We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very questionable and absolutely not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Diar Capital Hotel
Ranked #87 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very questionable and absolutely not worth the money”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Al Diar Capital for just over a month when we relocated to Abu Dhabi. His employer had booked the room for us, so fortunately we didn't have to pay for staying at what I can only call a very mediocre hotel.

The rooms are fine. Nothing special, just ok. They have a mini fridge and a little sink area, as well as a water boiler to make tea. I know there are several rooms on each floor that have kitchenettes, but we didn't stay in one of those.
Breakfast is ridiculously overpriced at 60Dhs per person, the hot food is distasteful and most of the bread is at least a day old. The fresh fruit is hit and miss, sometimes it's nice and ripe and other times it's not. Other than that your choices are limited to cereal and boiled eggs. Not very inspired.
The room service food is absolutely awful. With the exception of the Arabic mezze platter and the Arabic mixed grill, which are OK (I assume the chef is an Arab), every single dish is a complete mess. We got served burned pizza with burned cheese on top, half-raw meat, disgusting pasta with sauce straight from a tin can, etc.

The staff at the breakfast buffet and the cleaning people are really very friendly. The front desk people on the other hand don't seem to be too motivated, but we had no bad experiences with them.
During our stay, the fire alarm went off at least 6 or 7 times, sometimes in the middle of the night. This was extremely annoying, and I can only assume they are trying to fix it as there were "scheduled fire alarm tests" twice which we got informed about. There was no apology from the hotel staff for waking us up in the middle of the night, which we found extremely bad service.

All in all, I really wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. If you have no choice but to stay here, make sure your room is on the 8th floor or higher. We stayed on the 9th and the noise from the nightclub downstairs thankfully did not reach that high.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mizri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    42
    34
    9
    12
See reviews for
12
16
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I had a three night stay in Capital Hotel and my experience was not great and at the most can be termed below average. I left with the feeling of being overcharged for mediocre standards of food and service.
Rooms at Capital are OK. Decor is nothing special. Bathroom is a bit cramped but passable.
Breakfast buffet at their top floor restaurant was pedestrian. Very few varieties, cold food.
Sleep quality is another issue for a business traveller with thumping sounds of their disco disturb you a lot especially if you are at a lower floor.
Service is discourteous with arrogant staff manning the front office.
Not Recommended.

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Noise, noise and more noise from the discos that are held until the early hours of the morning! My room was 3 fllors away and the noise was horrendous! I would never stay here again which is a shame as the location (just off the Corniche) in the tourist district was great!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewleea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abu Dhabi hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

is the Rockbottom cafe.A great place for live music/drinks at night.Very Noisy!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBun000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

The hotel has a disco / night club on the 3rd floor and a bar on the ground floor. Both are open until 3:30am most nights. The noise projects up to the 7th floor and is worst thru' the bathroom vents. Saturday night is 'Ladies" night. They ain't ladies when they are scrappin' in the car park at 4:00AM. It's a knocking shop and you can see 4 or 5 girls fighting to get into the punters cars....not my scene, if it's yours, enjoy yourself.
I complained about the 3 nights of noise, and they said that it was a special event. My local contact says it's standard and well known for prostitution.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xanthamgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Really not bad, I'm suprised by those negative rewiews..I eventually can understand the comments about bars and nightclubs in the hotel, but me and my colleagues found very handy to go there after dinner. Most of all we liked the pub that also had live music shows.
The room was nice, I got the "neighbours" wiew, it wasn't much, my colleages had the "sea wiew" but it really was a huge "under construction" area and far behind you could recognize the water....
I didn't mind.
Had a blast in Abu Dhabi a nice stay in Al Diar Capital.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukasHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I was staying at Al Diar Capital hotel during May 2009. I didn't have the chance to book early in advance, which meant that there was not available hotel rooms in Abu Dhabi.
The Capital hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Abu Dhabi... something you will definitely notice when going inside. The four stars for the hotel might have been a birthday gift for the hotel's anniversary, it felt more like 3 stars (but of course, you pay the 4 star price).
The positive about the rooms is they are spacious. I don't think that the hotel has been refurbished since the opening, you will see that the interior is worn.
The bathroom has a cheap look, especially bathtubs are made out of some plastic, when you step in, the floor will bend... this I have never experienced before.
Breakfast is simple and nothing to dream about. However, the food is fresh, if you see the guy making the omelettes, send him my regards, because he only showed up once during my stay.
Be sure to dine outside, I tried once the Indian restaurant (which was ok, but overpriced for the quality served) and the Italian spot, which was a total failure. I should have noticed when stepping inside, as literally nobody was in there, except some waiters standing around looking very bored. The quality of service and food was disastrous, waiters brought starters and main course together (although we explicitly asked them not to do so), forgot some of our orders. The pizza I received looked like directly from the deep freezer and it tasted of fish (although there was no fish supposed to be on top).

The worst about the hotel however is the nightclubs in the first floors. You will hear the beat going all night long, although I usually have a very deep sleep, I woke up a couple of times and had a hard time to go back to sleep. Even when asking for another room, I would still hear the beat going.

When in a hurry, printing documents in the business center will eventually result in being late for appointments.

Service and personnel of the hotel was very attentive, every wish I had was fulfilled.

Unless you want to pay high price for a couple of sleepless nights and dirty rooms, do not go there, there's plenty of other hotels in Abu Dhabi, just be sure to book in advance.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mastemah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.3 mi away
Al Diar Mina Hotel
Al Diar Mina Hotel
#92 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
81 reviews
6.0 mi away
Al Diar Dana Hotel
Al Diar Dana Hotel
#75 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nehal Hotel by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
#97 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Abu Dhabi City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Diar Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Diar Capital Hotel

Property: Al Diar Capital Hotel
Address: Al Diar Capital Hotel Al Meena St | P.O. Box 73837, Abu Dhabi 73837, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Diar Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Diar Capital Hotel is located in the heart of Abu Dhabi's business district and is close to the most popular shopping malls in the city. The hotel is also in close proximity to several city attractions. It is just a short walk from Corniche (the local picturesque beach), 35 minutes drive from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 20 minutes from Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Center and 20 minutes from Yas Marina Circuit and the Ferrari World. Whether it's business, pleasure or long term abode, Al Diar Capital Hotel has something for everyone. There are plenty of ways to stay fit or unwind too with the hotel's gymnasium, spa, beauty salon, sauna cabins and aerobics studio. For the business traveler the hotel has a fully equipped work station with a host of facilities such as unlimited high speed internet, faxing & photocopying and other secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Diar Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing