We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel but no for everyone!!!!!!”
Review of Emirates Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emirates Palace
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel but no for everyone!!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Firstly we are still at the Emirates Palace on our 2nd to last day enjoying the sun, cool sea breeze and undivided attention of the pool staff, Who pamper you as if you were their own family.This hotel is nothing short of a work of art, the whole hotel oozes a lavishly styled environment . So much so that it can become a little overpowering at times. The vast majority of staff are incredibly polite with a professional approach to everything they do. Security guards are at every corner and are extremely pleasant as well as displaying an air of authority. With the amount of gold and antique artifax on disply within this huge hotel it's not hard to see why all the security.

Check in was swift and professional with a personal escort from the front desk to the individual rooms we had requested.
We had 2 rooms a Coral room for the boys, which I believe is the standard and a Diamond room which is by all accounts the upper end of the room scaling. Whilst the Diamond room is fine there is not a great deal of difference between that and the supposedly lower Coral rooms. In fact it would take the unique skills of Mr. Sherlock Holmes himself to differentiate the two. To this end you may feel that the extra costs involved does not warrant or justify the step up.
Both rooms do come with a communal butler service which we didn't use more out of principle than necessity as just about everything possible has already been done for you - lets face it if you cannot be bothered to pick up the phone or your own belongings, it's not a hotel you need but a retirement home.
We arrived on the last day of Ramadam which was planned at the time of booking as we have been caught out in the past!!! The hotel had erected a temporary building on the beach front to celebrate the festival. When I say a temporary building it was more like a medium sized hotel. The design and trappings that went into this building was astonishing and would put many European 5 star hotels to shame. The project was so grand that they are still taking it down 2 weeks later. But unless you went looking you would never know work was in progress. Again another example of the amazing attention to detail that this hotel provides.
I could spend the next two weeks portraying the grandure of this hotel and still not do it justice. To give you a small snippet of what can be found at the hotel the renowned Palace coffee actually comes with edible Gold leaf shavings and the Emirates Palace emblem crafted into the coffee. In the lobby area there is a ATM that delivers gold bars instead of cash - I kid you not........

In spite of all this grandure and opulence there was a rather disappointing issue for families such as ours..
As previously stated we have 2 Boys aged 16 and 19 who would not necessarily agree to all I have written so far so to balance things a little.
Yes this is wonderful hotel within idilic grounds, two large pools with lazy river and slides plus a superb beach, but when the sun goes down then life as a teenager or anyone under the age of 21 ceases to exist. No one under the age of 21 is allowed into any bars and in some cases restaurants irrespective if they just wish to consume non alcoholic drinks, while their parents do indulge, which creates somewhat of A problem for families like ours. So after dinner these unfortunate individuals either wander around this vast hotel looking at the intricate trappings or go to bed..... Not cool. And as we all know if they kids don't have a good time then the parents don't either!!
However we know from previous vists to Dubai that this is the law and not the fault of the hotels but never the less it does put a dampener on the evening. In fairness Dubai hotels did cater somewhat for this alien age group. To be honest the bars in Abu Dhabi are just glorified smoking dens. As smoking has been banned within bars etc in the UK for sometime now, its remarkable just how quickly one notices the smoke filled atmosphere with second hand fumes and especially as some of these cigarettes have a distinctive sickening aroma. So unless your a 20 a minute person you too may find the bars less than appealing.
The food at the palace as with everything else is top notch with the Hakkasan Chinese restaurant being one of the best we have ever eaten in. Strict dress codes are enforced which I applaud. So no shorts, vest, football kits or any other pool side attire is permitted. As I found out to my cost as I wore flip flops on the second night and was kindly asked to wear shoes with no open toe design. I did try to argue they were a type of sandle but to no avail - well done Danny although I did give you a hard time that night - put it down to jet lagg....."".

So to sum it up:-
Excellent for Couples, Romantics, Single ladies who want some peace and quite from us men Ohh and of course those people who wish to Bragg about having a butler.

Not so good for people over the age of 12 and under 21. People who are lucky enough to be below the age of 12 tend to be so tired at the end of the day that they are asleep before 09:00.

Just one final note if you do visit the Emirates Palace Hotel and find its not for you then don't be despondent as you are in very good company

.....As rumours go, Allegedly this Palace was built for the Sheiks daughter but she didn't like it.......

Room Tip: West side beach is more for families with young kids. East side is more for couples or families wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barcalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolgerSchroth, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Barcalay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us in July with your family.

Your feedback is appreciated, as we continuously strive to be the best hotel in Abu Dhabi.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Palace soon.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,467
    445
    163
    70
    72
See reviews for
876
1,345
114
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were recieved like royalties and our 10 days long stay has been beyond all our dreams. Great service and a staff that would do anything in their power to keep you satisfied. Miss Sandra Newman (concierge), Mr. Michael Terrano ( Butler Supervisor ), the security, waitors, housekeeping personell, reception . . . I can go on and on about the staff at this amazing place. Everyone with a smile and a big heart : ) Love this hotel and the people in it, we will most certainly go back . . .

Room Tip: The Diamond rooms with a beatyful view over the beach and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaRHNorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolgerSchroth, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Julia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your 10-day stay with us last month. We continuously strive to offer the best accommodation and hospitality in Abu Dhabi, and we appreciate the feedback of guests such as yourself. I will be glad to pass your kind words on to the rest of my team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Palace soon.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

An Amazing place to treat yourself as a king, you can find fabulous place with fabulous food very good restaurants in one place and it is a very good for conferences , Spa was amazing the best place over the world

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsyaseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolgerSchroth, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of your stay with us in May.

I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience in our spa. We are currently in the process of rebranding and renovating our spa, and will launch with an amazing selection of new treatments and products in September.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Palace.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We get there after some nights at the suppose best hotel of the world, in DUbai, but this one is by far more luxury, gives a better service, only the rooms are not as impressive as the ones in the Burj but definitely have more the oriental flavor, first time I saw a Gold ATM machine. Also never go on the ramadan month and during winter time the weather seems to be perfect, summer is the closest thing to hell.

Room Tip: Select the central tower to avoid walk a lot to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolgerSchroth, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of your stay with us in July. We continuously strive to offer the best accommodation and hospitality in Abu Dhabi, and we appreciate the feedback of guests such as yourself. I will be glad to pass your kind words on to the rest of my team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Palace soon.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You will get a royalty service when you enter the hotel lobby. A "welcoming staff" at the check-in will offer you "dates" and "tea" plus you will get roses while you wait to be served. We stayed in a garden view room....it was not bad at all. We were just expecting a bit larger bed...we had 2 single beds. The rooms are clean. I like the bath tub...a bit larger than most of the other hotels have. Service are good even at the beach and swimming pool area. Beach towels are clean. My friend and I like the hammock at the swimming pool. Breakfast is good....several varieties to choose from but there is a dress code. We enjoyed our 2-night stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TezBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolgerSchroth, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tez,

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of your visit to Emirates Palace with your friends in May.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

It's the best hotel I stayed ever
If you want to enjoy the hotel it self so this is the best place to stay we are traveling as a big family so we reserved 4 rooms

Reception: they are really professional and they made it really smooth and we got our rooms in 5 minutes

Rooms: very large rooms with nice balcony and comfortable king size bed

Restaurant: there are many restaurants.however, I tried the Italian and the food, waiters, speed of serves and the decoration all perfect

Pools: there are two pools one for the kids has water slides and all these kind of things. The other one was more relaxing

Spa: don't forget to have a 90 min session after a big day it's really helpful.

All in all it's perfect and worth the money what's you are paying.


  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahad-Abahussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolgerSchroth, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Fahad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback on your stay with us earlier this month.

We value the feedback of our guests in a continuous effort to provide the best service and hospitality in Abu Dhabi. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the various aspects of our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace soon.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to spend eid in the Emirates Palace and it was the right choice. Although there was some delay in the check in they offered us an upgrade to the diamond room,we had a sea view and the room was nice. Kids loved the lazy river, we spent the afternoon there and on the way back to our room there were 2 camels that children enjoyed riding. I loved that the hotel takes care of kids, when we got the baby cot it had a very cute baby slipper and bath ducks. At the time of check in they gave my 3 years old son a bag with t-shirt and colors since it was eid and i got flowers :). Also when we had dinner in the Vandoom resturant they handed over a bag with coloring book and crayons which jept him busy for a while. The Vandoom is highly recommended, we had dinner and breakfast there and all was yummy. I wish we go there again, thanks!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sima_Droubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolgerSchroth, General Manager at Emirates Palace, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Sima,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Emirates Palace over the Eid Al Fitr holiday. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience, and that you enjoyed in particular our children's services. All of our guests, including our smallest ones, are very special to us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Palace soon.

Sincerely,

Holger Schroth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,152 reviews
11.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,060 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
9.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Palace

Property: Emirates Palace
Address: West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emirates Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace Abu Dhabi
Emirates Palace Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing