We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #14 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed only one night so our experience of this hotel is correspondingly limited. We were stopping off between flights on Etihad to the far east. We thought the hotel was perfect for our purpose. Our "deluxe" room (which I think is their standard basic room) was extremely comfortable, very well furnished and equipped and surprisingly spacious (much more so than any photographs I have seen would lead you to suppose). The staff were very helpful and the overall standard of design and fitting out of the property is very high. We had an excellent dinner on the outdoor terrace of their Chinese restaurant although it is a little chilly outdoors in December after night fall. We also had a drink on the main terrace overlooking the pool with a view of the grand Mosque in the distance. I was disappointed by the view of the Mosque at night; the floodlighting does not do the building justice and the minarets are so covered in warning lights for aircraft that you might easily mistake it for an indusrtrial complex. I was also disappointed by the brightly lit hinterland which is much more built up than photographs would suggest and the "beach" appears very limited in size - not next to the sea as such but a thin inlet or creek which seems to be entirely surrounded by buildings. While I appreciate that it may not be fair to judge the surroundings on the basis of a single overnight stay, I am not sure that I would be drawn back to the location. Having said that, the hotel itself is excellent and we really liked the indoor bar off the lobby and the amazing selection at breakfast time in the huge buffet restaurant. While I am not a fan of buffet breakfasts, the buffet here almost won me over and there is ample space to cater even for the busiest times. If I ever had to stay in Abu Dhabi again, I would certainly bear this hotel in mind.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irishguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,407)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,815 - 1,821 of 2,408 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

Perfect room for romantic stay, great shower with Loccitane amenities. The attention to details is impressive. The staff is very nice. The restaurants are very good and the food is not expensive. The view is amazing. And the price is good.
What else would guests want?

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franbrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed here for work last year and I would say its one of my favourite hotels. Upon entering the whole reception area feels very warming and welcoming, there are figs which you can help yourself to and the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is very charming and elegant throughout.

The room itself was lovely. I had a great view of the mosque and a huge balcony. The bathroom was really well stocked with L'Occitane toiletries, and it just felt like so much care had been put into the design of the room. The bed was a little hard for my liking but this is personal preference. Also I do remember there to be one or two small lights of the tv or other things shining, which is always a pet hate as although small I can always notice it when I sleep! But this is me being petty...

I ate in the Sofra Bvd restaurant a few times - amazing food, such a great variety and just so much choice! Honestly I could have eaten for hours if I hadnt been so full up! You can eat outside near to the pool, and stare into the distance and the mosque, or people watch. I also drank in the small glam looking bar, very nice and cosy feeling. And had drinks at Pearls and Caviar, again a lovely location (just a bit of a pain to get to)

I went to eat one night up the road at the Fairmont, and was so glad to be staying at the Shangri-La. I love the way its spread out and feels like a resort, as well as keeping to a Middle Eastern theme. The Fairmont was a bit modern and weird, maybe just not to my taste (although I love the building from the outside)

Location wise it isnt the best as there isnt much around, apart from the other few hotels, so you would have to get a taxi to go anywhere, but if you dont want to leave the hotel its perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for one with view of the mosque (this might be all of them though!)
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Spent our honeymoon here for 8 nights after marrying in Sorentto, Italy.

The only way to describe this hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Selected a premier room, you could easily live in this room.....
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yiddo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have waited until now to post this review in the hope that Shangri -La hotels would have contacted me after I completed their survey at the end of our holiday but to no avail.
We booked a 1 bedroom suite for 2 weeks but on arrival were told we had been "upgraded" to a premier room in the main hotel so we would not have to walk so far for breakfast!!. Being familiar with this ploy we insisted on the suite we had booked but were told none were available as some guests had extended their stay.
Eventually a Studio suite was given to us the following day and we were quite happy with it. At the end of our stay we asked for a late check-out ,offering to pay, but were told the hotel was full. Unlike other Shangri - la hotels we have stayed in (Oman for example) there were no facilities for guests leaving late in the evening other than using the pool changing rooms etc.
I have no complaints about the hotel - the pool was good,all of the restaurants and most of the staff were excellent but I was disappointed that the management did not respond to my comments on the survey and offer an apology for the inconvenience of having to argue our case late at night after a long flight and change rooms the next day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reta289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have recently spent 2 nights at the Shangri-la in Abu Dhabi. This is truly a great place to stay for a few days. I have tried to think of anything that was not perfect or not really good, but I could not find any ! It is really a great place : rooms are beautiful, clean, and well equipped. The staff is very friendly and always taking care of you. The main restaurant is offering great buffets for the morning breakfast and the evening dinner (I have not tried it for lunch). The view on the Grand Mosque is beautiful. The access to the beach nearby is easy, etc etc.... All in all, this is a true 5-stars experience and a great place to stay. I would surely recommend it !

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benoit999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Spent Christmas Day at the Shangri-La. First class meal with excellent service. The choir singing carols and visit from Santa made it very special. Just love this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cath61Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,220 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,385 reviews
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,133 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £130 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing