We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Emirates Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Emirates Palace
Ranked #6 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

Just back from a family holiday to the beautiful emirates palace. It was perfect. I couldn't fault anything . The service is outstanding. Food excellent rooms comfortable and reasonably spacious with just the right furniture and bathrooms lovely.
I had read that emirates palace was so huge it took 20 minutes to walk from the room to the lobby but I think these people must have serious walking problems!! Whilst yes it's a large building, it's so well designed that it takes no time to get anywhere and if by chance you wanted to get from one end of the hotel to the other you could get a buggy or a bike, which my children loved.
In the daytime the outside of the palace was fairly boring but at night with the lights on it was magical and lovely to promenade on the front of the hotel as many of the restaurants were outside designed like a mediterranean town square. Really charming.
Inside, all the public areas are immaculate and the attention to detail is incredible.
It is very gold! But it's a palace . The facilities are incredible. An auditaurium where they hold events like concerts etc, a magnificent ballroom, nearly 90 conference rooms if I remember rightly ,many restaurants of different food choices and stunning suites.
I think the beach, which is very important to us, was one of the finest we have been on. The sand was lovely and soft and manicured every day. The sun loungers were the most comfortable ever and as soon as you arrived on the beach or by the pool an attendant was there to lay towels out. The sea was beautiful, and just warming up enought to swim in, having been to Dubai at Christmas it was nice!!
The pools were lovely and beautifully designed having a quieter pool/beach area on the east wing and the children's pool/kids club/water sports/camel rides to the west wing.
We went both ends and really I didnt find the non quiete end not quiet. For young children it was great. Mine are teenagers and are happy to chill on a sunbed and read but also loved the pool and water sports, bikes and great football pitch with organised football matches every day.
We are used to premium prices as always stay in the luxury end of the market and go in school holidays but I found emirates palace to be very good value for money.
We really had nothing not go perfectly all holiday and all the restaurants were great and service brilliant, except the emirate restaurant. I feel bad to criticisers it was really the only slight fault and not so major to put any slight on the hotel. Service was really bad but I think it was the kitchen rather than the waiting staff.
There is so much I could say but really the most important thing is it was superb and we will be back!!
Special thanks to 2 of our wonderful butlers who really did give a true butler service. Imtiaz and bhaskaran who were so lovely and attentive.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbabes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,437
    440
    163
    68
    72
See reviews for
867
1,333
111
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We have lived in Abu Dhabi for 4 years and been to the Emirates Palace on numerous occaisions to show visitors or to go to the various restaurants (Hakkasan being our favourite), but we had never stayed. We decided to book in at short notice on a weekend break offer. I had arranged for my wife's birthday for her to have a one day hire of an Audi R8 V10 Spyder, so Emirates Palace seemed an approriate venue for the car!

The Palace is of course an enormous place and I think they try to provide a service that makes it seem more personal, but for me I'm afraid they fail in this regard. It is just too big and you feel a bit lost in the place. The staff are very well trained, which is not usually the case in the UAE, where great facilities are often let down by poorly trained staff. The check was a bit slow, but the girl who showed us to the room was very knowledgable and polite.

The best bit for us was the valet parking area where we could pose, coming too and fro with the car!

We spent an afternoon before we left in the pool area. The pool (East Wing) is lovely and there was generally good service in this area, with call buttons by each of the loungers. I did however ask for a cigar from the pool bar, which they said they had to get from another bar, but it took over an hour and we were leaving by the time it arrived.

The rooms are lovely, the bed being particularly comfortable, but I felt it lacked a bit of "wow" factor given the price.

My one real complaint was from breakfast in Vendome. The service in there was terrible. There were queues of people waiting to get it. Although there were plenty of available tables, the waiter showed us to two seats directly attached to where two other people were aleady eating, providing neither of us with any privicy. After our initial coffee, no one offered any top ups, we had to request. Although they had a Pork station, it just had cold pork cuts, there was no hot pork option for bacon or sausage. before we had even finished our second course they had aleday given us the bill to sign as if they were trying to rush us through. Not good.

All in all though, despite breakfast, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilroberts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

As we ended our 2 weeks holiday in the UAE, we decided to stay here for our last night. When we arrived we were given a welcome drinks & dates, a flower bouquet for the mom & gift bags for the kids. The butler came into our room & we got oriented to the hotel facilities & services. The hotel is huge, to get into the breakfast room, you have to walked a long way. We had a very early morning flight so we ate breakfast in a hurry, it was a huge spread. We had a meal at the pool area, the food & drinks were good but overpriced for what it is. We also had a few drinks at the beach area, which was okay.We also walked around the property & it was all grand but nothing personalised & homely feel about it. Overall, the property is not my family's kind of hotel. It was grand but no warm feeling to each guest, we are just like numbers in their massive guest list. It was good to experience it but I would go to smaller hotel like the Fairmont next time.

Room Tip: If you want to stay here, maybe a few nights is okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kitkat301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Because the level of attentiveness demonstrated by the staff was unprecedented.

One day, after ordering some bottled water from the butler, the butler asked to have a word with me by the door. He said they realized (probably from our passports) that it was my wife’s birthday that day, and wondered if they could give her a surprise. By the time we came back to the room that evening, we found the room decorated with a cake (so delicious!), some roses, and a small happy birthday banner.

It was one of the sweetest things ever done by a hotel!

In fact, it was not just the butler and team that extended such service, the overall service provided to us by practically everyone we met had been exceptional. Always ready to help (non-intrusively), always friendly, and always helping in exactly the way we needed. We felt pampered and privileged.

We stayed at the Atlantis and the Grosvenor House in Dubai after visiting Abu Dhabi, but felt that they were way below the bar set by Emirates Palace; even though the Atlantis charged twice as much and the GH was already very good.

It’s going to be very hard to stay anywhere else with the Palace experience still fresh in our minds.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pylau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were looking forward to go there. And, if we went directly, without having a short stay in Anantara Desert Resort just before, the contrast would not be so vivid. There, in the desert, people work and stay for years. They welcome you with charming smiles, do their best to serve you and it makes you feel royal. (To mention a check in at 8 o clock in the morning, though we did not book it in advance). Upon arrival at the heart of Abu Dhabi, at the Emirates Palace, you are welcomed nicely with a cup of arabic coffee with dates and some flowers. But THAT IS IT. Butler service is useless (it is just a call center, they direct you where necessary). Other faces are gloomy and unmotivated. ("Nothing is complimentary, Sir, here at the pool"). You feel the people are badly looked after. But this is not all concerning the dark side. The WORST is the pricing. A cup of american coffee (without golden dust on it:) at the swimming pool cost me 40 DHS or 10 swiss francs. This is really outrageous. While the accommodation prices are competitive, you are trapped with the rest. A breakfast for our family would cost us 1000 dhs or 250 swiss francs. We had to order room service and share it. The quality of food is good but does not deserve mentioning it. So we HAD to go out for dinner.
Having mentioned all that, for objectivity I must say that the beach and swimming pool is probably best in town. The palace is huge and all marble decorated and gold plated. But does it make you feel happy?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Second stay at the Palace, nothing has changed : still perfect, except the construction sides around.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have just returned from 10 days at the Emirates Palace (April 2012) with my husband and 10 year old daughter.
We had looked forward to the trip for 7 months but I have to say that we were underwhelmed by the hotel and service. We are regular travellers and have been fortunate to stay in some of the best hotels all over the world. This had been recommended to us so we were really excited.
Arrival was great and the room was what we expected, however as the trip went on, we were seriously underwhelmed by the service and stunned at the costs. (BTW - we are not skinflints and have no problem paying any amount for good service and quality).
The first day, we ordered 2 cokes and a small bottle of water on our sunbeds and the cost was approx £30!
As the days went on, we were stunned that we were paying £100 for breakfast for the 3 of us (£45 per adult) and over £200 for supper in any of the restaurants (one glass of wine each) - including the beach bar. The quality at each of the restaurants was edible but not special. Certainly not Michelin star, which is what we would expect for these prices in London.
The cheapest bottle of wine on room service was £75 per bottle. The cheapest at the beach bar was £45.
One morning at the hotel breakfast buffet my husband was aked what eggs he wanted. He asked for sunny-side up and after 20 minutes nothing had arrived. He asked where they were and they had forgotten. They then brought over-easy a further 10 minutes later. In all of that time, not one cup of coffee. he walked out and told then it was the worst service he had ever received in an international hotel ( this was true). He refused to pay. I am sorry to say this was not a one off.
The hotel is huge and grand but has no atmosphere in the central areas. Large empty spaces. No bar outside to enjoy the weather or view. Just one in the airconditioned dark lobby. It seems a great waste.
Outside there are loads of wasted terraces and spaces that are crying out for some sitting areas.
The Butler service is not what it claims to be - there is a call centre that can be called and they send someone to you. The Cell centre is useless. We called and asked if shorts could be worn at the beach restaurant and the next thing we know, a Butler has arrived to collect our Laundry!!!
On Day 1 they took 6 hours to make a restuarant reservation for us.
The West Wing is best for Kids but be aware that the depth of the pool and lazy river are waist height (I amd 5 foot 2 inches), so if parents want to swim or kids dive for coins etc, this is a no-go. In the East Wing, the pools are more grown up and has a swim up bar, but again, I do not believe any area is deep.
The beach is nice and private and water-skiing is good value, but be aware that it is a secluded harbour, so if you want waves for body-surfing or normal surfing, you wont find any. This was a bit of a killer for my Aussie husband as he loves a wave.
Overall, the people were nice, the prices were double most other hotels around the world and we did not get value for money. We spent over £3k for 2 meals a day for 10 days (with little alcohol) for 2 adults and 1 child (Again I stress, we are happy to pay this for good service and quality). Don't bother going here unless you have are happy to waste money or unless you get a half-board deal.
Pillows are dreadful too. Very soft and you have to have 3 to be the same thickness as a normal one pillow in UK.
Would I go back - NO!
I will go back to JW Marriot in Phuket or the Madinat or Juneirah Beach in Dubai, or Grand Hyatt in Bali.

Only pluses - nice Kids club and there is a Mall nearby so you can get your water for £1 a bottle rather than £8 per bottle. (You do get 2 small free bottles per room per day and a few soft drinks).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,111 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,295 reviews
11.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.6 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
11.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Palace

Property: Emirates Palace
Address: West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emirates Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace Abu Dhabi
Emirates Palace Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing