We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week was enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Diar Capital Hotel
Ranked #80 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Good rooms, helpful staff, BUT if you are jettlagged, be advised that the building across the street is being demolished. The demo crew are determined to break the building into small bits of concrete and to drop every bit into a steel pipe, and let it clang and rattle all the way to the steel receiver. If you have a city side room, you will not be able to get any sleep after 7 am.
Ok,, that is not the hotels fault.
On the other hand.. at this hotel,, breakfast is greatly overcharged. 75dhrs. or about $20 for a minimal breakfast. This is ridicules.
And for the last issue.. the internet, does not work.. I stayed in room 1016, near the lift, and the internet, well... I just does not work. In fact, there were guests hanging out in the corridor, trying to get internet connection so that they could book a different hotel.
It is amazing to me, that the GM would allow this hotel to have such bad internet service. It is an add on, you have to pay for it,, and then, it just does not work.
It is NOT ACCEPTABLE for a business hotel, and if Capital is not a business hotel, then just what is it? There is no swimming pool.
During my stay, there was no music from Rock Bottom because of Ramadan,, but if you are going to stay here, get a room high level, as far from the elevators as possible, or the pounding from the bar is enough to wake the dead.

Room Tip: get a room as high of floor as possible, and then away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reginald Dougla... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlDiarCapitalHotel, Management at Al Diar Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Al Diar Capital Hotel and for taking out time to provide your feedback. We are pleased that you found our staff helpful and rooms praiseworthy. We assure to offer one-of-a-kind stay at Al Diar Capital Hotel to meet every need of guests. Located in the heart of Abu Dhabi’s business district, we are a preferred choice among travelers. The most popular shopping malls of the city are in proximity to our property that makes for a prefect stay. Our personalized services and quietly reassuring atmosphere make us a preferred business hotel in the city.

Our restaurants serve an excellent selection of authentic cuisine along with live entertainment and music that make for a unique dining experience. Our team strives to serve guests with utmost hospitality to make the stay comfortable however regret the discomfort caused to you. The concerns highlighted by you have been noted by us and would be investigated to make changes, as applicable. Your feedback is highly important that enable us to enhance our services.

We look forward to serve you again and promise to provide you better stay next time you check in with us.

Regards,
Management
Al Diar Capital Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

The Capital is just a solid place to stay as far as accomodatuon is concerned. It is an "Al Diar" hotel and they have several places in and around Abu Dhabi. Most of their places are not luxurious but offer value for money places. That as far as the accomodation is concerned. The Capital also offers a few night-spots and restaurants. It can be a little strange going to the Chinese restaurant (the best chinese food outside of China, or so they asssure visitors on the billboard outside) Inside the restaurant, there is not a chinaman (or woman) to be seen and asking for a menu in Chinese will disappoint, as will the somewhat dysfunctional response from the Filipino waitress. However, there are several more establishments under the Capital's roof, so many in fact that it is indeed difficult to find a room that is not within noise fall-out of a bar or restaurant. Most notorious of these places - and the noisiest - is "Rock Bottom". At time of writing, the band here is a group of individuals who are so charmed by their own "coolness' that it is toe-curling to listen to them. Fortunately, when they stop talking and start playing they are really quite good. What's the best thing about Rock Bottom? Friday lunchtimes where they remain one of the few places in Abu Dhabi that offer a Friday Brunch Buffet for a reasonable price and at that time of the day the place is mercifully quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WordWarrior82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Al Diar Capital Hotel. We are pleased to note that you were satisfied with the accommodation. Our goal is to provide our guests with top-notch services and amenities at a value for money. We thank you for your feedback on our restaurants and it is good to note that you enjoyed your visit to Rock Bottom as well as the Friday Brunch Buffet.

We would like to express gratitude for your valuable time and look forward to welcome you again to our property.

Regards,
Management
Capital Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is a pretty good hotel, especially for low price. The room is nice and comfortable. Bathroom is clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kangam00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlDiarCapitalHotel, General Manager at Al Diar Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for checking into Capital Hotel and your feedback. It is delightful to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Centrally located in Abu Dhabi, we try to offer our guests value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Capital Hotel.

Regards,
Management
Capital Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Just back from a trip to Abu Dhabi where we stayed at this hotel in the city. Despite the reviews warning of the noise from the bar, we booked, but specifically requested a quiet room away from the bar. However, EVERY night until around 3am i was kept awake by the music so was not impressed! The room itself is lovely, very spacious, so it was unfortunate our experience was spolit by the noise. Also, note that the hotel is surrounded by construction as there is major cinstruction in progress so there was noise from this in a morning too but that was ok as we were out early for the Grand Prix in a morning. Hotel staff were quite rude and unhelpful, kept us waiting approx 30mins to check-in at 4am in the morning, it wasn't as if the reception was busy at this time in the morning!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmmaB1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlDiarCapitalHotel, General Manager at Al Diar Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Capital Hotel. We regret that you had less than a pleasant experience during your stay. Your feedback is an essential tool for us to maintain and enhance our services. We assure you that the concerns highlighted by you will be thoroughly investigated and corrective measures will be taken.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Capital Hotel and offering you a better stay experience the next time you check in with us.

Regards,
Management
Capital Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Elegant and decent accomodation.
Superb food (indian, kerla), good access to city attractions and offices
Good for business as well as trourists
Resevrvation are easily available at least for corporate guests.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MukundH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Al Diar Capital for just over a month when we relocated to Abu Dhabi. His employer had booked the room for us, so fortunately we didn't have to pay for staying at what I can only call a very mediocre hotel.

The rooms are fine. Nothing special, just ok. They have a mini fridge and a little sink area, as well as a water boiler to make tea. I know there are several rooms on each floor that have kitchenettes, but we didn't stay in one of those.
Breakfast is ridiculously overpriced at 60Dhs per person, the hot food is distasteful and most of the bread is at least a day old. The fresh fruit is hit and miss, sometimes it's nice and ripe and other times it's not. Other than that your choices are limited to cereal and boiled eggs. Not very inspired.
The room service food is absolutely awful. With the exception of the Arabic mezze platter and the Arabic mixed grill, which are OK (I assume the chef is an Arab), every single dish is a complete mess. We got served burned pizza with burned cheese on top, half-raw meat, disgusting pasta with sauce straight from a tin can, etc.

The staff at the breakfast buffet and the cleaning people are really very friendly. The front desk people on the other hand don't seem to be too motivated, but we had no bad experiences with them.
During our stay, the fire alarm went off at least 6 or 7 times, sometimes in the middle of the night. This was extremely annoying, and I can only assume they are trying to fix it as there were "scheduled fire alarm tests" twice which we got informed about. There was no apology from the hotel staff for waking us up in the middle of the night, which we found extremely bad service.

All in all, I really wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. If you have no choice but to stay here, make sure your room is on the 8th floor or higher. We stayed on the 9th and the noise from the nightclub downstairs thankfully did not reach that high.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mizri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I had a three night stay in Capital Hotel and my experience was not great and at the most can be termed below average. I left with the feeling of being overcharged for mediocre standards of food and service.
Rooms at Capital are OK. Decor is nothing special. Bathroom is a bit cramped but passable.
Breakfast buffet at their top floor restaurant was pedestrian. Very few varieties, cold food.
Sleep quality is another issue for a business traveller with thumping sounds of their disco disturb you a lot especially if you are at a lower floor.
Service is discourteous with arrogant staff manning the front office.
Not Recommended.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
1.6 mi away
Al Diar Mina Hotel
Al Diar Mina Hotel
#103 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
89 reviews
6.5 mi away
Al Diar Dana Hotel
Al Diar Dana Hotel
#77 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
116 reviews
3.0 mi away
One to One Hotel - The Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
#107 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bin Majid Nehal
Bin Majid Nehal
#74 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
135 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Diar Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Diar Capital Hotel

Address: Mina Road | P.O. Box 73837, Abu Dhabi 73837, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £42 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Diar Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Diar Capital Hotel is located in the heart of Abu Dhabi's business district and is close to the most popular shopping malls in the city. The hotel is also in close proximity to several city attractions. It is just a short walk from Corniche (the local picturesque beach), 35 minutes drive from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 20 minutes from Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Center and 20 minutes from Yas Marina Circuit and the Ferrari World. Whether it's business, pleasure or long term abode, Al Diar Capital Hotel has something for everyone. There are plenty of ways to stay fit or unwind too with the hotel's gymnasium, spa, beauty salon, sauna cabins and aerobics studio. For the business traveler the hotel has a fully equipped work station with a host of facilities such as unlimited high speed internet, faxing & photocopying and other secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Diar Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing