We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Place I Had Ever Stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Al Jazira
Ranked #91 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst Place I Had Ever Stayed”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Booked a weekend getaway to this resort....turned out to not be a resort at all. The beach is nowhere nearby, you have to take a shuttle. It is weirdly connected to a club or another hotel or something like that, so the pool is shared and full of unattended kids. The staff is not interested in helping you at all because they don't know which hotel you are with. An outdoor club is there with awful pounding music that starts in the afternoon and ends in the early morning hours. Even in the hotel with all windows closed our room was shaking. We couldn't sleep until 2am....and no television channels whatsoever, unless you really want to watch Jeopardy in Arabic. We were told we were not allowed in the club area of the hotel/resort/whatever it is since our hotel does not have an agreement with their hotel...even though the two places are attached and it's hard to tell who owns what!!! Food was icky, with unattended Arab kids running around the dishes and licking everything within reach...with maids trailing behind them and parents out of sight. Nothing within miles, boring. Rooms had stains on the walls. Misrepresented as a resort when in fact it's just a one-star party place for bored Abu Dhabi residents.

Room Tip: all rooms are noisy....can't escape the techno music shaking the entire area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank js96_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    41
    22
    15
    21
See reviews for
33
42
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had pre-purchased a package with the hotel for a night's stay for two adults, two children, buffet breakfast & late check out of 1pm BEFORE we read the reviews on TripAdvisor, so I was very wary upon reading the negative reviews about what our stay would be like. We were pleasantly surprised and had a good time :)

Check in was easy and when we asked if there was any bands playing that night, we were told there was a live band playing until 3am...so we promptly requested a room that was on the other side of the venue where the band was playing and heard no noise whatsoever while we were sleeping :) The room was comfy and spacious, the bathroom was large and clean. Slept soundly at night.

The resort pool was lovely, spent a lot of time there. My only complaint was that people could smoke at the pool bar which was annoying because we wanted to enjoy a few fruit juices with our children at the bar too, but had to smell people's ciggie smoke. The buffet breakfast was sufficient but nothing wow'ish (have seen better). Staff was friendly, and the ambience of the hotel was nice. We asked for a later check out time of 2pm, and got it which was awesome =)

My only major complaint about the hotel was that there was no warning that on the satellite TV which they provide in the room, there are some that are adult channels. This came as a shock to us when we were flipping through the channels trying to find some cartoons for our children (aged 4 and 6) and all of a sudden some erotic images are displayed on the screen. We quickly pressed the next channel, and it was another adult channel...next...ANOTHER adult channel. Some of the images were fairly suggestive but some were borderline pornographic. We quickly closed the kids eyes until we found something that was kidfriendly. I dont think they realised what it was all about, but thats not the point. So yeah, thats my biggest complaint. Especially since its suppose to be a family-friendly resort.

But an overall good experience. Nothing wow'ish but worth the money we paid :)

Room Tip: If you dont want to hear noise, be smart and ask for a room that is away from any venues/clubs playi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigorbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We'd heard the (bad) local reputation of this place but decided to book anyway as we were competing in the triathlon based there early next morning. Phone booking 2 weeks before was no problem, but then just before we were due to leave our house to travel there, they phoned to say that since we had not phoned to confirm the room, it had been cancelled. No mention on their website OR during the phone booking to say we had to confirm. After an irate call to them asking to speak to the Manager, they suddenly found a room for us.
During check-in, the receptionist recognised our name and said she'd tried "hundreds of times" to call us for confirmation, almost accusing us of not answering her calls....which she never made.
Got to our room to find it had 2 single beds instead of the 1 double we'd booked, there was a strong smell of....something. Not sure what it was, damp or cleaning materials, but there was a also a steady water leak from the bathroom ceiling. The walls and doors appreared to be paper-thin so we could hear every noise from guests either side of us.
Despite being assured during the booking that there was no nightclub party on that night (see earlier posts), we were kept awake most of the night by a party. It finished around 5am, and as we stood outside Reception at 6.30am for our triathlon briefing we saw the procession of prostitutes getting into their transport. During our event, the female competitors were ogled at by the rather creepy 'security' staff at the gate which my wife felt very uncomfortable with.
Not a pleasant experience. It has the location and potential to be a first class resort hotel but is actually more of a tired, tacky motel catering for weekend party animals and their 'friends' rather than discerning holidaymakers. Avoid this place if you are genuinely looking for a 4* hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil-Q8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abu Dhabi hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We went to this hotel recently for a nice relaxing weekend away. It was a huge disappointment. They played very loud music from lunchtime both days we were there, until 12.30 am the next morning. The beat of this music was so loud that you could feel it reverberating in your chest, and this was in the hotel room with the door closed! It was very uncomfortable. We complained to the management and they just looked at us blankly and did nothing about it. We have never been so uncomfortable in a hotel ever before and will definitely never stay there again. I would also not take young children there either as they played very loud music over the swimming pool area in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cookedkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Look, if you're a six senses kind of character or feel at home in a Banyan Tree then don't go for the Golden Tulip Jazira, located between Dubai and Abu Dhabi. That said, I was pleasantly suprised - in this homely little gem, with good facilities and to be a fair an extremely clean and comfortable room, for under $100 a night on a weekend including breakfast.

Ghantoot as a city doesn't have much of a vibe, nor does it knock your socks of with culture - but if you've got a family, and you want to chill by the pool - then honestly, so close to Dubai - for me, it was exactly what I needed, and it saved me the trek to Fujairah or RAK.

I believe the Tulip management took over less than a year ago, and really I was pleasantly suprised - friendly concierge, a concerted kids effort, play grounds etc, and the pool with swim up bar, quite remarkable.

we'll go back - it's simple and sweet, and had a sort of character about it - not luxury by definition, however everyone has their own definition of luxury.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thunderdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The entire team of staff are well trained and the service is Excellent.
The rooms are well laid down. If you are looking for a quite getaway this is the place to be. You can just relex and not be disturbed.
Each room has a TV, warm water, mini bar, and a balcony attached to it where you can sit and sip your coffee and injoy the nice and pleasent view of the cannal.
This hotel is right in the center of Abu Dhabi and Duabi, away from the city but still not very far just may be around 80kms both ways. If you are planning to visit the Yas Marina Formula 1 race this is the right place to be.
To be very frank there was not much choice of food, as there where not many resturants operating, but what ever the food was available was good quality and tasty.
They have a nice swimming pool and a bar attached to it. They also have a access to beach. You can even access the Gym.
All in all a very decent place to live and the best part is that this hotel is not so expensive.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarunkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

The Golden Tulip hotel is the best there is in the area. I also stayed at the Castells hotel only a few minues away, and I would pick Golden Tulip 10 out of 10 times.
The pool area is great, the food is nice (ok) and for those who want to check out the bar, the nightlife is decent (although you can hear the music in most of the rooms located closest to the bar). The staff is service minded and the provide free shuttle to Dubai (Mall of the Emirates).
If you need to stay in this particular area, this is the best hotel. Otherwise the area is deserted and far from everything:)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johanneworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
35.4 mi away
Al Raha Beach Hotel
Al Raha Beach Hotel
#23 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,825 reviews
23.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Al Sharia
Tulip Inn Al Sharia
#119 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
11 reviews
40.0 mi away
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.7 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
41.3 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
31.3 mi away
Zaya Nurai Island
Zaya Nurai Island
#66 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Al Jazira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Al Jazira

Property: Golden Tulip Al Jazira
Address: 11 Ghantoot exit 399 | PO Box 26268, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#48 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#74 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Al Jazira 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a stunning location on its own island within the clear blue waters of a 7-kilometer long, calm, sea channel at Ghantoot beside the famous Ghantoot Racing and Polo Club. Ideally located 40 minutes drive from Dubai Airport and 40 minutes away from Abu Dhabi Airport and very close to Jebel Ali, Ibn Battuta Mall and Dubai Marina. A 4 star hotel Golden Tulip Al Jazira sits in picturesque, tranquil surroundings within the marina offering panoramic views over the waters of the Arabian Gulf from every part of the resort. A private resort, where all 84 rooms and suites are equipped with balcony providing a choice of views over the pool or garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Al Jazira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Al Jazira Hotel Abu Dhabi
Golden Tulip Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing