We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Made Us Feel Special”
Review of Emirates Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emirates Palace
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Despite its vast and impressive size, the Emirates Palace succeeded in making us feel special during a week's stay for rest and relaxation in winter sunshine. Especially noteworthy was the enthusiasm and help of the butlers' team in the arrangements to celebrate my wife's birthday.

We found the Hotel's choice of restaurants excellent and a high standard of water sports available to guests. Until you visit the Emirates Palace it's difficult to appreciate the grandeur of its design and lovely location, with a kilometre of private beach of pristine white sand. Expensive but worth the outlay for great surroundings and service provided you are prepared for a reasonable amount of walking within the Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSGKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 3,515 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

This hotel is huge and soulless. It's got all the facilities you would ever want, but you won't feel "special". It's very expensive and supposedly exclusive, yet in the room there is a list of what the shampoo costs alongside a warning not to remove from the room!
It's a fun experience walking through palm tree lined passageways inside the hotel, past the gold bar dispenser to the waterslide pool area, but it's not excellent - just glossy and over-the-top.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

clean and efficient but two days was enough. Pool and beach are nice, good for kids.
Fed up being asked by staff if we were residents or visitors. Needs to make its mind up
if its a tourist attraction o a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We have just spent a weekend at this fabulous hotel. We found the staff very friendly and efficient and they all made us feel very special. We had mentioned the reason for our stay and they had arranged surprises for us both in the suite and at the restaurants. Everybody did their utmost to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We can highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expatDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Have just returned from a second stay at the Emirates palace the first stay was disappointing to say the least but a firm believer in second chances, it was alot better this time around however two years on it would seem that my comments on the first review of this establishment were not acknowledged by management, the pool staff are still ignoring the hotel clients and trying to order drinks or food around the pool is near on impossible unless you visit the poolside restaurant!
Other than this the hotel lacks atmosphere but the food and service in the evening restaurants more than made up for this!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

My wife and I had a stop over for a couple of days and decided to stay at the Emirates Palace. We were treated with such kindness from the moment of our arrival. The staff were excellent, the accommodation was beautiful as were the surroundings, views, restaurants, interior shops, the business centre, the concierge, and so on (I really would not like to omit anyone). We would also recommend taking a tour of the hotel given by staff as well to really experience the various aspects the hotel has to offer. We definitely will return and will always stay over in Abu Dhabi at the Emirates Palace when we travel to Europe. Special thankyou to the staff greeting people arriving by taxi/car. We love this hotel very much thanks to everyone making it special for us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela_hempel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We would agree with most of the great comments that have been made about this hotel in that it is large, impressive, well located, the food is excellent, the staff are (in the main) well trained and helpfull ,the rooms are spacious and well appointed but and it's a big 'but', the place lacks something and it is atmosphere.

Certain things were fantastic and we would include the greeting we received, the check in process and the facilities.

Certain things were average and we would put the rooms in this category when compared with other 5* deluxe hotels in the Mandarin Oriental, Penisula or Banyan Tree category. We thought the same of the staff.

We only ate dinner twice at the hotel the first night at Mezzaluna, the Italian Restaurant, which is very good, very expensive and very atmosphereless the second time at the BBQ al Qasr which is wonderful - try the Wagyu Steak if you're a meat lover. After eating there twice we lost enthusiasm for the hotels restaurants and preferred to get a taxi and try the other offerings of Abu Dhabi.

What didn't we like, well very little, minor irritations were the ridiculously complicated in-room lighting system, which took 2 nights and a training session from the Butler to sort out. Incidentally we thought the Butlers would be reasonably personal and regular but they seemed to change frequently so the one who unpacked our bags we never saw again and we were unable to tip, we decided they are really just room service staff who dress in tails, rather than dedicated Butlers.

In the rooms the remote for the TV is a nightmare, it's a Marantz system which is great if you're a techie and have it at home but not for a hotel where most people want to turn the TV on surf through a few channels and find something they like!!

Any complaints? Yes the staff at Las Brisas at the East Pool, the foods fine, the ambience is fine but the staff really need to learn the art of hospitality, not one of them smiles or makes any effort to look after you - and this contrasts badly with the rest of the hotel, maybe it's just a training issue. Oh, and the pool boys, whilst friendly, could do with being a little more pro-active in removing towells when guests have left for the day.

As far as Abu Dhabi is concerned we liked it, the best meal we had was the Chinese restaurant at the Shangri La (the Emirates could learn a lot from the staff there). It's interesting to see the city developing quickly and you need deep pockets to eat anywhere.

So that's our view, we would not rush back either to Abu Dhabi or the Emirates Palace but we are pleased we went and experienced the opulence but we wouldn't recommend it to a friend

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thisisrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,363 reviews
11.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,251 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
5.2 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Palace

Address: West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £302 - £913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emirates Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace Abu Dhabi
Emirates Palace Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing