We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Great location and very nicely set out in the complex. Fabulous service and in easy reach of main attractions . Rooms fantastic and great shower bathrooms. Think I will write nothing more just to hot the tho hundred characters.... Lol

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

If you are looking for the best of the best in Abu Dhabi, look no further than Shangri La Qaryat Al Beri. I've stayed in various hotels in Abu Dhabi, and this is beyond any other hotel in overall experience, even better than Emirates Palace.

Stayed here for a couple of nights, in a Premier Room. The hotel has an amazing Aura to it, it's grand yet humble. Just walking through the corridors, entering your room through the massive thick door to you room is a grand experience. The room is decorated with arabian influence, top notch interior design, and the materials used in your room are of the highest calibre. From the wood, to the carpet, electronics, marble everything is just amazing.

The bed is very comfortable, room very spacious. Shangri la are very generous with the square footage provided. Large flat screen TV with dvd player, The bathroom has a huge sliding door, built in sound system so you can enjoy the music in your large marble bath tub, enough for a couple to chill out in. Glass shower room is separate. There is a mini office if you need to surf and do some work, and a large balcony overlooking the incredible sheikh zayed mosque.

The room experience this hotel provides is truly unparalleled, and the customer service is amazing. Whatever you need this hotel will make sure it is resolve as quick as possible. In Rooming dining truly shines in this hotel and i seriously compliment the hotel for getting this right. In my vast experience, in room dining is mostly an average or negative experience, even in 5 star hotels, however shangri la qaryat gets it right. From the way you are served the food, to the food itself. We ordered a whole grilled lemon chicken with other side dishes, the chicken was so tender and juicy, spices and herbs just perfect, it was just so satisfying, 5 stars for the in-room dining.

The hotel is also located near the "souq qaryat" which the best and top rated restaurants in Abu Dhabi are housed in. Definitely recommend you eat there, it comes with a high price ofcourse. This is a resort after all and not just a hotel, so you have a beach an infinity pool, spa services, etc. All which are good and add to your experience, i did find the spa to be unnecessarily expensive though.

The only downside about this hotel is it's location, it's a bit far from the city. However the good part is, transport is not expensive in Abu Dhabi, take a local taxi rather than hotel transport and you won't have a problem exploring the city and other landmarks. Sheikh zayed mosque in particular is actually only a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Keep in mind, all other 5 star hotels (with the exception of 1 or 2) are located far from the city center (there isn't much to do there anyway!)

In conclusion, this is the BEST hotel in Abu Dhabi, there is no better. I can't find any fault with it, they got everything right and you won't be disappointed. Don't be turned off by it's location, it's not as bad as it looks and you have cheap transport options by calling in the local taxi service (look up abu dhabi taxi number on google)

Room Tip: Premier room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkingtheearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Shangri La Hotel.

Its location to the airport was great (15-20 minutes) away and located very close to a number of embassies and also the grand Mosque.

Families:
If you have children the neighbouring hotel (traders hotel) has a good playground by the pool.
You can eat and use their facilities as well as they are connected to each other. You can go between both hotels using the golf buggies or a boat that travels between them both.

Staff:
The staff were very friendly and attentive to their guests. They do an excellent job at welcoming their guests every time you walk in the lobby, we cannot fault the staff there.

Free Shuttle:
The hotel provides a free shuttle to the malls in Abu Dhabi and also out towards Ferrari world. We did use the shuttle and also used taxis as the shuttle is on a set schedule. Taxis to Marina World and also towards Ferrari World (Yas Island) are approx Dhr50 each way so the shuttle can work out quite economical. By taxi it takes about 30 minutes each way and shuttle can take up to an hour if its busy.

Room Service:
Our only disappointment with the hotel was room service, having a young toddler with us we used room service twice for his meals. the standard of food was unacceptable for the price and the hotel!! Ordered beef and ginger with rice which came with a mountain of plain rice, 4 small slivers of beef and 3 tiny bits of hairy ginger, for the garnish it was a slice of cucumber. Its was not only unattractive but dry and tasteless. A number of our room service meals came like this.

We woud definitely return to the Shangri La, we just wont order room service.

Room Tip: When checking in make sure they dont put you in any room between 230 - 250, its a long walk back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melindoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you melindoha for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel.
We are delighted you that you enjoyed our service and facilities except for the food from room service and we sincerely apologize. We serve thousands of satisfied customers however in your case, we seem to have failed and we are truly sorry we have let you down. Please feel welcome to let us know if someday your travel plan brings you back to Abu Dhabi. We welcome the opportunity to recover your confidence in the hotel's room service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I visited in March 2013 for some well deserved sunshine, 8 days and it was just right! We have been to Dubai for the past few years but it's got much too busy and we fancied a change.

We originally looked at the Emirates Palace but it was huge and didn't look very cosy - this is certainly not the case for the SHANGRI LA - it was absolutely 1st class - the restaurants, service, our room was a large garden suite, we had two terraces and was right near to the smaller beach - absolutely amazing - fresh fruit in our room every day - BVLGARI products in the bathroom - seriously amazing - the souk next door was seriously good and an amazing Indian restaurant there! - Pearls & Caviar is another great restaurant with fantastic surroundings - the Indonesian restaurant and the Chinese were also superb. The service around the pool and also on the beach was amazing - We went to the Chi Spa and had the most amazing relaxing treatments just before we left, this is a must visit ! All in all we are DEFINATELY going back next year - would recommend this for a nice relaxing time !

Room Tip: If you choose the Horizon package - you pay a bit extra but get a fully served breakfast, afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gianfrancoGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had 2 nights 3 days at the hotel and our experience was excellent. Fantastic staff answered any and all our requests with such efficiency that nothing ever was a problem. Great rooms, great restaurants and a nice calm feeling throughout the hotel. It reminded us of the One & Only Arabian Courtyard in Dubai. The rooms were almost the same equipped with everything you could ever want.The pool area's and beach were relaxed and again service was wonderful.
Would certainly recommend this hotel for families and also anyone wanting to chill out for a few days.We will certainly be back for a short break very soon. One point is the Vietnamese restaurant offers an early dinner option at Dhs 125 each which includes a 3 course dinner along with a glass of bubbly. Very good indeed. the food and service was excellent. To really top the holiday a meal at pearls and Caviar is a must.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good indeed. High floors are good especially the 3rd floor as its connects direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in April . The hotel was very busy but still managed to be very friendly and efficient .We had use of the Horizon clue which was very nice . The staff are very pleasant but to be honest the service is a bit slow at times and our breakfast orders at times were incorrect . I would advise anyone to upgrade to the club floor though , the extra cost is well worth the benefits you receive .

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a first class hotel and we will definitely return! The service is the best service we have ever experienced and all the staff are friendly and welcoming, always saying 'hello' and asking if there is anything we needed - they really do provide the ultimate experience! It was a pleasure to return to the hotel after a day out, like we were returning home.
We had 2 club bedrooms and again everything was excellent - we spent a lot of time in the club lounge which was a first class experience and certainly provided the 'wow' factor. There was always plenty of tasty and interesting food (especially afternoon tea!) and 'Happy Hour' was a calm and relaxing start to our evenings. It had such a relaxed experience that my teenage daughter often used to wear her slippers to the lounge! The actual rooms were spacious with a good sized balcony - 2 small sofas and a chair furnished the balcony, and our rooms faced the mosque. Our children's room was huge easily fitting in 3 beds, a large bathroom, a small work area and a massive walk-in- wardrobe.
The beach area is lovely with again excellent service - staff helping us to choose the best place to sit on the beach (!!), bringing unlimited ice cold water in small cool boxes, and cleaning our sunglasses. The beach was never crowded although the pool areas were quite busy - mainly with families with young children. The infinity pool was a nice size and our favourite activity became resting our heads and shoulders on the pool surround looking out to 'sea' and the mosque.
The abras to the souk are a nice touch and the grounds all around the hotel are clean and well kept. The hotel is quite a way out of the city (about half an hour) - we liked it because it is in a quiet and restful area of AD, but if you like the city life you may find it too quiet. Food and drinks are quite expensive but think AD in general is pricey. There is a small supermarket in the souk if you want to buy snacks and a huge Carrefour at Marina Mall. We didn't buy any water as it was provided in the rooms, at the bars and on the beach free of charge.
We think it is a first class hotel and would struggle to find anywhere better. Thanks for a fantastic holiday - we will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Club rooms are excellent. Ask for a sea view overlooking the mosque. The lifts are very fast so a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helloub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#2 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,270 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,420 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#21 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £159 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing