We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value and very noisy..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Diar Capital Hotel
Ranked #88 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
East Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor value and very noisy..”
Reviewed 22 October 2009

The hotel has a disco / night club on the 3rd floor and a bar on the ground floor. Both are open until 3:30am most nights. The noise projects up to the 7th floor and is worst thru' the bathroom vents. Saturday night is 'Ladies" night. They ain't ladies when they are scrappin' in the car park at 4:00AM. It's a knocking shop and you can see 4 or 5 girls fighting to get into the punters cars....not my scene, if it's yours, enjoy yourself.
I complained about the 3 nights of noise, and they said that it was a special event. My local contact says it's standard and well known for prostitution.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xanthamgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    42
    34
    9
    12
See reviews for
12
16
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Really not bad, I'm suprised by those negative rewiews..I eventually can understand the comments about bars and nightclubs in the hotel, but me and my colleagues found very handy to go there after dinner. Most of all we liked the pub that also had live music shows.
The room was nice, I got the "neighbours" wiew, it wasn't much, my colleages had the "sea wiew" but it really was a huge "under construction" area and far behind you could recognize the water....
I didn't mind.
Had a blast in Abu Dhabi a nice stay in Al Diar Capital.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukasHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I was staying at Al Diar Capital hotel during May 2009. I didn't have the chance to book early in advance, which meant that there was not available hotel rooms in Abu Dhabi.
The Capital hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Abu Dhabi... something you will definitely notice when going inside. The four stars for the hotel might have been a birthday gift for the hotel's anniversary, it felt more like 3 stars (but of course, you pay the 4 star price).
The positive about the rooms is they are spacious. I don't think that the hotel has been refurbished since the opening, you will see that the interior is worn.
The bathroom has a cheap look, especially bathtubs are made out of some plastic, when you step in, the floor will bend... this I have never experienced before.
Breakfast is simple and nothing to dream about. However, the food is fresh, if you see the guy making the omelettes, send him my regards, because he only showed up once during my stay.
Be sure to dine outside, I tried once the Indian restaurant (which was ok, but overpriced for the quality served) and the Italian spot, which was a total failure. I should have noticed when stepping inside, as literally nobody was in there, except some waiters standing around looking very bored. The quality of service and food was disastrous, waiters brought starters and main course together (although we explicitly asked them not to do so), forgot some of our orders. The pizza I received looked like directly from the deep freezer and it tasted of fish (although there was no fish supposed to be on top).

The worst about the hotel however is the nightclubs in the first floors. You will hear the beat going all night long, although I usually have a very deep sleep, I woke up a couple of times and had a hard time to go back to sleep. Even when asking for another room, I would still hear the beat going.

When in a hurry, printing documents in the business center will eventually result in being late for appointments.

Service and personnel of the hotel was very attentive, every wish I had was fulfilled.

Unless you want to pay high price for a couple of sleepless nights and dirty rooms, do not go there, there's plenty of other hotels in Abu Dhabi, just be sure to book in advance.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mastemah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abu Dhabi hotels

Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I was booked into the Al-Diar Capital Hotel by the people whom I work with and after looking at the reviews here on Tripadvisor, I was a little wary and even afraid of coming to this hotel.

Those fears were quickly and easily quashed when I checked in with the courteous and professional front desk staff. The bellman took my bags to my room on the eighth floor and I was amazed at how clean and new it was.

The bathroom was spotless, the television was small, but that was minor. It was a good hotel, but the only downside was that underneath the large furniture like the bed or TV stand, it wasn't cleaned recently and you could see a bit of dust; but apart from that, it was a good hotel to stay in and I will be there again!

I did hear a bit of noise from the nightclub downstairs, but because my room was reasonably high (eighth floor), it wasn't too big a deal. I would suggest to those booking here to ask for a room on a higher floor if you have trouble with the noise at night. Good stay and a good experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheibans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Good location, frendly staff with good and fast services, clean room, problem with the parking.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Good check in and check out. That was the only good point.
Dirty: plenty of hair in the bathroom and just not a clean feeling (bed sheets, carpets...)
Awful beds and pillows.
Very noisy due to the several night clubs in the hotel (i was at the 6th floor and could hear the disco at the 2nd floor + loud TV of my neighboor till 4h30am). Couldnt sleep more than 2 hours.
No valet parking and no space to park. We were even fined.
Stuborn and unhelpful staff at the Rock Bottom (bar, night club)
For few more dirhams you can go to Al Manal Rotana, a proper and clean business hotel with all the confort required

  • Liked — quick check in
  • Disliked — noisy night clubs and no room insulation and dirty
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Biztriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2008

Staying in Abu Dhabi on business for two months. I had the misfortune to be booked into the Capital Hotel and had to move (eventually) after three weeks. Only reason I couldnt move earlier was that there is not much hotel availability in AD and so getting somewhere else was difficult.

First night I checked in was 2am. Hotel lobby was busy as the first two floors are taken up with bars and clubs. They put me on the sixth floor and despite being tired from the flight could not sleep as the music was so loud, and I mean loud enough to hear the singing clearly. Got moved next morning after complaining to the 10th floor. Music was not a problem (although you can still hear it in bathroom) but the problem is noise from outside. What appears to happen is that people are picked up by taxis from the bars and clubs in a steady stream from around 12am to 3:30am. Because the hotel has no car park the whole area is gridlocked and everyone just leans on their car horns. Dont expect to get to sleep, just lie in bed and marvel at the cacophony of noise. This will wake you up everynight, guarenteed. I expect the only place where you can get some sleep in this hotel will be the 12th floor facing the gulf.

Having said all that their are two excellent places to eat, the indian place on the first floor being excellent but with the noise, lazy service (no towels, no tea and coffee restocked, no water left in your room etc etc etc) and indifferent staff make this whole place a nightmare. If I ever have to go back to AD I will never ever set foot in the Capital Hotel again.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Noise, staff attitude, noise and the noise
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fossildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.3 mi away
Al Diar Mina Hotel
Al Diar Mina Hotel
#92 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
81 reviews
6.0 mi away
Al Diar Dana Hotel
Al Diar Dana Hotel
#75 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nehal Hotel by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
#98 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Abu Dhabi Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Diar Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Diar Capital Hotel

Property: Al Diar Capital Hotel
Address: Al Diar Capital Hotel Al Meena St | P.O. Box 73837, Abu Dhabi 73837, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Diar Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Diar Capital Hotel is located in the heart of Abu Dhabi's business district and is close to the most popular shopping malls in the city. The hotel is also in close proximity to several city attractions. It is just a short walk from Corniche (the local picturesque beach), 35 minutes drive from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 20 minutes from Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Center and 20 minutes from Yas Marina Circuit and the Ferrari World. Whether it's business, pleasure or long term abode, Al Diar Capital Hotel has something for everyone. There are plenty of ways to stay fit or unwind too with the hotel's gymnasium, spa, beauty salon, sauna cabins and aerobics studio. For the business traveler the hotel has a fully equipped work station with a host of facilities such as unlimited high speed internet, faxing & photocopying and other secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Al Diar Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing