We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Yes Yes Yes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #12 of 131 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Yes Yes Yes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed for three nights only but what a place. An immaculate hotel with the most helpful and friendly staff I have ever meet in any hotel, great food (Beef Rendang is simply out of this world), great pool, great rooms and if you are lucky enough a view of the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque which looks fantastic any time of day.
Its been almost two weeks since my wife and I stayed here but I can't stop talking about the place. Whilst the hotel is approxiamately 30 minutes from Abu Dhabi centre the hotel do supply a free shuttle bus that will take you there and bring you back. We were on a relaxing holiday so were quite happy to have lazy days by the pool, although we did do a desert safari (a brilliant afternoon and evening out).
The concierges are fantastic and really helpful and are surprisingly quick to learn your name - a great touch that makes you feel special. All the staff are beautifully dressed and will go out of their way to help you, provide advice and ensure that you enjoy your stay.
The food at this hotel is amazing, breakfast is a feast to be enjoyed - don't rush it, evening meal is also mouthwatering and with three chocolate fountains (milk, dark and white) my wife was in paradise. The chefs and the waiting staff are brilliant and we enjoyed talking and laughing with them.
I wasn't expecting the Shangri La to be poor by any stretch but boy oh boy have they got this one right. If you find fault with this hotel, the service or the food then you must live somewhere where the rivers flow with honey, the sun shines 24 hours a day.
Well done Shangri La - this place is an absolute gem.

Room Tip: We emailed the hotel prior to arrival and asked for a room on a high floor, (there are only seven an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ICR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,676
    362
    121
    38
    35
See reviews for
550
990
93
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We have travelled for last 7 seven weeks across three continents and stayed in quite a few 5 star hotels and this would be the top experience we have had. From staff who could not do enough to help, to a lovely room with a view of the Mosque, a wonderful dinner in their French restaurant and scrumptious breakfast we cannot say enough for our experience of this hotel. We left by taxi for the airport only to be met by the hotels airport porter who assisted us with our baggage from taxi to terminal. Wow!! what an out of the box experience. Should be at least a six star.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

A beautiful and professional hotel. On arrival the lady on reception told us she had moved us to a room nearer to all the amenities and with a better view. This was true, the view we had was stunning, looking directly at the grand mosque. Good sized room and very comfortable.
The staff were very professional, always somebody on hand to help and always with a smile.
We booked into the spa and asked reception directions. Straight away was a hotel club buggy to take us as they insisted it was too hot outside to walk there.
The spa really was magnificent, i think probably the best i have ever been to. I felt at ease, comfortable and very relaxed from the moment i stepped in there. It's a wonder i could walk out after, the treatment was so good i actually dozed off!!
A pleasant way to pass time in the hotel is by getting an abra (traditional arabic boat) to the hotels souk which are connected by the waterways through the gardens. A nice little novelty.
Breakfast was enjoyable, a good choice of fresh, hot food on the buffet. You don't even have to get up to fetch a juice. A trolley is brought around to the table with juices and smoothies to choose from.
Unfortunately i can't comment on the restaurants in the hotel as we ate out the 3 nights we were there. Which is a shame as the restaurants did look good.
Overall i think this is a lovely hotel. Luxurious, professional and i think more welcoming and intimate than the vastness and sparseness of the Emirates Palace. The Shangri La just has that little extra personal touch.
If i was to return to Abu Dhabi i would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_Dayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAX
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I only stayed here for one night but loved the hotel and it's lovely Moorish-Moroccan style and attentive service. My room faced the beach/pool/mosque so it was perfect for my visit as my purpose was to visit the Grand Mosque and just have a change from Dubai. The room was luxurious with a wonderful balcony to sit on(well after dark in June) with all the touches a super lux hotel should have though I think they could have done better than L'Occitane toiletries but that's my only real complaint and it's just a personal preference. I had the int'l buffet lunch and also breakfast in their main restaurant and room service for dinner. Service was excellent in all areas, inc. check in and out. The hotel reminds me of the Shangri-la in Muscat that I visited in 2010 in it's style and the feeling of being in such lux surroundings that you never want to leave. They offer a shuttle to the Grand Mosque, which is well worth visiting, and you can just catch a taxi when you want to return. I did use the beach area briefly too after my evening mosque tour, and they immediately set up a chair for me and brought over a cold bottle of water. I took a look at the spa but didn't have time for a treatment but it looked wonderful. They also have their own souk attached to the hotel. I can highly recommend this hotel, just wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor directly facing the Grand Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moremiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here for 4 days in March, absolutely loved every part of my stay! Fantastic rooms, great staff and make sure to ask about the free shuttle buses to Yas Island, Ferrari World, the Grand Mosque and the malls!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leahehoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

What a treat. I usually stay at the Fairmont when traveling to Abu Dhabi, but it sold-out. The hotel staff was the best I have encountered, the rooms were spotless, the location and surroundings were beautiful and the Spa was fantastic. Will definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: I had a corner room that seemed larger than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleishagravit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is amazing and is definitely worthy of its five stars! My husband and are pretty scruffy and probably not the type of people you would expect in a 5* hotel, but we were never made to feel uncomfortable and the staff were fantastic. The staff already knew our names before we stepped out of the car, and welcomed us by name each time we returned to the hotel or went to the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The attention to detail in this place is as impressive as the staff who work here.

The rooms are beautiful and have more amenities than you could think of. The beds are comfy, although a little hard for my liking, and the view of the mosque is spectacular. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the mosque and I highly recommend a visit.

The pool boys are so helpful, always giving you additional fluffy towels and water or cold towels.

I really hope I get the chance to return, I'm so glad I had the chance to experience this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazingmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#9 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#2 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Destinology, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing