We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent holiday never fails” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #14 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday never fails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I have stayed at numerous Shangri-La hotels from basic rooms to suites in Oman, Abu Dhabi, Penang and Dubai.

I have stayed at the Shangri-La in Abu Dhabi now on two occasions and it is hard to fault.
We stayed in January for five nights in a Horizon Club room and everything including the rooms and service are faultless.

Breakfast in the Horizon Club compared to other Shangri-La hotels is basic however it is of a good standard and provides what you need including a cooked option. If you require more choice at breakfast then there is another restaurant where you can eat - Sofra Bld.

Afternoon tea is buffet style and the free cocktail hour is between 18:00 - 20:00 where canapés are available and free flowing alcohol. The staff are always replenishing your glass and ensuring that everything is running smoothly. The Horizon Club lounge is quiet and comfortable with a selection of newspapers and an ideal place to people watch.

The room is comfortable, cleaned daily and turned down at night. Water is provided, a mini bar and fresh fruit along with all other amenities which you would expect from a five star hotel.

We ate at three of the restaurants in the hotel during our stay, Pearls & Caviar, Shang Palace and Hoi An, all provided excellent service and a high standard of food.

We also visited the CHI spa for a half day (4 hour) massage and pampering. Yes some people in other reviews believe that the spa is costly however this included use of the spa facilities, foot bath and rub, whole body scrub, wrap, stone massage, facial and lunch. As usual the staff in the CHI at Shangri-La are excellent and in my opinion if spa days are what you like to do then it is worth the money.

We took the free shuttle bus from the hotel into Abu Dhabi and visited Marina Mall and walked along the promenade. We got a taxi back to the hotel from Marina Mall at a cost of 50AED. Yes the hotel is about a 20 minute drive from the city however there is a free shuttle service to various malls and to the mosque. We got a taxi back as we missed the free bus.

Finally a special mention to Dev and Wilbert who worked around the pool area. Two genuinely nice people who were always happy to help. They provided excellent service, good conversation and always ensured we had everything that we needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipper2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,691
    367
    121
    39
    35
See reviews for
554
995
94
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

An excellent hotel with truely friendly and helpfull staff. The facilities are top class especially the smaller swimming pools lacated around the grounds. We had a garden room with direct access to a pool located outside the door which we had almost to ourselves. The gym and lap-pool are also excellent. Restaurants are really good but at high end hotel prices could be considered a little expensive.
Location however is at the far end of downtown Abu Dhabi which means a 30min taxi or use of the 5 times daily hotel shuttle bus. Also its on the flight path for a small military airport which can be a bit noisy at times but not a big problem. However this means its only 15 mins from the airport and 10 mins from the Grand Mosque (a must see!).
Forget about the modern souk which is attached to the hotel...its really rubbish and not worth checking out apart from a few nice restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandSue2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed here for four nights January 2013. Got marvellous upgrade as our room had been allocated to Conference delegate and as we arrived in the early hours of the morning we benefitted. Excellent service from all members of staff who manage to be friendly without being obsequious. Good choice of food/Restaurants, we really enjoyed the Buffet & the Hoi An Vietnamese Restaurant.
I would totally recommend this hotel although about 25 mins from the city centre taxis are very reasonably priced & we did our sight seeing by taking a taxi to the Grand Mosque, not to be missed, then picking up the Big Red Hop on/off Bus from outside. The Big Red Bus does good tour & it's possible to get the shuttle bus to Yas Island to see the F1 Circuit & Ferrarri Theme Park.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal and Mosque are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heloiseDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersbourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We have stayed at Shangrila for New Year vacation. Really exellent hotel. Great food, nice rooms, marvelous view from the room , high level service, very professional staff. I can highly recommend this hotel as a luxury 5 star hotel in Emirates.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moslawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I stayed here for 11 nights. The hotel and the staff were amazing and catered to my every need. In the rooms and by the pool is free bottled water and fresh fruit in the rooms every day. It was perfect for relaxation and everyone was so helpful and as a lady travelling on my own i thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It is close to walk to the Souk or travel in the wee gondola for free. Taxi to the mosque and shopping very cheap. Loved every minute of my stay.Keep in mind Humidity is 98*. I am definitely going back to Abu Dhabi and apart from a few wealthy people who could do with a course in manners the overall respect is extremely high.

Room Tip: Pool view overlooking the mosque by day and fabulous at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank star_170708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I thought it was a little odd that they make you sign that you will not hold them responsible for any damage or stolen items. This goes on all day with eveywhere you go. No other hotels do that. If you make your hotel guests safe you have nothing to worry about. Bottom Line! Wouldn't stay there again. Safety is an issue!

Room Tip: If you want to be safe and not sorry don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you Tonya S for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize that you have found your stay to be disappointing for we serve thousands of satisfied customers. In your case, we seem to have failed and we are truly sorry we have let you down. Please feel welcome to let us know if someday your travel plan brings you back to Abu Dhabi. We welcome the opportunity to recover your confidence in the hotel's service and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

I stayed here whilst part of a cricket tour and can honestly say I thought the standard of facilities, decor and service was faultless. The whole atmosphere was elegant, courteous and friendly - from the charming man who offers you coffee in tiny cups on your arrival to the waitress in the bar who, on the second night, remembered that my drink of habit was a large gin and tonic! The breakfast is completely jaw-dropping - I have never in my life seen such a range and choice of food. Although I don't have children, many on the tour did and the little ones had the times of their lives there at the chocolate fountain - it was a veritable Willy Wonka experience! I was very impressed indeed with the four night stay, my first in a Shangri-La hotel and definitely not my last.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueQLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#10 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.1 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HRS and Destinology so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing