We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Sofitel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,659)
Filter reviews
2,659 results
Traveller rating
2,011
424
139
43
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,011
424
139
43
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubgrand mosquevietnamese restaurantbord eausofra bldchi spapearls caviarinfinity poolpremier roomchocolate fountainjet skinearby soukcool boxsheikh zayed mosquebeautiful hotelthe main hotelbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,983 - 1,988 of 2,659 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the first night of our recent visit to Abu Dhabi to see our son who is working there for six months. He recommended it as it is not too far from the airport where we were arriving late. We had a wonderful welcome and were shown straight to our room (444) which has a lovely balcony overlooking the grounds of the hotel. Our son had arranged a bottle of champagne for us on arrival and this was waiting for us. He then arrived so we sat on the balcony sipping chilled champagne and eating strawberries and cream. The girl who showed us to our room could not have been more welcoming.

We decided to dine outside at Hoi Ann, the Vietnamese restaurant, which was very good indeed. Our son said it was the best meal he had had in Abu Dhabi. We then had breakfast in our room as we were leaving that morning to go to the Qasr al Sarab Hotel in the desert. We therefore only had a very short stay at the Shangri La but it could not have been bettered.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I enjoy my stay at the hotel, the food in room dinning was Excellent and they deliver it on time.
the bathroom space and the room according to the price matchable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mansourx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

just returned from shangrila abu dhabi. first of all would like to say we were a little aprehensive regarding the location of the hotel but the hotel surroundings ,rooms and personal touches from all of the staff totally outweighed the location dilemma. upon arrival greeted by doorman dressed in full arabic uniform showed into grand reception area greeted again by two asian door ladies full of smiles. first impressions last and this was a wonderfull first impression. arrived 5 hours earlier than check in but was looked after by the service manager marianna who was very friendly and made you feel at ease straight away. she gave us a temporary room to shower and relax then provided our pre booked room an hour earlier than expected. from start to finish the staff were really friendly and personable towards us from the lifeguards to the managers of the hotel. the property is grand and the rooms are beautiful (premium room was much larger than standard room) all in all we would most definately stay at this hotel again on returning to abu dhabi. last note we travelled with our 6 year old daughter ,being no childrens club at the hotel dont let this put you off because they do cater for children in a small capacity which was enough for us. excellent hotel

Room Tip: premium room on right hand side of hotel has better view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellabongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

On the whole this is a great hotel. We stayed for 7 nights in Abu Dhabi as an alternative to Dubai which continues to look like a building site.

Positives:

Excellent food. Well appointed spacious rooms with nice balconies. Very good attentive house keeping. Friendly staff.

Negatives:

Not sure that the beach is what you would expect. I've always considered a beach to be by the sea. The beaches at the Shangri-la are on a river bank! The two main pools by the hotel can get very crowded with little privacy (the sun loungers are placed all around the pool so you feel that you are being continually watched by someone).

The service at the buffet (both breakfast and in the evening) can be erratic and inconsistent. The staff are very friendly but don't appear to have set areas. Consequently you can be forgotten or subject to several waiters at any one time.

The food in the evening buffet is excellent (although it is expensive at 226 AED per person) but none of the dishes are labelled. Therefore you don't always know what you have selected (particulary the case with the numerous curry dishes). You could ask one of the many chefs but they are often too occupied when the buffet is busy. Descriptions by the food would improve the buffet considerably.

Tips:

There are two other swimming pools just past the souk (3 minute walk from the Hotel). These are almost deserted and are much more enjoyable.

Easily missed (only evident by an unattractive 1980's fridge display) is the barbecue by the side of the main hotel pool. Excellent food and service here.

In the souk, there is a small very well equipped supermarket. Great for buying some rolls and cheese and having lunch on the balcony of your room (and considerably cheaper than having lunch in the hotel).

Room Tip: The balcony rooms offer more privacy than those on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorax62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Excellent hotel. The staff shows a lot of hospitality in order to create the real Shangri-La feeling for you in Abu Dabhi. The Premier King room is very comfortabel and room with much space in a semi arabic style.The cleaning of the room is execellent.is
The breakfast is not cheap but a winner with a wide range of food.. Very good with a kind staff in morining.

A minus with the balconydoor open is the noise from the roadtraffic across the bridge and from the airtraffic. Sometimes the music from the Pearls and Caviarclub is more than acceptable.

The distance to Abu Dhabicity is more than expected. It takes a 20 minutes taxidrive tl get in
the center of Abu Dhabi but the taxicosts are surpisingly very moderate.

The view to the Grand Mosque is amazing.

A loungechair at the pool is overpriced but the view to the Grand Mosque compensates a lot.

Eating outside at the pool requires a lot of patience. The service collapsed completly. Long waiting for drinks and food. Cold food in the end. Nerving. Where is the manager?.
Wednesdayevening when is buffetday it is better the avoid the restaurant. Complete chaos.

However the overall conclusion is try the Shangri-La in Abu Dhabi. You won't regret.

Room Tip: A premier king room is value for money at its best. Third floor is very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sansprejudice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews