We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place for refreshing Brakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Place for refreshing Brakes”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The unique combination of the calm beach with inspiring views across the see bay to the well-iluminated mosque. The spacious rooms with well-decorated doors and bathrooms. Staff OK, tasty coctails at the pool bar...number of restaurants close by at the souk.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ground floor suitable for families with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    382
    129
    41
    40
See reviews for
586
1,042
100
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
EU
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

we stayed at this hotel several times past year and we always had an excellent experience. the guest relations manager remembered our preferences from our 1st stay, ensured we have the nicest room available, was very friendly to our kids, arranged nannies, booked dinners for us, recommended evening entertainment. upon checking in 2 weeks ago for our vacation the warm greeting wasn't there, our requested room was not available and we didn't feel welcomed like on our previous stays. no usual small amenities and welcome gifts for our children and when I asked at the front desk to check why our room wasn't available, I was comfronted by a very rude old lady who basically told me like it or not thats what you get. after further inquieries I found out that she was the hotel manager and the previous guest relations manager left to our children and our utter dissapointment. we decided to cut our stay short and we moved to fairmont next door, where we were looked after well.
we are highly dissapointed with our last stay at shangri la abu dhabi and after 3 pleasant visits we decided not to return ever as for the money we paying we expect at least the same level of service we experienced before, not what we had last time.
the hotel is the most beautiful we have ever stayed at, it is unfortunate that without the right people, it is just a nicely designed building nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ichigosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simrishamn, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just love it! Staff is attentive without being pushy. Room I had last time had a fantastic walk in closet. Plus that you just walk a few minutes to the souk where Abu Dhabis expats hang out in bars & restaurants.
Make sure you get a room that is not too far away from lobby though. Can be long walks!

Room Tip: Ask for one w walk in closet. AND - make sure you are not too far away from the lobby. As the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z-brox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just returned from a short half-term break, Hotel well equipped, clean, staff very attentive, concierge very helpful (not so the restaurant booking desk though!) but the major gripe was the delay in receiving beverages! Seemed that there was plenty of waiters but limited bar staff, they took umbrage if you went to the pool bar yourself but often waited 20 minutes for drinks to be delivered. Same with coffee at breakfast.

Final bit of criticism was that the buffet seafood dinner on Monday nights, whilst having an excellent selection with bountiful choices most of the hot courses were at the best luke warm!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldfield_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Great views across the water to the mosque, go soon, as it looks like building work will soon scupper the view. standard quality for a shrangri-la, nice rooms, bathrooms, all very spacious and excellent standard. service in the hotel restaurant one evening was sadly not great, and when we complained, there was a lot of time spent blaming each other (staff) rather than dealing with the issue. Good location, excellent bus service to get into town and local attractions, nice pool, excellent pool service, and good restaurants in the adjoining bazaar. becuase of the location, business hotel as well as pleasure.

Room Tip: ask for a view to the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillsyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The hotel is perfect to relax and just be your self. The rooms and facilities are very comfortable. Very nice bathroom. The viwes are great. Chi Spa is a wonderful experiance.

The only down side is that the room can get humid. You'll need to set the A/C at a very low temp to overcome the humidity.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhmadAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

A friend who lives in Abu Dhabi recommended we stay here, and boy are we glad we did. What sets this hotel apart from the rest is the quality of the staff. From the moment Diba welcomed us in the lobby to Membar taking our drinks orders at the hotel pool bar to Joseph remembering our names and special request for gluten free bread at breakfast, we were treated to first class customer service by the highly trained staff of the Shangri La for the duration of our stay. This coupled with spacious rooms with an Arabian touch, and stunning views of the Grand Mosque are reason alone to stay here. Don't hesitate to book.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelkat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,150 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,324 reviews
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,059 reviews
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing