We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Rooms, Comfortable but without view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a night with family and left satisfied. Clean with stylish facilities are good about the rooms. The TV channels are clear as well. Beds are comfortable with nice cushioning. Plug points are only on the reading table and inconvenient if you want to charge your phone lying on bed. However the rooms don't have any view.

Room Tip: Not much choice but higher floor preferable
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PinakiBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierreDelfau, General Manager at Southern Sun Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear PinakiBanerjee,

Thank you for staying with us with your family recently and I am glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed the room and our facilities.

We really valued such feedback as it helps us in improving our services. Regarding the view, may I suggest that should you return, to request a higher floor room with a sea view and we will endeavour to allocate one.

We all look forward to seeing you back.

Best regards,

Pierre Delfau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,319 - 1,325 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We booked a hotel in Abu Dhabi, just for sightseeing Abu Dhabi for a few days.
We came into The Southern Sun hotel, The staff was so nice that we felt immidiatly welcome in the Hotel. The room was super, it was big and luxe... Nice bathroom, nice beds and space enough.
The breakfast was super..... so many choice, good service, and the taste was also nice....
Sushi, Bread, Dim Sum... eggs, live cooking......

The staff helped us also for tickets to Ferrari world, gave some good pointers what to See in Abu Dhabi...

Book this Hotel, you wont regret it !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MikeVanKem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierreDelfau, General Manager at Southern Sun Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear MikeVanKem,

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun during your recent visit to Abu Dhabi and I glad that we did not disappoint you and had a good experience with us.

It is always rewarding to read comments that point towards how friendly our Associates are, as this is really something we promote and encourage within the hotel.

We value your feedback and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Pierre Delfau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This new hotel is just fabulous. Me n my friends came here for dinner. From the lobby to the food to service everything was perfect. I ate alot but did'nt feel guilty later because their food is cooked in a simple healthy way. We ordered the meat, chicken and tiger prawn grills with salad and fries. I loved the tiger prawns it was cooked and marinated just right. Definently recommand it to anyone for romantic dinner or night out with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank aysha j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierreDelfau, General Manager at Southern Sun Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear aysha j,

Thank you for trying our Middle Eastern Restaurant recently, Kahraman, and I am glad that you had a great experience.

Our concept is to delight the palates and as commented, although there was a lot of dishes, you did not feel uncomfortable.

Next time, please try our Sushi Bar on Mezzanine 3 or our superb Steak House, The Foundry, opened at night. Hytes Bar on the 27th floor is also now opened offering fantastic views of the capital.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Pierre Delfau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

4* hotel, with 5* services, facilities and a very very kind staff (the pool lifeguards especially). I would recommend the hotel for business and also family trips. Thank you guys and see you next time!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
3  Thank HellyHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierreDelfau, General Manager at Southern Sun Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Helly HH,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am glad that we exceeded your expectations as a 4 Star hotel and you felt more like this was a 5 star.

See you next time!

Best regards,

Pierre Delfau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We are already familiar with the amazing service and standards of Southern Sun based on the previous hotel that they managed in Downtown Dubai, they have not failed to amaze us once again on our visit last weekend. The hotel lobby was very inviting and gives you a totally different impression, very modern and very 5-star. The Assistant Front Office Manager Ms. Jeva has given us a very warm welcome and have given us the tour of the hotel. The facilities of the hotel are amazing specially the pool and the gym, it is top notch. The room is very clean and fresh plus it offers a very big space that really defines comfort, despite seeing a Mosque outside, we did not hear any noise at all. We had a superb dinner in "The Foundry" the staff were very attentive and they know what they were doing, the manager of the restaurant made sure to check if everything was okay. the food was incomparable, we had the steak that was super duper delicious -- and also their breakfast buffet was super. This hotel is beyond expectation from the excellent service to the very good food that they offer ...wait till the other outlets will open, this hotel is watch out for :-) and we will definitely tell all our friends to stay there....

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, the AC works perfectly and we know that it is the same in all the rooms...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mari-in-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierreDelfau, General Manager at Southern Sun Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Marilen L,

So glad to read that you remembered us from our previous two hotels in Downtown Dubai but I am even more delighted to read that we exceeded all your expectations, this time in Abu Dhabi.

As you already know from your past experience with Southern Sun, is that our Associates really make the difference and Jeva showed that we have not changed in that aspect. The Foundry is indeed a very special Steak House at night and our Food & Beverage Team really value your feedback on your meal there as well as the comments on breakfast.

Thank you for this most valued feedback and welcome back to the Southern Sun family.

Best regards,

Pierre Delfau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Brand new hotel with great furnishings, great people and a convenient location. Outstanding food service, beautiful restaurants, terrific presentation. Highly recommended! There is construction in the area, but it will be finished soon enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierreDelfau, General Manager at Southern Sun Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Charles S,

Thank you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Such feedback is always important to us especially since we are a new hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our food & beverage facilities and that other areas did not disappoint either.

Looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Pierre Delfau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff at the hotel is very helpful & nice.
The hotel is very new and nicely built.
The room is very modern and spaciously built. The foundry where I had my breakfast was very nice & the staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
3  Thank Wanniarachchuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierreDelfau, General Manager at Southern Sun Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Wanniarachchuge,

Thank you for trying this new hotel during your stay in Abu Dhabi and also, for taking the time to write this review.

I am really delighted to see we did not disappoint you and we all look forward to seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Pierre Delfau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,781 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
#51 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
9.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Abu Dhabi

Address: Al Mina Street | Al Zahiya, Abu Dhabi 51997, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £40 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A total of 353 en-suite rooms and suites comprise the luxurious accommodation offered at the hotel. Contemporary with Arabesque influences, each guest room ensures the utmost in comfort and privacy. A host of in-room amenities are offered, from complimentary WiFi access, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes, mini bar, to many other comforts that enhance your sense of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing