We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than we expected!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emirates Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emirates Palace
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than we expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at the Emirates Palace hotel for a week and feel that it was not enough to fully experience this wonderful place or get tired of it. It was simply perfect in every possible way, be it the beach, swimming pools, the territory, the building, our room, service or food. It is one of the best places we have ever visited. We did have some very minor hick-ups, which are not worth mentioning here at all, as it could happen anywhere. A great place for families and children. It is a bit expensive but you get what you pay for. It is well worth it, and it is not expensive if you enjoy something! There are also a lot of nice little hidden things that you get for free - small refreshments in the pool and beach, boating club facilities, as well as free camel rides. Excellent service above all!

Some warm words about the butler service. It could not be better or more professional, as they do make you feel welcome and special. Marieta Camilosa, our butler, deserves a special mentioning. A true professional. Simply thanks!

As to the restaurants, we thought that the Arabic restaurant was the best. It has a wonderful authentic atmosphere, very nice people serving you, and nice local food as well. The second best on our list was the barbeque.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,324
    423
    160
    66
    72
See reviews for
827
1,278
107
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Buckley, Flintshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

To be honest the size and overall grandeur of the emirates palace hotel is what makes it so impressive and special, and no doubt the iconic focal point in Abu Dhabi. We stayed for x2 nights in a standard room, which was like a palace in itself. You really feel like you’re walking around a museum rather than a hotel and that it not a criticism as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but it is really all about the experience. You can't question the service of the staff and they really make every effort to attend to your every need. We used both the family and private pools and I would recommend using a bike to cycle round the grounds, just because of the sheer size of the hotel. These are available complementary at the pool areas and really make things easier when a travel cart isn't available. Although we expected to pay a premium to stay we did feel the food was unbelievably overpriced, even at world class standards. What worked out at £40.00 British Pound PP for a breakfast buffet seemed way over board, but that’s just me. Having gone there purely for the experience of saying we've been I wouldn't say I would go again, however, we are so glad we went and would definitely recommend it to other who haven't had the opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

It's not a regular hotel is a monument....they got palm inside....every where Italian Marmable decoration ...stunning!!! room are awsome and service 5* my local business partner told me that the royal family is bulding ther new residence same has the Hotel.... got the idea!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Spectacular hotel but very impersonal. By the third day my husband and I wondered what was up with us as we weren't really 'into' it and we realised that it was actually quite bland - sounds ridiculous but afgter 3 days we had gold blindness - everything is the same colour!

Overall a great experience to be tried at least once, we were well looked after but having stayed at the Royal Mirage in Dubai we would much prefer to go back there as it is luxurious but far from bland as can be.

The food was actually out of this world with so much variety and everything exceptionally tasty. It was my husbands birthday while we were there and they decorated the room and gave us a complimentary cake and bottle of wine which was very thoughtful.

The only niggle is no complimentry water pool side which we have been offered elsewhere in the Middle East but not a big deal really - we wouldn't have expected it had we never been before.

Go, relax, be pampered and enjoy but take your sunglasses to protect you from all that gold!

Room Tip: Take water from the room to the pool as sometimes it takes a while for the waiters to come round for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Returned to the" palace " for the 3rd time and what a change !It is now right in the middle of a building site on all sides ? Huge skyscraper blocks to the rear being built and totally ruins the view of the hotel from within the grounds . To the west side huge construction site of the massive new emirates presidential hotel and another building .They're going to ruin the Palace and this is typical of the Dubai syndrome we thought Abu Dhabi would retain some element of cultural identity but itnlooks as if it's heading in the same direction as Dubai .

With regard to the Palace itself , it remains beautiful inside , rooms great and generally service very good . The major exception to this is the Vendome restaurant . The staff and particularly the manager were in a constant state of panic running around trying to do everything at once , no sign of any organisation or attention to diners , having constantly to ask for plates to be cleared , drinks etc. No what you would expect . When I complained to restaurant manager he was rude and told us there were other choices of restaurants and we should try them if we werent happy . Unfortunately we had no choice for breakfast we never went back at night. The good news is the BBQ restaurant by the beach which was great as was the fish restaurant great food and service . Don't go tonthe Arabian restaurant on half board terrible .

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Pleasant hotel. Lots of good points. Some bad points. Just like life.
Therefore, I would definitely give it another go, assuming I can afford it.
The hotel is beautiful, rooms are fantastic, facilities are great. What really makes it for me, is that it is not stuffy.
The staff are friendly and for the most part genuine.
Thank you for a great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whereas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

From the minute you arrive at this hotel all you seem to say is wow.
It is huge, the public areas where reception, tea lounges etc are are vast beautiful spaces all very tastefully done in pale marbles and gold leaf. No expense has been spared with fabulous light fittings, carpets, furniture etc, even the loos are truly luxurious. Everywhere is absolutely immaculate and spotless and is constantly being cleaned and polished.
As stated by many others, there are long walks from your room, situated in the West or East wing. The main corridor from the west wing to the restaurants etc was 50 ft wide, adorned with beautiful gold leaf ceilings and case after case of precious artefacts from all over the world, greek vases, roman pottery, chinese pottery etc. Dozens of them, at first I thought it was a private collection,...almost like you would see in a museum , but these items were all for sale from the Bakarat gallery within the hotel ! And yes, you would have to be a serious high roller to afford them but it was a joy to look at all these beautiful things on our way to dinner each evening..
The staff are fantastic wherever you are in the hotel, there are many of them, all beautifully dressed and nothing is any trouble for them. Every single one was polite and courteous and keen to please.
We were on a half board package which gave us access to 5 of the restaurants . There were limited menus available in the Italian and Emirati restaurants but a la carte was available if you wanted to pay. We tended to eat in the International restaurant after trying the others. There was a large buffet with many choices, my only slight criticisim was that there were not many vegetables on offer as accompaniments to the meat and fish courses. The desserts were very tempting as they were presented as exquisite little cakes, many dusted with edible gold.
Alcohol was vey expensive, to be expected in a Muslim country,...a glass of wine at dinner was £17.00. A single glass.!
The pool area was lovely with plenty of sun beds all on grass, an attendant appeared within seconds of you selecting your beds and promptly covered them with two huge soft towels per bed. There is a restaurant there which served a selection of meals or snacks and drinks but it is not cheap. An average snacky lunch cost around £45.00 -£50.00 for 2.
Water is provided in your room free, do take it to the pool with you as you have to pay for water there.
There was a water slide and lazy river with donuts to float round on and lovely pools with jacuzzis. A nice feature was the shallow pool with shades over, great for the little ones to play without being burned by the sun.
The rooms are sumptious. Beautiful fixtures and fittings, huge bathroom , enormous flat screen tv, ... but, the rooms are definitely geared to the business traveller. There is an L shaped desk area complete with plugs etc for computers etc, lots of desk storage but no mirror whatsover in the room. I ended up drying and styling my hair in the entrance lobby of the room which had a vast full length mirror. OK, there was a hair dryer in the bathroom, rather plasticy and cheap compared to everything else in the hotel, but it meant my husband would have been hanging around whilst I sorted out my hair. Hotel managment please note, ...us women prefer to dry our hair and do our makeup out of the bathroom which can get hot and steamy !
The lighting in the bathroom was vey soft too so not ideal for sorting ourt makeup.
A simple mirror on the wall at the desk area with decent lighting and a decent hairdryer in one of the many drawers would fix this glitch easily. A pillow menu is available too so that you can get one perfect for you !
The beach is beautiful, 1.3 kilometres of white sand, unfortunately in early March it was a bit too chilly for swimming but I'm sure it would be lovely a little later in the year.
Two members of staff were exceptional in their service and deserve a special mention.
Sandra Newman and Michael on the concierge team. They both went above and beyond duty to sort out our return transfer back to the airport, caused by our travel company messing things up, Sandra was like a dog with a bone and was not satisfied until it was all sorted out, absolutely amazing , and she was so gracious and polite even when dealing with idiots on the other end of the phone. Michael was absolutely charming and promptly printed out our boarding passes etc for our return flight. Both are an absolute credit to to hotel.
This was like no other hotel we have visited, it truly is a palace, an amazing experience and we felt completely pampered and at ease.

Room Tip: West wing overlooks the pool with water slides etc so may be better for families. East wing seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxyrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#9 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
9.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.5 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
8.6 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Palace

Property: Emirates Palace
Address: West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Emirates Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace Abu Dhabi
Emirates Palace Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing