We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sambusek

Sambusek
Ranked #94 of 2,014 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sambusek is set in a cool, elegant surrounding that is vibrantly upbeat. Capturing the true essence of Lebanese cuisine, Sambusek delights seafood lovers with the quality and freshness of its ingredients from the local fish market. More than just a restaurant, it is a destination for family and friends to enjoy in comfort and style. Beneath the coolly elegant exterior, the restaurant is delightfully traditional. A popular choice for lunchtime or early evening, the finest meats and freshest fish are grilled to perfection and served to a fun-loving, yet discerning clientele. After nightfall, the Sambusek vibe transforms and upbeat music reigns. Socialites from the capital and beyond come to enjoy the evening in a Lebanese-style environment. With a selection of beverages and delectable dishes, guests can enjoy the delightful evening atmosphere. The restaurant's size and private areas make it an ideal venue for celebrations of all types and sizes. Small, intimate gatherings as well as large parties can all be accommodated and in some cases hosted simultaneously. In cooler months, diners and revelers can make the most of the restaurant's outdoor terrace, Smoke. Here, shisha, drinks and nibbles are served against the backdrop of the Abu Dhabi skyline and the Arabian waterfront.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Chef Imad adds his magic touch in each and every dish making it an unforgettable experience, it is a One Thousand and One night atmosphere, one would enjoy the nicest shisha ever

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Qurqumez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Sambusek, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Qurqumez,

We highly appreciate your review on Sambusek and have shared it with Chef Emad and his culinary team!

We hope to see you again in a near future,
Best Regards,
Filipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    36
    21
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Chef Imad's outstanding hospitality and delicious food makes you feel at home. Well done Chef!
Hadi El Hajj

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elhajjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Sambusek, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Hadi,

We have shared your great review with Chef Emad! Thank you very much for sharing.
We hope to see you again very soon at Sambusek!

Kind Regards,
Filipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Lebanese Seal of Approval!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I am Lebanese and usually am very picky when it comes to Lebanese food. You want it to be perfect, you know? Sambusek always exceeds my every expectation. The food is exquisite. Though it has a bit of a twist, it's not so twisted that it's no longer Lebanese. It's just enough to distinguish the restaurant from all other Lebanese restaurants, and trust me; there isn't a lack of those in Abu Dhabi! This was the first year I also try their Ramadan Iftar and that was also great.

The service is wonderful. A must-try restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Sambusek, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Rita,

Ramadan Kareem!
Thank you for your Seal of Approval it does mean a lot to have an authentic Lebanese rate us this highly!

We hope to see you again very soon!
Filipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Visited Sambusek on the last night of my trip to Abu Dhabi. The food was excellent, the alfresco dining looking over the water with the buildings reflected in the water set the evening off. It was a popular spot even on a Sunday, but staff went the extra mile to make sure we had the best possible table and service was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucilu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Sambusek, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear LuciLu,

Thank you for the outstanding review! We really appreciate your comments and will share them with the team!

We hope to see you back in Abu Dhabi soon!
Kind Regards,
Filipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
137 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese, Great Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was at Sambusek for a business dinner, and after reading a poor review in Time Out recently I was impressed by the venue, the service and the quality of the food.

The place itself is lovely. The inside dining areas has large tables set well apart which makes it perfect for business, while the more bustling outdoor terrace has great views over the water towards the city skyline. We were able to enjoy both as we moved outside for shisha, coffee and desserts after our main course.

We had a set menu that included both meat and seafood. Lebanese food is all about the starters and they got the balance just right here, with two vast courses of cold and then hot mezze providing most of the food and taking up most of the three hours or so we were there. The starters were excellent and included all the usual Lebanese favourites, but were fairly mainstream. I would have liked a bit more raw lamb, liver, offal etc. but I guess it would be a brave business hotel that included these kind of dishes on a set menu. So if that's your bag I you will probably want to go a la carte.

Mains included fish fillets, a mixed grill of incredibly tender and tasty meats (though no lamb chops, alas), and the stars of the show, a plate of enormous grilled prawns.

Dessert was a much more subdued affair but still a nice selection of the usual sticky sweets and more healthy simple chopped fruits.

Service was top notch throughout the meal. I would put Sambusek on a par with Li Beirut at Etihad Towers for food and service, and I think has a better location, so I'm sure I'll be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilipaCdeSousa, Marketing Manager at Sambusek, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Simon,

We highly appreciate your since feedback and comments on the various aspects of Sambusek.
We have shared your comments with Chef Emad which recommends the a la carte next time you come for a visit to guarantee all your favorites are served.

We hope to see again very soon at Sambusek!

Best Regards,
Filipa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sambusek also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Sambusek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing