We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels! Amazing service... And great place to relax... The chi spa is the best spa I have ever been to! Pure tranquitlity! The jacuzzi, steam room and sauna was fabulous and Felt so relaxed and calm! Loved it.... The therapists were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst my husband attended a convention and couldn't find fault with it. From the warm welcome of the staff with Arabic coffee and dates (one of my fav touches) to the large opulent bedrooms, it was spectacular. Although Abu Dhabi is in my opinion, plush and rather gawdy, this hotel manages to show it's wealth in a tasteful manner. Whilst it is expensive, anyone staying here will receive the warmest welcome and I doubt would feel uneasy. It has it's own souk which was fun to wander around. The food in the restaurant Pearl and Caviar was extremely good and as we work at a UK top caterer we know our food. We sat outside and looked at the wonderful views of the Zyed el Sadat Mosque which is another site to behold. After eating we went upstairs to the the restaurant's bar that is semi-open to the stars and views and danced and drank with the locals. You can travel around the complex, which is quite large, by a lovely little boat all free and my personal favourite little touch was the cool box with chilled water delivered to each person relaxing by the pool free of charge. I think this is one of my top ever hotels. (thus far of course)! Oh and the infinity pool views of the mosque is to die for. i could go on but you are probably getting bored......

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had 3 nights stop over in February (perfect time of year to visit as it is winter and the temperatures are mild) and i am glad I chose this hotel.
The view to the Mosque is breathtaking and you get to enjoy it day and night.
Nice beach and pool area, can't comment on the restaurants as we did not use them.
You can walk to the shopping centre next door or go by boat, really just upmarket shops and restaurants.
Away from the highrises and could be anywhere feel of the hotels on the Corniche.
There is a shuttle bus to the Mosque and city with limited timetable though so we caught taxis everywhere, 15 dirhams to the mosque, 45 to Marina Mall and 50 from the airport.
We upgraded to a Club room which gave us breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail hour, nice food, fantastic service, the staff are soooo friendly and helpful.
We will return on our next stop over

Room Tip: Make sure you request a view to the mosque as I don't know if all the rooms do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was booked into this hotel by my colleagues in Abu Dhabi tourism and they coulkd not have chosen a better hotel. Although they were really stretched because the massive IDEX show at ADNEC that week they never let it show and all staff greeted me by name regardless of level. The Horizons club is a lovely peaceful sunny place to have breakfast and the pool area was my ideal spot for an early evening drink. I didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the restaurants but between this property and the adjacent Traders hotel there seemed to be a wide choice.
I hope to be back here very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davido357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had a 3 day stopover to break the journey to Far East. The hotel was everything you would expect from the brand, with top comfort and service.

Beautiful view lovely private beaches and pool area. Great dining choices and quality but fairly expensive it must be said.

Even before we arrived the customer relations manager Evan was unbelievably helpful in replying to e mail and organising things to accommodate an eccentric old Englishman , myself.

We enjoyed our trip so much next time we will take a proper holiday there not just a stopover.

Room Tip: We had the basic room and that was fantastic no need to pay more unless you are extremely spoilt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonValPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

One night in Shangri-La Abu Dhabi and it was just amazing.
We went here just for a weekend trip, the staff was very helpful and always super friendly to us. They really took care of everything. The Deluxe room was fantastic, perfect view to the Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi and a small part of the sea which is looking like a sort of canal.
The hotel complex is quite big, only at the far end, which is the Trader’s hotel, was a bit too crowded, all the rest very relaxing and calm. The pools are ok, not really special, the little private beach strip is good, but again not too exciting. The room is beautiful, still very new and very clean. Only the bed and pillows were a bit too hard for us, so not very comfy but this is personal preference.
The food was very good, unfortunately we had no time to check the gym.
Overall a real 5 star hotel with very good staff, definitely a place to be and perfect for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a Deluxe room which was spacious and beautifully furnished with a huge balcony overloking the Mosque. Without exception, the staff are unbelievably helpful and friendly. The 'little touches' such as cold towels, fruit on skewers and cold water at the pool also demonstrate how the Shangri-La differs from its competitors.
Talking to one member of staff it seems that the company really looks after its staff and I think this comes across in how they treat their guests.
The breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing - the quality and variety of food is absolutely incredible.
There is a free shuttle bus which will take you to the Mosque, the city, Ferrari World etc. We also loved the little boats taking you down the hotel canal from one end to the other (1km).
The Souk attached to the hotel is interesting and there are several restaurants within the Souk that are worth considering. Food in the hotel restaurants (we ate at the pool bar and the Vietnamese restaurant) is good although pricier than in the independent restaurants (they add around 16% to the bill in service and taxes too).
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,272 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,420 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#20 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £159 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Travelbag, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing