We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real palace of Abu Dhabi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The real palace of Abu Dhabi”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at the Shangri La for 4 nights. They were the best four nights in a hotel I have ever spent. The premier room we stayed in was spacious and beautiful, with free wi-fi, a lovely bathroom with L'occitaine products, a private balcony and a well-stocked minibar. The buffet breakfast was unlike any hotel breakfast we have ever experienced. If you want it - they got it, including a chocolate fountain! The facilities were vast and luxurious; including a well-equipped gym, separate men/women's change room with their own spa/sauna rooms, and 5 pools all in different areas of the complex. Not to mention the staff were all incredibly hospitable and attentive. Our personal housekeeper took the initiative of providing us with a mousepad after noticing that we did not have one, without us even having to ask. The hotel's french restaurant, Bordeau was phenomenal, both the food and the service was exceptional. We ordered the oysters, duck breast and beef, which were all suberb and finished with the chocolate extravaganza for dessert. That night we ate like kings. The only downside is the location, as it is a fair drive from Abu Dhabi's main attractions, luckily the taxis are relatively cheap and readily available. Overall, a fantastic hotel which I would recommend to anybody staying in Abu Dhabi, we were sad to leave, however have high hopes that we will return in the near future.

Room Tip: Booked through a travel agent who got us a premier room at cheaper rates as opposed to the hotel'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,796
    384
    129
    41
    40
See reviews for
589
1,051
101
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I stayed in this hotel in the off-peak season.
The good :
-I got an amazing deal (around USD 165 per night) for the Premier Room.
- Other than the late check in mishap, the staff were very friendly(would have given Service 5 stars if it wasnt for late check in)
- Spacious room
- Room was clean
- Free high speed internet in room and hotel
- Good Arabic Breakfast (room service)
- Told hotel in advance i was celebrating my Anniversary. They provided my wife with roses upon arrival as well as a tasty cake in the room

The Bad :
- Check In is supposed to me at 2pm, but they made me wait 2hrs for the room to "be cleaned". I was in the room at 4pm
- The Buffet area was like a zoo. We were delayed for check in and were told to go down to the buffet area to eat while we wait (food not on the house, only tea was on the house). There was almost no seat available. It seemed like everyone else was waiting for their room and were forced to eat while they wait. It was so crowded my wife and i were forced to order al le carte. It was alright
- The main pool is very small for the size of the hotel/resort
- Spa was over priced.
- The whole hotel smelled like ciggerates. Apprently you can smoke anywhere, even in non -smoking rooms (yes they provide ash trays and matches in non smoking rooms).This is an Abu Dhabi wide problem but i cant help but deduct one point in cleanliness. Dubai enforces non smoking law much more seriously

All in all i enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The best thing was the price i got for the room (which im sure will be MUCH higher in a few months).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlGanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Coming from Dubai, there were no signs to get there. The hotel exterior is beautiful and set right in front of the mosque with a private beach so all this was a plus. The pool facility was great too but more for families as there was too much noise. The spa is a bit overpriced with min massage starting at 500 dhs. I am a bit disappointed as I was expecting Dubai standard hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahdamjad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed in Shangri-La for 3 days.I must tell you that that hotel impressed me in all ways!
The employees were very kind and professional! After arrival,one attendat showed us the property and gave us all information about the hotel.
The breakfast was perfect! Nothing that you will miss!The property has 2 pools.
One thing that was not was very comortable-is the situation of that hotel.It is situated a bit outside of the city.But the hotel provide free shuttle service 4 times a day.Otherwise-take a taxi.
Hotel participates in Airline Milage programms.
That hotel and SERVICE ist really TOP!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wingsLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed for five days and the hotel was absolutely fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the transfer in a hotel executive car from Dubai was excellent. The room was a very good size with a large bathroom and a balcony. Wifi was free and there were excellent amenities. Hajar sent a kids bathrobe and slippers for my young son and was always very helpful. We used the abra (boat) to the souk which was a lot of fun. The restaurants were great as were their swimming pools and the beach. Their service was extremely good and all the staff were very pleasant. The spa was excellent and they had a good gym. The decor and the facilities are very nice.Their chinese restaurant was particularly nice. The light switches in the room are very complicated. Otherwise, it's a fantastic place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at the Shangri La twice in the past year, and it was very relaxing both times.
They have the BEST Breakfast in the WORLD. Couldn't get enough of it! They had everything thing you could think of freshly made.

The reason I always choose this hotel in Abu Dhabi is the Chedi Spa. I tried the Herbal Harmony massage, and the hot stone massage, and the therapist was really good. The only problem was the difficulty in finding appointments.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for anyone, and I would definitely go back whenever i get the chance.

THANK YOU SHANGRI LA!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatmama_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I stayed in the Shangri-La for two nights (really one long day from 6am to midnight). It is a beautiful and luxurious hotel. My room was not huge but well designed, with free internet. We had lunch in the restaurant and it is world-class, with Japanese, Indian, Thai and other food, and great dessert. We also had dinner at the Thai restaurant at night and it was great. Overall: a superb place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhinelandAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,179 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,351 reviews
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,098 reviews
9.2 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#25 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing