structure that is the Emirates Palace Hotel you can't fail to gasp. At the imposing entrance you will be greeted as royalty and led into the vast entrance hall. Your eyes will wander everywhere. This vast building has been designed with elegance of such a magnitude you simply don't know where to look first. Reception and check-in is handled with speed and dignity. You are taken through the central Atrium so high and imposing that your neck will hurt. That section of the hotel houses the Conference Centre below and the floors above the breathtaking suites. The top floor is exclusively for the GCC Leaders and can't be seen. The suites, however, are decorated so beautifully that you can't fail to draw breath. The public areas and corridors are decorated in soft beige's, honey onyx, glistening marble.Utterly elegant and in the finest of taste. The public WC's have tap fittings that you only dream of. The hotel is vast - the downside is it can take 10 minutes to get back to reception but when you see the rooms you don't care.
Huge comfortable beds, 42" (or larger) TV screens, touch pad controls for everything. The bathrooms .. oh, the bathrooms ... you could live in them. The service is exemplary - the choice of restaurants and quality of food is fantastic. Pools, 1km of beaches and the gentle quietness of the surroundings make this a perfect holiday destination.
Abu Dhabi is quite wonderful, although quiet. Hundreds of trees line the route from the airport, shops a plenty, restaurants a plenty. Dessert trips, camel rides - even a night under the stars can be arranged. The perfect place for a few days retreat. Not cheap but for a holiday of a lifetime spend 3-4 days here then fly off to my other dream hotel in Oman (The Al Bustan Palace) for more days of peace then end up in the bustle of Dubai. Wallow in the heat, swim in the warm seas and enjoy all that is the wonderful culture of the Gulf States.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were running one day late to the hotel, but the hotel made sure we where taken care of even though.
They upgraded us to a suite, which was perhaps 100 square meter. And with direct beach access, it was great!
Abu Dhabi is a little dull, but the hotel makes up for it. The butlers are so attentive, and we really enjoyed our stay.
The chinese restaurant, 2 michelin stars, is beoynd words. The best food we might ever tasted. What a great place!
The only problem with the hotel is that is a little too big.

The romantic turn down service is amazing, with hot tub filled with rose leafs..

Emirates Palace, you really came through!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann_travellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I am a consultant in the hotel industry and I am always disappointed when I stay at a Hotel on holiday as there is always something wrong with service, food or cleanliness and believe me I have stayed in a few - However, I have to say I have now found the perfect hotel in the Emirates Palace and all other hoteliers should stay here to see how it should be done.
From the moment we arrived the service excelled the staff are so attentive and polite nothing is too much for them, this includes all staff around the resort from front of House to housekeeping and F&B. The food and choice was excellent in all of the hotels many restaurants (only one that did let the property down was the Italian restaurant) I highly receommend the fish restaurant, the bedrooms are stunning and so clean and exceptionally roomy.
The pool side attendance is second to none and the hotel offers camel rides and bikes for free use should you want to take a ride around the whole reosrt which we did regularlyon bkes. In my view this is a very well run property and the General Manager should be very proud to achieve what he has - well done to you and your team we shall certainly return.
Sincerely Jackson-Hipkins Dept 4/2/2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed at Emirates Palace for only two nights. Next time it will be two weeks!! The rooms, staff, facilities, pools, beach, camels, restaurants, day spa are the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. Could not recommend the hotel any higher.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigersGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Second visit but my first rating. Everything is just about perfect, including the service which I had read here was problematical. Didn't get any of that despite some demands I deliberately placed on them to test things out.

Some extras such as room service and pool side meals are a little pricey but so well done it's hard to complain. Alcohol is fiercely expensive but you have to remember where you are.

Tip: Don't be afraid to go for half board. I usually shy away from that because of being tied to a single restaurant each night, but the Brasserie has such a wonderful selection of everything it isn't a problem and they will get you anything special if they can and I did test that too!

Also the road works currently outside the hotel make walking out from the hotel a problem. We eventually found a shortcut to get to the side gate and be let out there so we could walk to the mall and city.

Room Tip: Rooms in the extremities of the wings are a fair distance from the central part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTooOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Very comfortable hotel. An exceptional service and food. All restaurants are delicious and the service is always perfect. Arabic style with a modern view behind. Fine to make a break from Europe and for a rest after the stress of work. Climate is also very appreciable. The price is reasonable and worth the quality offered. We went there 3 times in 2011 and the hotel standards remain unchanged. It is very very luxurious and beautiful but at the same time very friendly and ok for casualty. You maybe need to know that it is enormous and that you need to walk a lot from a place to another within the hotel. However, there is a car service outside the hotel to bring you from the end to the other.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BERNARDGARCIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#2 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,423 reviews
11.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,107 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
18.1 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Palace

Address: West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £285 - £628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Emirates Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace Abu Dhabi
Emirates Palace Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing